We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageous Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Shanghai World Expo
Ranked #2,470 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outrageous Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was on a business trip (14th-17th April 2014) and get to booked this hotel brand because it's close to Shanghai World Expo Venue as well as i got good experience with Ibis Darling Harbour Sydney in Feb 2014. Nothing to shout about the room as it's clean with basic ammenities, especially with the price i paid for. What really annoyed me was the bad and ignorant service i recieved from the service staff. Please see following.
1) Breakfast was really meant to cater for local Chinese. Maybe it was meant to be. Varieties was limited and i couldn't find anything that i could tuck in. Asked the staff why not even a single western dish, replied i got was 'i don't know'. The way they replenished the food was like in prison cell. House guest was seen everywhere in every corner having their breaky. Some even stood down to have it. What i've got from my Sydney stay was totally the opposite. I ended up having to get my breakfast from the nearby bakery shop.
2) Securities was really not up to the minimum which i expect hotel to exercise especially from the Accor Branding. Everytime i get back to my room, i will find 'inviting' namecards in room, i mean those looking for vice activities.
3) I sent my suits for pressing and what i got back was exactly or worst than before. The hangers and wrapping was exactly the same when i sent it in. The staff was very positive that it's has been pressed and i was made to pay for it without much choice. I wanted to iron myself and requested for the iron and board but was told they are very busy and if i need it, i will need to go and coillect it myself. Imagine i paid for the laundry pressing and evetually get it pressed myself.
4) All i realised after my stay was, whatever you asked or requested for, the reply will be negative. What i felt from this hotel staffs is simple, 'after you've check-in, please do not bother us again'.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Burt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    22
    10
    17
See reviews for
1
1
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Even though I have been traveling to Shanghai frequently, for the first time I stayed at Hotel Ibil World Expo during the first week of March 2014 just becuase it was close to Expo centre. It was a deep disappointment staying here.

Security at the Hotel is very poor. Every evening some one drop cards of prostituts at each room. A few rogues and pimps were roaming inside the hotel all the times, spitting in the lift, making the whole place unsuitable for business travellers as well as for family stay.

While complianing to the front desk, those girls were totally helpless themselves.

Room Tip: One and only if this location is conveneint to your work area, it is worth staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravi_na2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The plus points first......................Its near Metro and bed is ok. Now all other are negative.
1. The staff 'doesnt speak English or even gesture to help'.
2. The reception didnt have smiling face only stretched out.
3. NO wi-fi in room.
4. Breakfast menu is TOOOOOOO small. Even refilling not done.
5. Room small and bathroom tooooooo small.
6. No help / guidance from reception.
7. No value for Accor Members.....
and the story goes on............................ I recommend to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel. Nothing but a disaster. Bring a pen and paper. . The room has no pen or paper to write on. There is only one English TV station news only. That sucks. After a busy day of conferencing would be nice to kick back to watch a regular show or move. No English spoken at the desk at all. Very bad front desk customer service. The hotel does not own any scissors . I needed to cut a piece of fabric for a sample but they had no knife, scissors , or blade of any type. The subway map in lobby is only in Chinese . I could go on and on. But why. My title says it all. Run away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickgolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponta Pora, Brazil
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

It was sad to see the poor breakfast.. the receptionist couldn´t speak in english.. poor bedrooms as well.. The air conditioner didn´t work.. I have been staying in Ibis Hotels in Brazil and all have been fine.. that is why I have chosen the Ibis Shanghai.. now, I will never chose that hotel again.. I am very sorry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mateus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
#2,513 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#95 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Changshou Road
ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang
ibis Shanghai JinshaJiang
#2,605 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
Ibis Shanghai Xujiahui
#600 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Ibis (Shanghai Waigaoqiao)
Ibis (Shanghai Waigaoqiao)
#2,433 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Lianbang Hotel
#2,076 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Shanghai World Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Shanghai World Expo

Property: Ibis Shanghai World Expo
Address: No.800 Chenshan Road, Shanghai 200125, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,470 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Shanghai World Expo 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Shanghai World Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing