We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“these dumplings are sooooo good”

Din Tai Fung (Super Brand Mall)
Ranked #8 of 16,925 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Lujiazui
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“these dumplings are sooooo good”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Din Tai Fung is consistently good whichever of the outlets you go to. I am addicted to the Shanghai dumplings with the broth in the middle - consumed many on this trip as I stopped in twice for lunch. hairy crab, pork, chicken they are all fabulous - add a side of spinach sautéed with garlic and a pot of tea and you are in food heaven. Staff always smiling and service is prompt. Restaurants are all clean and modern - food is very reasonably priced - what more could a girl ask for???

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    176
    37
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Good XiaoLongBao”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The irony that some of the best XiaoLongBao in Shanghai can be found at a Taiwanese restaurant is not lost on most of my Shanghainese friends. They really are fantastic and offered in a wide variety of flavors that are typically no available in more "authentic" Shanghai Xiao Long shops. I will say that the standard pork xiaolong are nothing special when compared to a good local shop, and when you factor in that they're typically about 5-10 times the price of a local shop, its sometime hard for me to order them... All in all,a very reliable stop whenever I have guests in town who want to try the famous Shanghai soup dumplings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Know for best Chinese in Shanghai”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Anyone that lives in Shanghai knows or has been to Din Tai Fung. It is known for the best authentic Chinese Food in Shanghai, they are all over Shanghai. If you have vistors in town, it is popular to them to Din Tai Fung.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best xialongbao dumplings you'll ever eat”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

All Din Tai Fung restaurants in Shanghai are very consistent. You'll need to book a day or so in advance if you're trying to get in to the more popular places such as the one at Xintiandi otherwise you can arrive and expect up to a 20-30min wait sometimes. However service is quick once you're in. We love the usual pork xialongbaos, and the pork and hairy crab ones which are in season at the monent! Great idea to have the open kitchens so you can see how much work and detail goes in to the making of each of these delicate little dumplings. At the moment we've been going to DTF once a week while we've been living in Shanghai!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BMPL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience. Worth a visit.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Din tai Fung has great food and great service. I typically visit the location in xin tian D&I, but I've been to multiple locations and they are all very well run. I recommend the cold cucumbers and an appetizer, the steamed pork dumplings (be VERY careful, they are hot!), and any of the green dishes that have garlic.

Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Din Tai Fung (Super Brand Mall) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Din Tai Fung (Super Brand Mall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing