We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Ranked #62 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel has been renovated. Was upgraded so all the more i was impressed. Hope standard rooms are renovated too. Downside, no swimming pool and the steam sauna is a bit cramp. Otherwise it has the sofitel touch. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank nobelgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear nobelgan,

Merci beaucoup for your wonderful review!

We are pleased you enjoyed one of our newly designed rooms. We are also happy to share with you we have indeed successfully launched ten new guest room floors and are planning the soft renovation of the rest of the hotel in the near future.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This Hotel has an excelent location in Shanghai. You are at a walking disctance from a lot of POI (People's Square, Huangpu River, Shanghai Museum, etc). You also have a metro station very near, which allows you to travel almost everywhere in Shaghai city.

For people travelling in business, the Hotel is even better. It has good conference/meeting rooms and an upper area (on the very top of the building) were you can have some more casual meetings with a great sight-seing over Shanghai.

The Hotel infrastructures are also adequate to it's star-ranking, and everything works very well.

The major drawback of this Hotel is the quality of the SPA facilities. The Sauna, Turskish Bath as well as showers are very small and uncofortable. It also doesn't have a pool or a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
1  Thank jaimecoelholima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear jaimecoelholima,

Merci beaucoup for your review.

It was a plaisir to have you staying here with us in the vibrant city of Shanghai and we have certainly shared your compliments with the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is big and well located as its next to people's square and in the middle of shopping area, 10 minutes walk and you can reach to the bund area where you can find nice restaurants.

However, i didn't feel that i have received the service i deserved as the housekeeping was not changing the glasses on daily basis and god knows where did they wash them. the communication was very difficult wight he housekeeping and the room service. my friend stayed in Radisson Blu which is just 10 minutes from this hotel with the same price i paid and there is a big difference in the quality of both hotels. the concierge was very helpful and they speak a good english language. the piano cafe shop was really nice and we used to meet at the end of the day to relax there.

Free WiFi is available in the room, 2 bottles of water will be provided on daily basis, coffee maker and coffee, sugar and tea as well are provided in the room

There is no swimming pool in the hotel and some lights in the room was not working.

There are 2 doors in the hotel, the first is main hotel entrance and the second which is on the back side which will take you the shopping street, on this second door there is self machine where you can exchange money and honestly the hotel security didn't do anything when one of the thief's came inside the hotel and stood behind my friend when he was doing the transaction though that i asked him to come and deal with him. it worth saying that the moment you leave the hotel you will be bothered by people saying to you "Do you want ladies? Massage? original watches and you need to be careful.

The checkout

Room Tip: try to go for higher room than classic room as its the lowest in the hotel. ask for the people's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Ahmad Z,

Merci for your feedback with details in depth.

We were certainly surprised to read about your average experience. We receive daily many compliments on our Housekeeping team and the cleanliness of the rooms. Please rest assured this is not what we are recognized for and we do take hygiene very seriously.

As per the local people selling pretty much everything the best way is just to avoid them and walk away. In the hotel we have CCTV cameras and our guests' security is one of our first priorities.

Please contact me at H1603-QC@sofitel.com if you may have any further comments

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank cjanson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It's located in the busy Nanjing Street area and is a 30 minute or more ride from Pudong Airport.Once inside the hotel you enter into a realm of a quiet and stressless environment.Rooms have an L shape design,which I found good.Beds are comfortable,bathroom area efficient and well stocked.Everything is there and very modern. There are not a lot of different areas to dine at,but the food quality and selection is good.The spa is open to 3 a.m. which is great for late arrivals.Nanjing Street and walking Streets are easily accessed by going down 1 floor below lobby area. You can find a mix of busy Shanghai Streets as well as the quieter walking Street.Just avoid the scam artists trying to promote massauges. A taxi from the airport should cost about 180 Yuan or less if you walk outside airport and find the normal taxis. You can have a larger taxi(good for extra luggage and comfort) for about 400 yuan,paid at a counter.But these services tend to approach you and then the driver will "ask" for a tip upon arrival.The hotel will arrange for a taxi to airport, about 160 Yuan to Pu Dong.Jessica is one of the duty managers and will treat you the best, as well as Daniella. Next time I am in Shanghai I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear H M,

Merci beaucoup for your wonderful review!

It was certainly a plaisir to read about your enjoyable experience here with us in Shanghai and we have shared your compliments with the hotel team, especially Jessica and myself.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I decided to stay in the Sofitel after reading the comments on TripAdvisor. I booked the So Gourmet package which gave me USD60 worth of F&B credits. Used the credits by dining in the hotel's Mao Chinese Restaurant in level 5. The food was good, and I say this coming from Malaysia where we have great Chinese food.

I would like to thank Sofitel for actually reading my request during booking and giving me a room on a high floor with a good scenic view. That is very much appreciated.

The room is clean and looks to be newly renovated. The hotel does not have a swimming pool however, which would have been really great after a hot summer's day out.

As an ethnic Chinese male, i also get harassed by the female pimps as soon as i step out of the hotel onto the streets of Nanjing east pedestrian street. I heard from a local that they're out to rob you after you go for a massage with them.

Breakfast buffet is fantastic in the hotel. However staff could be trained to smile a bit more....and actually learn to give way to hotel guests when entering or exiting the elevators. That aside, I'm satisfied with this hotel and will definitely return in the near future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Travellereveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Travellereveller,

Merci beaucoup for your review.

So Gourmet is definitely one of our most popular packages and we are happy that you enjoyed it along with our delicious Chinese food in Mao Restaurant.
As per the "pimps and prostitutes" the best way is just to avoid them and walk away.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location on Nanjing Road, right in the thick of the action. Only a short walk to The Bund. Very nice, modern rooms, beautiful clean and modern bathroom.
Fantastic Buffet Breakfast, with great amount of choice, and your eggs cooked to order.
Only unfortunate thing is that if you are a single, European looking guy, you are confronted by pimps and prostitutes the minute you step out the door onto Nanjing Rd. they are very intense, and very annoying. I was warned by a local that their intent is actually to rob you, so beware!

Room Tip: My room faced onto Nanjing Rd, and the view was great, and there was no noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelSHHyland, Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear gelatiguy,

Merci beaucoup for your great feedback.

It was certainly a plaisir to read about your enjoyable experience here with us in Shanghai and we have shared your compliments with the hotel team.
As per the "pimps and prostitutes" the best way is just to avoid them and walk away.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Daniela Karadzhova
Guest Experience Manager
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,159 in Shanghai
863 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#35 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,750 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Shanghai Hyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Address: No.505 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 20001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#61 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#92 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £96 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Shanghai Hyland 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland sits on Nanjing Road, in the city's commercial centre, making it a premier Shanghai hotel. This Central Shanghai hotel features 383 rooms including over 140 Sofitel Club rooms with access to the Sofitel Lounge. Additional facilities at our Shanghai business hotel include two restaurants, a coffee shop, bar, gymnasium, sauna, massage centre, and conference rooms for up to 400 delegates. Nearby attractions include The Bund, Peoples Square, and the Shanghai Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Hyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland Hotel Shanghai
Accor Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Hyland Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing