We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all good, stay away!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong
Ranked #67 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Clean, comfortable are the good parts, but the service in the (overpriced) restaurants and lobby bar is horrible, long waits, orders wrong, "Sorry" from the staff was heard over and over again. Executive Lounge is large with wireless but evening offerings are sparse. Not what I expect from a Hilton property.

1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear WGC4,

Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Shanghai - Pudong. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your visit. Please accept my sincere apology. Your comments with regards to the restaurant, lobby bar and executive lounge will assist my team in improving their service delivery and guest experience.

If you are back in Shanghai and wish to give us another try, please contact me at david.givens@hilton.com, so that I can make sure your stay is enjoyable and have a chance to meet with you.

Warm Shanghai Regards,


David Givens - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

This hotel is excellent. Good english speakers and food is very good. Gym facilities include a pool, steam room, sauna etc and all is spotless clean. There is a currency vending maching which offers an excellent rate of exchange. The hotel gives advice on local shopping areas and provides a card written in Chinese and English to show to taxi drivers. Make sure the taxi driver puts his meter on as taxi fares are cheap but some will charge up to 20 times more if they think they'll get away with it. I got Bullet train from airport and a taxi driver wanted to charge £20 to take me to hotel. He refused to put meter on, so I got out and got a taxi that did use meter - the fare was only £1.70. a good idea is to print off a photocopy of the hotel and ask them to write name and address in Chinese - show this to taxi drivers when leaving tourist spots and you'll have no difficulty getting back. Be prepared to bargain hard on prices when in market style shops. I booked room only and brought cereal and UHT milk for breakfast so dont know what breakfast was like. However room service was excellent and a toasted sandwich and chips was only about £6. You can also get a 30min phone card from hotel for £10. If you phone from room there is a slight charge, but its only about 3p.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silveroscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear SilverOscar,

Thank you for the review and five stars. Your comments are much appreciated. I was happy to read your enjoyed our food, gym, and room service. My staff is great, a majority of them speak very good English, which is very useful to our Western Travelers. As to the Taxi service in and around Shanghai, I agree with your comments. I think it is important for all visitors to remain vigilant so as not to be taken advantage of. Here is a piece of advise for all future travelers, if you feel there is an issue with a taxi driver, take down their ID # which is posted on the dash board and have our concierge staff intervene on your behalf. We take our customers safety and experience very serious, as does the Shanghai Tourism Bureau.

Come back soon!


Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

not much to fault here
Service Excellent
Look after gold members..upgrades and great facilities.
Relaxing Japanese style garden
Could improve by increasing number of front desk staff at peak times..so prepare for that

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Neilsa,

Thank you for your wonderful review and five stars. I see you mentioned you are a gold member, which means you are a loyal customer of Hilton Hotels, Your business is much appreciated. And for any one reading TA comments you also need to join and become a member of Hilton Honors. There are many benefits and upgrades available as you become a frequent guest of Hilton Hotels. I was happy to read you got to spend some time in our garden area, it is very peaceful. Thank you for pointing out the need for additional front desk staffing at peak times, I have already discussed this with my Front Office Manager. Your insights are much appreciated.

Come back soon!

Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Pros are good. I'm a HH diamond, so I get a few perks like breakfast, internet and lounge. But I'm usually around enough hotels to be able to objectively rate them. This is a good 4 star. Not a five star, but double tree does not claim to be. The cookie is good.
The furnishings are good, the suites are roomy. Everything is a notch below the top of the line but above the bottom of the line. So this is a good mid range hotel.
The service is very good.
The people, managers and staff are friendly and nice.
The cons. It has very little to do with the hotel per se - thats why my rating is still a four.
Location is poor, there is nothing nearby - really nothing in walking distance. The train station is a short walk, the fake mall is a bit longer (a little over a mile). Not a very picture-esque neighbourhood for sure.
Lounge is dead, so are most of the public areas in the hotel.
In short, for the tourist - this is not an ideal hotel. On this trip I only planned to recover from a hard work week - so it worked out fine.
The people work hard and do a good job.

Room Tip: Room facing pudong if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freq_Traveler_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear freq_traveler09,

Many thanks for a great review and four stars. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the property, with the furnishings rated good, and the suites roomy. More importantly, you felt the service was very good and the managers and staff friendly and nice. It makes me proud to read that the staff is servicing our guests well.

Come back soon!


Warm Shanghai Regards,

David Givens - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Fantastic hotel. Rooms very comfortable with everything I needed. Multi plug adaptors, reliable internet, quiet, comfortable beds. Robes and more extensive bathroom amenities than I am used to at Doubletree Hotels. Good service and staff generally friendly and helpful. Exceptional breakfast in the restaurant and good value. Room service very average but reasonably priced. Biggest let down was the gym. For such a huge and generally impressive hotel the gym was very small and old fashioned.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebej1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Bebej1976,

Thank you for your review and four stars. I was happy to read that you found our hotel comfortable and the service friendly and helpful. I hope that your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Come back soon!


David Givens, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past three months. They are renovating the west wing, so I have had to stay in east wing everytime. It is older, but the rooms are nice and I have been upgraded everytime. I can't wait to see how the west wing is after the renovation. One important note is that during this renovation, it is somewhat a walk to the lobby/restaurant/etc. But to me not that big a deal. They do not have spa, but do have an adequate workout facility with several ellipticals, some machines, and treadmills. I think the one thing that sets this hotel apart is the service is very good. The housekeeping staff are great, the breakfast staff go above and beyond to make you happy, and everyone I have encountered seems to be very customer oriented. This is a change for the other two Hiltons I have stayed at in Shanghai. I will continue to stay here and hopefully the renovation will make it even better. One final note - not a lot of restaurants within walking distance, but it is a short taxi ride to downtown - 10 mins.

Room Tip: Away from construction if possible. Close to elevator is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Chris H,

Thank you for your review and four stars. Also thank you for being a loyal Hilton customer, we appreciate your business. I love my staff. They are focused on servicing our guests and making their visit to Shanghai a wonderful experience.

Next time you are in, please stop by to say Hi! Come back soon!


David Givens, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

An oasis in Shanghai after a late flight or a hard working day . Staff eager to help and show you around.Rooms are clean and tastefully located in areas that you have a good view of the city. What impresses me the most is the General Manager Mr Givens. Always reachable even late hours!! He makes sure that you are comfortable and have a pleasant stay. This is why I stay there every time!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Pudong, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear James P,

Thank you for your review and five stars. I appreciate the wonderful comments about the property and the service. We are trying very hard to make each guest's experience a pleasant and memorable occassion. I have a great staff which makes all the difference. The fitness center is a main focus of mine; we do have plans to increase the size and transition out the old equipment. We have recently added three new pieces of Precor equipment which makes a big difference. It also gives my wife the opening to pick on me about working out, I have no excuses.

Come back soon!


David Givens, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#68 of 5,146 in Shanghai
467 reviews
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#39 of 5,146 in Shanghai
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#57 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong

Address: No.889 Yanggao South Road, Pudongxin District, Shanghai 200127, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#94 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £84 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, located in Lujiazui Business Center, the 47-story Jin Jiang Oriental Hotel (the formerly Sofitel Shanghai Jin Jiang Oriental Pudong) soars majestically over Pudong with convenient access to Shanghai CBD (central business district). The hotel features 850 tastefully designed rooms in West Wing and East Wing, 6 inspired restaurants, a health club, an in-door swimming pool, an out-door tennis court, and conference facilities for up to 600 delegates. X-Sensation, the famous revolving restaurant and bar is an ideal venue to entertain friends, family and business associates. With almost 10-year experience of professional service and kind atmosphere, this deluxe 5-star hotel offers great packages to ensure your next business trip is a fruitful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai-Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing