We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and very nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Ranked #9 of 5,104 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Rowland Heights, California
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent service and very nice rooms”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed here for about 5 nights in two 3-bedroom plus one 2-bedroom units. The room service food was actually pretty good, but way overpriced, even for Shanghai. A pitcher of iced tea was $40 US. The lounge on the 35th floor has excellent food as well. The breakfast, unless its included in the room price, was very expensive, but excellent. A lot of choices and fresh fruits, really can't complain about the view and the food. The English speaking staff was very helpful as they helped us contacting the UPS for a package that we were expecting and setting up a small van for our use during our stay. The beds were comfortable, but do note that the third bedroom in the 3-bedroom units only has a soft bed, a not very comfortable soft bed. The rooms were very large, especially for Shanghai standard. The linen was very nice and the showers were just fine. Finally, the gym was great (it doesn't have all the necessary equipment, but for a hotel, it was fine) and it had a spa that no one uses except for our group. I would definitely recommend this place to non-Chinese speaking guests as it has many English speaking staff members and the standard is on par with the nicer establishments in the US.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigFishDiveClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    368
    67
    27
    6
See reviews for
202
240
78
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This JW Marriott was my favorite hotel on a long three week trip to many different cities. The rooms are well-appointed, beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are clean and spacious. The bathtub and showers are particularly nice. The staff is very professional and always helpful. As a Marriott rewards member I had access to the Executive lounge, where they served some pretty amazing appetizers and breakfasts. The hotel also has a large buffet breakfast, with everything from Western favorites to a full array of Chinese dishes and delicacies. If you stay here, remember to check out the highest library in the world, atop this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EffBee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munising, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a wonderful place to rest and rejuvenate after a long day or long flight! The staff is outstanding, always helpful and will always greet you with a smile and warm greeting. The Executive lounge is a great gathering place, staffed by folks with superb attention to detail and a wonderful selection of choice tidbits.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy and Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Fantastic all round.

This is one of the tallest buildings in Shanghai (Possibly 4th?)
Great views of the city
Luxurious as expected with any Marriot.

The bathroom was glass with views over the city.

Wonderful. Service a little slow at times but professional.

Used the executive floor, food and drinks excellent.

Would definitely go back when I have saved up enough as its pricey.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night. My husband is a platinum member and upon check-in we were given an upgrade to a junior suite. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. The executive lounge was the best that we had been too so far at any Marriott. The staff was gracious, professional, friendly and had an eye for detail. The front desk also called our room later in the day to make sure that our stay was satisfactory and ask if we needed transportation or a wake-up call for the next morning. The location is in a major shopping area of Shanghai which is very walkable from the hotel. We had the buffet breakfast on Sunday morning and the variety was excellent and the dining room staff was very attentive. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel included all ammenities necessary for a 10 day stay in Shanghai. The service was impecable and the staff was extremely responsive and helpful, from hailing a taxi to even getting cough medicine for me at the local pharmacy very late at night. The quality of the rooms and cleanliness was very high. The hotel also included a nice gym facility, with pools and sauna's and whirpool, to help relax after a long day. The only negative I would say is that in comparison to facilities outside the hotel, the cost for food and drinks was a little bit expensive, but on the other hand the quality of the food and room service was also very good (and worth it, if you're not in the mood to go out on the streets to find a better deal).

Room Tip: Choose something very high, so you can have a nice view of Shanghai's Tomorrow Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
921 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was my third stay at this property in Shanghai. The staff seems to be getting better and better. The rooms, while a little dated, are in perfect shape and the beds are extremely comfortable. The wi fi works great and in one case, when it didn't, the hotel immediately put an additional router in my room.

The club floor is probably the hotel's weakest point. The food servings are fine, but it seems the food is just not up to the standards of the restaurant for some reason. I just don't know why. The food assortment is good, it's just not that tasty. The club seems overly crowded, and the attendants are nice, but just don't go out of their way for their guests as most club floors do. Maybe it's just too crowded for them.

This said, the breakfast buffet in the lobby is incredible. You name it they have it. From omelets, to Chinese dumplings, to the freshest of fruits. Our favorite was the noodle soup bar. Every morning, you chose your noodles and ingredients for the most delicious soups. Kudos to the staff of the restaurant with a special shout out to Siem for his most welcoming greetings every morning and to Executive Sous Chef Sarah, who just lights up this dining room with her smile alone!

The entire staff at this hotel (except sometimes at the club as I said), do anything to help each and every guest. Plus, everyone is extremely polite. This hotel is in the best location in Shanghai, and I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. Try and get a Bund view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,104 in Shanghai
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,104 in Shanghai
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing