We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice centrally located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Ranked #9 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice centrally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 days at the appartments. Kimberly at reception is very helpful and friendly and helps out.
Hotel is centrally located and a lot of places within short distance.
The room, 2 bed room, living room very spacious. Smaller bedroom had no window and was warm. Living room very nice view.
Hotel reception at 38th has a good view.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hooray for holi... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    352
    63
    25
    5
See reviews for
177
225
75
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
444 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Think it was my tenth visit and still love location and trendy atmosphere !

Rooms very clean and beds extremely comfortable .

Executive lounge service was superb and staff extremely attentive.

Breakfast and snacks in lounge were excellent

On next visit will definitely use this Marriott

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DRHIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnie Z, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Greetings from JW Marriott Shanghai at Tomorrow Square! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your every stay with us.Your comment has been shared with related department which really motivated our associates.We would look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasir Ris, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for 4 days in this hotel. Service very tip top. Given a corner room on the 44th floor with fantastic view surrounding the room. I can see the TV tower from my room. You can sit by the ledge and just enjoy a cool refreshing drink while watching the world go by. The lobby is on the 38th floor with a lounge as well. There's a lady playing the piano now and then. The 360 gourmet served varieties of cakes, soups, bread, sushi and many more. Good service. Very large indoor and outdoor swimming pool. A bit of a hassle to change lift from room to 5th floor and change lift again to go to swimming pool or gym - you would already have done the work out while walking. Could have tried the spa but it was close due to renovation. This hotel is very close by, about 5 minutes walk, to Han City (Taobao market for fake goods). All hotel staff spoke English and their services I can say are excellent - 5* indeed. Only the bed I found is too soft. A bit tired for my back. Other than that, the bathroom is really large. You can just draw the curtain and sit in the tub enjoying your drinks there as well.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room with ledge for fantastic view of the Bund and TV Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noor711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnie Z, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai!

We appreciate your time for providing useful information to other travelers regarding our property and location.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you plan to return to Shanghai in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel is very trendy and has an excellent location. The lobby is on the 38th floor and rooms are on top through the 60th floor I believe. The views are spectacular. The room is quite spacious and very clean. The bathroom is very modern. The breakfast buffet is excellent, so I recommend getting a package that includes the breakfast. The front desk staff are very helpful in planning your trip. Everyone, for the most part, speaks good English at the hotel. Highly recommended. Good value for the money....

Room Tip: High Floor overlooking the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chache15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnie Z, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your kindly review of JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai. We are glad to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. And thank you for sharing your comments on our breakfast and staff service. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the near further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The JWM at Tomorrow Square is an imposing building in an imposing city, with impressive views over the People's Park (green), Nanjing Road (shopping) and views over The Bund and the Pudong skyline.

Ask the concierge in the executive lounge to take you to the library ('world's highest'...) and further up to the rooftop - just for kicks. That said, the executive lounge is disappointing, in being impersonal and no more than a high-floor bar setup with some couches - no personality or luxury, in fact I preferred sitting in the lobby on the 38th floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnie Z, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Greetings from JW Marriott Shanghai! We value your feedback and appreciate your having taken time to share your perspective with us.

Upon reading your review, I was concerned to learn that your experience fell short of luxury. Your feedback has been shared and discussed among related department managers who appreciate your detailed comments. If you return to Shanghai in the future, we would look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again so that we may deliver an excellent hotel experience. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me if we may be of further assistance. Thank you again for your time and thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riva del
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 in one of the executive apartments. The room was big and well equipped. The view from 27th of the skyline and the peoples park was stunning. The personnel was very helpful and most spoke a decent English. The service was excellent. Try the breakfast at the 38th floor (the breakfast was included in our rate which is important because it is rather expensive even for 5 star hotels). The roof top pool area is a must and the fitness is very large and well equipped. The location cannot be better right at Nanjing and in walking distance to the Bund and the other shopping shopping streest. The only disappointment was the closed/renovating spa facilities. Overall we paid usd3500 for 6 nights including breakfast for 5 persons, which is fair five star value.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TghTgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnie Z, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Greetings from JW Marriott Shanghai at Tomorrow Square! We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us during your family vacation.

Thank you for taking time to illustrate to other travelers some information regarding our property and location. We will have a new Spa opening soon and you might enjoy it during your next visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you plan to return to Shanghai in the future. We would look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent location, restaurants & shopping nearby walking distance. Underground Metro station close. High floors with great view of the city, specially Bund facing rooms. Rooms & bathrooms spacious & fresh. Only drawback is change of lift when exiting/entering room floor.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umakant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWardrop, Director of Guest Relations at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Greetings from JW Marriott Shanghai at Tomorrow Square! We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us during your family vacation. Thank you for taking time to illustrate to other travelers some information regarding our property and location. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you plan to return to Shanghai in the future. We would look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#6 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#147 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing