We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel without spirit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Ranked #13 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Stayed there on a business trip. It's at a good location, right in the core business and shopping district.

It is a good choice for business travellers as it has all what the business travellers will need and expect.

However, I will not give it a 5 star because of the lack of spirit. It is just another nice and expensive hotel in the city, same as the other two dozens of nice hotels in Shanghai and Beijing. So if you are travelling with your significant other and looking for romance, this is not the place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dz565k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2009

Excellent service, beautiful rooms, great breakfest, and everything 40-60 floors over Shanghai. Also very good location in the very city centre. And very friendly staff...

Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank FSeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

The good bit is the location which is very convenient for downtown Shanghai. This hotel is NOT however up to the standard I would expect of a JW Marriott at all. The rooms are cramped but otherwise adequate. Service is generally not good at all. The JW grill appeared to be run by a bunch of disorganised teenagers and the bar ran out of beer. When I checked in I declined the hard sell on upgrades but found that they had done it anyway when I checked out. Definitely not up to scratch when you compare with much of the excellent opposition in the Far East. An irritating place in need of proper hotel management.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterLLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

I was very disappointed from Marriot. Maybe I was expecting too much??
True: the location is very good, near People's Square. True: the building is nice and the view is amazing.
BUT: the rooms are very small. The breakfast buffet is quite poor. AND it is really really expensive!!
We also had to discuss for a loooong time to have the rate we booked on the internet.
Parking is not included. And the Valet parking takes like forever.
We had dinner at the buffet. They had a big choice and the food was fresh and ok. But still, not worth the money we paid for.
I've stayed in an other hotel on People's Square paying just 1/3 of the Marriot's rate and I had the same beautiful view, the same location, a way better service and bigger room.
It was the most expensive stay in Shanghai.. and not worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lauramatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I just finished my 6th stay at the JW Marriott in Shanghai and I am impressed by the constant level of service. Location (38th up to 59th floor of a skyscraper) is great. Rooms are spacious, clean and nice. They just replaced the small old televisions by giant flat screens. Nice. Internet is fast and reliable and food is good.

Try the executive lounge at the 59th floor. Elegant and tasteful. Drinks and delicious snacks. Also the breakfast with a view on Shanghai is remarkeble.

Only minus point : waiting for the elevator can make me nervous. Elevator capacity is clearly not enough and when your room is on the 56th floor, the stairs is not an option :). Waiting time of 5 minutes is not an exception.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We stayed at the JW Marriott in November. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The lobby smells like fresh flowers and the rooms are beautiful and extremely clean. Upon arrival, we were offered a suite upgrade which was wonderful! I will defintely stay at this hotel the next time I travel to Shanghai. Also...the location is great. Just a block or two away from People's Square and the main shopping area. Starbucks is across the street right next to People's Square. Also.........never had to wait for a cab! They are always parked at the hotel and waiting for guests.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirby-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We always travel, and stayed in many hotels, what I really liked was the very helpful and happy staff !!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tonkaposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square

Address: No.399 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#13 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#169 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £129 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at 60 stories high as one of the tallest hotels in downtown Puxi Shanghai, the international deluxe JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai overlooks People's Square and is within walking distance to the Bund, Xintiandi and the characteristic Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street. The well appointed hotel guest rooms and suites are located between the 41st to 59th floors, and offer magnificent city views. The rooms feature a flat-screen cable TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, wired and wireless internet and safe deposit box. Spacious bathrooms are equipped with a separate shower cubical and power massage jets. The Executive Lounge located on the 59th floor provides a commanding city view, serving complimentary breakfast, all-day refreshments and evening cocktails.The hotel's restaurants and lounges are located from the 38th to 40th floor and offer spectacular views of the Shanghai skyline. JW's California Grill on the 40th floor captivates an inventive culinary experience that travels beyond taste. Contemporary, elegant and comfortable, Wan Hao Chinese restaurant on the 39th floor showcases fine traditional Cantonese cuisine and Shanghainese specialties. Marriott Cafe on the 38th floor features the best in international casual dining, serving elaborate buffets throughout the day, as well as an extensive a la carte menu.In addition, the hotel offers a total of 1,512 square metres of meeting and banquet space, a business centre, an executive lounge, a 24-hour health club, including an indoor and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hotel Shanghai
Marriott Shanghai
Shanghai Marriott
Jw Marriott Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing