We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good solid Marriott property....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Ranked #75 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good solid Marriott property....”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business in September and found it to be a pleasant experience.

Reception: An efficient service, staff welcoming and friendly. English language understanding very good. Bell hops very keen to assist you to your room.

Room: Modern and in good condition, clean and well maintained. DVD player and good aircon.

Bathroom: Finished to a high standard with a large bath and large separate shower. Starting to show signs of wear and tear though, maybe due a re-furb in a couple of years. Good quality amenities and towels

Minibar: Well stocked with plenty of choice of snacks and drinks. Complimentary tea and coffee in the room.

WIFI: Free Wi-Fi available in the room and in the public areas of the hotel

Restaurants: I only used the lobby bar and found this to be a really good atmosphere. Staff friendly and drinks and food all very good. A very pleasant evening whilst on a very short stay at this property.

Local Information: There is a DVD store opposite and an ATM just around the corner. Take a 10 minute walk and there is a large shopping area with lots of restaurants and bars. This is spilt over two sides of a main road, so make sure you check out all of it before deciding on a restaurant. A 10 minute walk in the oppposite direction will take you to an underground market were you can negiotiate prices with the locals on shoes, clothes, bags and electronics.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedbird_238_Heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Speedbird_238_Heavy, thank you very much for this detailed review of our hotel. We are thrilled to learn about your appreciation of our warm hospitality, rooms and ambiance. We are planning to upgrade our guest rooms soon in line with the Renaissance lifestyle concept. There are an underground market in metro line 2 which is very close to our hotel and a DVD shop just cross the corner for your to buy some souvenirs and movies. Hope to see you again in Shanghai and we believe you will have a fantastic experience at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    216
    36
    14
    12
See reviews for
28
23
30
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nice and comfortable room. Great and friendly staff. Breakfast was awesome with a wide range of choice and good quality. The hotel is situated in a residential area so there is nothing around. Not close to a subway station either. That offers a peaceful and quiet environment. At the same time, be prepared to travel in and out on a cab.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmtexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear tmtexpress, we thank you so much for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your last visit at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel. Your comments concerning our service and food selection is much appreciated. In regards to our hotel location, it is very close to Century Park, which is one of the largest parks in Shanghai and has a beautiful landscape. Just 15 minutes walk away is the Laya and Thumb Plaza, with a wide array of shops, restaurants and a large supermarket. We are looking forward to see you again at our hotel, and our Navigator would love to share you some hidden gems in our local neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel caters mainly to the business crowd as its location is in the financial district of shanghai. Rooms are of a good size and very comfortable. Not much of a view but if you are looking for a view, maybe better to eat at Lujiazhui or the Bund cos views in shanghai come at a hefty price. Besides that, I like the service at the Club Lounge. I had the privilege of being served by 2 exceptional staff, Levis and Tony. When I was poring over my map, Levis took the initiative to talk to me and recommended day trips. He also tried to send me email on Nanjing where I was headed although this didn't happen due to some email error. Tony, on the other hand, also came up to me while I was doing research on shanghai on a separate occasion and described to me in details on where and what to eat in shanghai. On a Friday night, I asked him for advice and he made a few calls to try reserving a restaurant for my friend and I (not easy for Fridays in shanghai). He finally made one for me at hyatt and without my asking, requested for a window view and highlighting to them that I was from overseas and this was a special dinner.
I have stayed at many hotels and experienced a couple of club lounges but this is one of the best service I have experienced.
Don't hesitate to stay here if you want a pudong location and great service!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oshino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2015
Dear Linandhui,

Thank you very much for your choosing stay in Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel and sharing your wonderful experience.

We strive to ensure that guests' expectations are always exceeded and we are pleased to read that you were satisfied with our service and our products. Great appreciated that you will recommend our hotel to your friend.

We are looking forward to your next stay and join us to have a great discover journey! We are sure tha you will satisfied with our newly revoted guest rooms!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Good location, near the International Expo, £2 with tip in a taxi. Good mall with coffee shops and restaurants nearby, local and Western

Hotel itself was great for a good price. Fantastic food and staff at breakfast, and lovely relaxed lobby bar, with a happy hour 5-8, ideal after a long sweaty day at the Expo.
Rooms a little more traditional in their decor than other Western hotels in Shanghai but still great comfort, and space.

All in all, good choice and will be back

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

It is a little different from the other Renaissance hotels I have stayed in Asia, it was more Marriot standard I thought. The location is on the fringe of Liujiazhui financial district in a residential neighborhood. It is within walking distance of century park for a nice run/walk. The hotel gym is also nice with brand new machines, Given the hotel is fairly new. Also not a very crowded hotel and it seems to serve airline crew.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank juxworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

i have typically stayed at a different Renaissance in Shanghai, but this time my business group stayed at Pudong. Wonderful stay. The staff completely made the difference. I am not sure that i could tell too much difference from the facilities but the Pudong staff was friendly, helpful and very up-beat without being overbearing ... i will definitely staff there next Shanghai trip

Room Tip: marriot club members stay on club floor and have access to lounge - a great benefit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Michael F,
Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel and for taking the time to leave such a nice comment about us!

I am very glad that our employees provided high quality service for you and made your stay memorable. For your next stay, we suggest you try the variety of cuisines available at our hotel and if you want to dine out, our Navigators will have the latest tips on hand for you to discover Shanghai.

Please let us know when you get back to our hotel and so we can catch up for a drink. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiping, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This lives up to the renaissance standard!

Things that impressed me were
1) Executive Lounge - the staff at the exec lounge were extra friendly and helpful. One of the gentlemen there even went down to the local convenience store to buy green tea so that a japanese guest can try "whisky + green tea" as that's the way local chinese enjoy their whisky

2) The pool - smallish pool (6 lanes @ 15-20m) but hardly anyone, so it was great to get a good swim

3) Breakfast - On the 2nd floor, they had a very wide selection including indian food for breakfast which was a highlight :D There's an Egg Specialist (in chinese it wrote egg delivery specialist), she was nice too, but didn't get to find out why she was a specialist

4) staff were generally very friendly and polite. There was a lady called Nina (looked chinese but had native english), met her once but was impressed with her big smile and friendliness

5) japanese restaurant - 1st floor, it's kinda tucked away, as soon as you enter the main door, turn right... the food is not bad, and they will deliver to your room/lounge

6) management response - i left informal feedback when i checked out and they wrote to me promptly and how they would take action.

Things that were odd/strange

1) bottled Water - each room is only allowed 4 bottles of water, we had a baby with us, so it was multiple trips to the executive lounge to get more bottled water.

Room Tip: it's all good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacGyver-SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear MacGyver-SG1,

Thank you for staying with us at the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel.
We really appreciate that you took the time to post such a positive review - it is great to hear that you were impressed by the service of our employees. We obviously passed on your comment to Nina who was very happy about your feedback.

We strive to make our guests stays memorable and it is reassuring to hear that we met your expectations.

Thanks for your detailed comments regarding our breakfast and the Japanese restaurant which we are also proud of. Should there be any need for more bottled water during your next stay, please let us know and we will be very happy to provide you with as many bottles as requested.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#77 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#16 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Century Park
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#141 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Address: No.719 Yingchun Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#156 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the fringe of the dynamic new business district of Pudong, the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel is the ideal locale for business or pleasure. Located near Pudong’s Century Park, just five minutes from the Shanghai New International Expo Center, and a 15-minute walk from the Shanghai Science & Technology Museum (and Metro station, Line 2), 15 minutes walk to the Laya Plaza and Thumb Plaza, a collection lifestyle for leisure and entertainment. The hotel maintains a time-honored tradition in warm hospitality and is equipped for handling small to large scale events and banquets. Combined with the very latest in guest comforts, the hotel boasts a thoughtful blend of traditional Chinese decor and contemporary Western ambiance; it’s a truly modern hotel with a distinct flavor of old Shanghai: where East meets West and where tradition meets innovation in perfect harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing