We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Ranked #86 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Rumbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Good hotel, but very expensive. Location is good for business, but not for Leisure. Nice bar, good food, nice room, service correct, swimming pool very correct. I don't give it a five star due to their prices. I will stay next month in another 5 star hotel in Shanghai for half the price !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    214
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
24
21
29
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for a longer period - over a week - at the hotel. Was a nice experience with a very courteous staff. Great business hotel and am sure it is quite at par as most of the Marriott group hotels are.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mukund_dusad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
717 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I called this hotel "home" in May 2010 and September 2010, when he was sent here for a month each time by his company, to work in Shanghai. He was not able to come this time, but my niece came along. I was glad to be back here in the early part of April 2014. I was disappointed to see that the Executive Lounge was being renovated. Hopefully, when I come back, it is finished.
Our flight came in about 6 hours late so we were very tired when we arrived. Checking in was a breeze. Paul was very nice and efficient. Our room was in the 18th floor.
The breakfast on the second floor was good. I like the good choice of dishes- Western ,as well as, Asian dishes. I got to like the wonton soup for breakfast, which I never had at home ! The servers were friendly and were always smiling. During our stay here this time, I had the chance to see the fruit and vegetable market across the street where I used to buy some produce in 2010. I had a haircut at Amani's not too far from the hotel. I really felt at home. I had the privilege of meeting the new General Manager at breakfast on my last day here. Daisy, who checked me out, was efficient and pleasant. I was glad to have stayed here again. My husband and I will definitely stay here, when we are in Shanghai.

Room Tip: I always like the rooms in the higher floors as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhipudong, General Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear TRAVELdglobenow, thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback and we are happy that you still felt a bit like home after returning to the Renaissance Pudong Hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a smooth check in after an unfortunate long flight and you overall enjoyed your time with us. I will pass on the positive feedback to John and Daisy myself. As Renaissance we always try to provoke our guests to discover the city and local surroundings and it sounds good that you had a chance to visit the fruit and vegetable market. It was a pleasure to meet you at the Brasserie for a short chat and look forward to present you the newly renovated guest rooms when you come back to Shanghai next time. Thanks again for your loyalty.

Best regards,
Dressino, Silvano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overall hotel is fantastic, great location and a wonderful staff. Rooms are nice and clean but a little tired. One team member names Levi really took his club level attendant role to a new level... Great kid hope to see him in the future. This breakfast was a sub par experience when it comes to American breakfasts in Asia.

Room Tip: Go for the club level, well worth the additional fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhipudong, General Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear NT, thank you for taking the time to share such positive comments about our staff and especially Levis who provided you with a great lounge experience. Great feedback motivates him and the team even more to deliver exceptional service. As you might know we are upgrading all our guest rooms and look forward to your positive feedback when they are ready. As we get usually very positive comments about our breakfast I would be happy to hear your thoughts what we can do better in comparison to other hotels you have visited in Asia. Feel free to contact me under rhi.sharn.gm@renaissancehotels.com. Please do come back again and look forward to meet you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Renaissance Pudong is a good business hotel to use while visiting Shanghai. The staff here are helpful and service oriented, like in all Marriott hotels. The public spaces are open and generously proportioned--which is important because of the air pollution outside. The breakfast is varied, accommodating both western and Asian cuisine. During renovation, the happy hour was in the lobby bar, which is very good.

Room Tip: Find a hotel with an excellent HVAC system. The air quality index (AQI) in Shanghai during my visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Oceantics, we are delighted to hear your good experience and truly appreciate for sharing your positive feedback. We are delighted to hear about your appreciation of our engaging service, breakfast and happy hour in the lobby bar. You might be glad to hear that with our guest room renovation apart from a fresh look and feel in a modern Renaissance lifestyle design we also upgrading our HVAC system. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Thumbs up! If you come to this hotel, you will find new meaning of what is hospitality.The moment you come out from your taxi and to the last day you will leave, they serve you like you're the only guest for the day. Yes, that's how I feel. Not once, not twice. I am regular here for business trip but with Renaissance, it helps to lighten the burden of a week-long business trip and meetings.

They assist you with your luggage, they welcome you with a smile, they'll check you in courteously and as quickly,they will escort you to the lift or to your room, they will run to get your luggage when you come down the lift, they will greet you with a smile everywhere. Even at the breakfast lounge, they treat you so nicely.

The rooms are comfortable, the bed with so many pillows(like 6 of them) that you can cover yourself with all the comfortable pillows. Ask for a wake-up call! Mind you, it's just a recording but nothing can be more cheerful than the recorded wake-up call in this hotel.

The hotel is not new, nothing lavish, just classic Renaissance but with the service provided, for me,it's a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeradicalGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear FreeradicalGreg, thumbs up for such a great review! The entire team is very happy and energized thanks to your fabulous feedback about the restaurant, hotel and especially the level of service exhibited by our Navigators. Indeed we receive lots of recognition for our warm and friendly service throughout the hotel. As you said, our hotel is not new but we are in process of renovating all our guest rooms with minimum guest interruption and soon will be able to present you a new look and feel in Renaissance lifestyle design. I look forward to welcoming you back to Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Overall good business hotel - rooms are fine, breakfast is fine, overall good. Nothing super-outstanding to rate this a '5', but overall fine. Location is good and service was good also. Hotel is well kept.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVeggieWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhipudong, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear rohitgupta999,thank you very much for taking time to share your experience.We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and services.We are currently upgrading all our guest rooms and look forward to welcome you back.I am sure you will enjoy the fresh, modern look and facilities
in a few months time and may give us a 5 star rating then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#68 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#12 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Century Park
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#146 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Courtyard Shanghai-Pudong
#45 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Address: No.719 Yingchun Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200134, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#82 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#130 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the fringe of the dynamic new business district of Pudong, the Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel is the ideal locale for business or pleasure. Located near Pudong’s Century Park, just five minutes from the Shanghai New International Expo Center, and a 15-minute walk from the Shanghai Science & Technology Museum (and Metro station, Line 2), 15 minutes walk to the Laya Plaza and Thumb Plaza, a collection lifestyle for leisure and entertainment. The hotel maintains a time-honored tradition in warm hospitality and is equipped for handling small to large scale events and banquets. Combined with the very latest in guest comforts, the hotel boasts a thoughtful blend of traditional Chinese decor and contemporary Western ambiance; it’s a truly modern hotel with a distinct flavor of old Shanghai: where East meets West and where tradition meets innovation in perfect harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing