We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Continuous efficient service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai
Ranked #55 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Continuous efficient service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I had some doubts when arriving here due to comments referring to technical state of the facility. It turns out that about 50% of ca 700 rooms have been refurbished during the pastbtwo years. The rooms at Executive Floor are all refurbished. Some wallpapre is already peeling off, but.... What can you do.

Staff at the reception was OK. We were quickly shown to the Executive Lounge, given the keys. The room was good. Fairly large, comfy bed. Only aircon was not too efficient - it was getting warm at night.

Great breakfast and dinning facilities. Especially Leonardo's offers sophisticated and good menu. Hudge collection of wines throuout the hotel dining places.

Good gym too. Spacious, a lot of equipment. Nice swimming pool.

Room Tip: Make sure to get one of the refurbished rooms. Corner rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aszanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards!

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time out of your schedule to submit your review online. We truly appreciate your feedback as a means for us to understand what our guests value most and how we may improve.

In response to your comments in particular, thank you for acknowledging our ongoing efforts to improve our facilities. We are aware of what we would like to refurbish and have made aggressive plans to complete our restorations. Furthermore, I am pleased to hear that your check-in and dining experiences were enjoyed, and that you made good use of our gym facilities.

Please know that I would welcome any additional comments from you and you may contact me directly at the contact information below. Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back soon, as we are eager to serve you even better then.

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    1,042
    278
    86
    36
See reviews for
163
228
188
1,082
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

For a Hilton hotel this was rather dissapointing. The last time I stayed here they were renovating one area and this time they were renovating another area. It needs it as well.
The check in staff are rather surley and not too helpful but that is made better by the group of conciege people. These guys are essential for getting around town.
The location for business is a bit out of the way and if a tourist even further out of the way.
The rooms are quite basic and the internet connection very slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards.

Thank you very much for submitting your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We use any and all of our guests’ feedback as an important tool for our training and improvement. With that said, I am very disappointed that you were not more impressed by our facilities and my colleagues. We are currently taking on a large project in renovating all of our guest rooms in phases as well as making serious considerations in renewing our internet services for the coming year. I hope you find an improvement in these areas upon future stays. In regards to my colleagues, I truly appreciate your positive comments for my Concierge Colleagues and hope that our Front Desk will offer you a similar experience upon your return. Your concern will certainly be used in our training.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any additional comments you may have Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed here for threee nights as part of an Odessys Unlimited tour of China.
It was the best of the three hotels that we stayed in.
The staff was helpful and acceptably proficient in English.
And everything in the room worked, which appears to be unusual in China today.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkbrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We are always trying to understand what our guests value most during their stays. I am grateful to know that you had an easy time communicating with my colleagues and that you enjoyed your time in your room.

Please know that I would welcome any additional comments you may have about your stay. Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to Shanghai,and the hotel really serve me well. It is located within walking distance to Huai Hai road. About 10 min stroll to the nearest train station - Jing An Si.

If you intend to do most of your activities at the Bunk (Wai Tan), you probably want to consider other hotels.

Overall speaking, Hilton Shanghai is a great hotel, do opt for executive floor. Aside from breakfast and snacks, you'll get a great view there... A good spot to relax, free wifi is provided.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards!

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to submit your impression of your most recent stay with us. We rely on the feedback from our guests to understand what training and improvements are required at our property as well as what our guests value most during their stays. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our location as well as the view and treats available at the Executive Lounge.

Please know that I would welcome any additional comments you may have about your stay. Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located close to shopping and the old part of the city. If you are lucky enough to get a high floor the view is great. Staff are friendly and professional and speak English. The menu has a little bit of everything and room service is 24/7.
It is an easy lace to stay during business trips to Shanghai.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to begin by thanking you very much for submitting your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments and consider them significantly in plans to improve.

From your comments and ranking of your stay, I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our overall experience with. However, I am most pleased to hear your positive comments for my colleagues—we always try to show our genuine hospitality when interacting with our guests. Still, if you have any additional comments on your stay, I would be happy to hear from you further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any questions, comments or concerns, as I would be eager to assist. Otherwise, my colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is a very busy hotel compared to other hotels we stayed at in Shanghai. Lots of meetings and conventions going on, I imagine. Due to this, the check-in and check-out was extremely slow, even at the executive lounge. There is only one agent at the executive check in and the queue was long. The lounge gets really packed too as we saw many people had to wait a while to get seated. Luckily, they offered breakfast on the first floor restaurant in addition to the lounge so we ate our breakfast at the restaurant where there were much more selection. Service was good and food was good. Location is great too, within walking distance to shops, metro, and malls. The rooms can be a hit or miss. Our first room was nice spacious and had a good view.our second room seemed older, smaller, and had a urine smell. We didn't bother changing rooms since it was only for one night. The Hilton in Hongqiao definitely had better rooms, and more luxurious.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Hilton Shanghai—I hope this message finds you and your family well on your journey onwards.

Thank you very much for providing such a detailed response to your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate any and all feedback we receive from our guests as useful tools in our training and improvement. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our first floor Atrium Café breakfast offerings and service as well as the location of the hotel. However, I am disappointed to hear that you were inconvenienced by the waits upon check-in and check-out in the Executive Floor as well as with the second room you stayed in. Rest assured that your comments have been shared amongst our Management and wll be addressed further.

I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any additional comments or questions, as I would be eager to assist!

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

One can certainly enjoy a stay at the Hilton Shanghai. It is run by very friendly staff, has a good executive lounge, and is overall a nice experience. But it misses that final touch. When picked up from the airport, the limo is old - yet the price is sky high. The rooms have some age and the wifi is slow. There are just some details that if they crack those, this property would be one of the best properties in Shanghai. Close but not the top league yet.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FlyingPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to offer your impressions of your most recent stay with us. Rest assured that your comments are very much appreciated, as we use feedback from our guests as an important tool in our training and improvement.

Having said this, I am very pleased to see that you have had a positive overall experience during your stay in relation to our service and product. However, there is always area to improve, as you mention. Specifically, we have just completed the first phase of our renovations and hope to continue the remainder of our improvements soon to address the comments you mention for our rooms. In addition, our internet plan will come under review in the coming year, and we will certainly take this opportunity to take your comments regarding our Wifi connection into further serious consideration.

Please know that any additional comments, questions or concerns you are willing to share with us would be welcome. I would be pleased to hear from you directly!

Warm wishes,
Olivia Ji

Magic Manager
8621-62480000 Ext.2800
olivia.ji@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#41 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#50 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#53 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai

Property: Hilton Shanghai
Address: No.250 Hua Shan Road,Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#106 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Hilton Shanghai hotel towers impressively above the city's former French Concession and is located in the heart of Shanghai's business and entertainment districts. Within walking distance of Shanghai's exclusive shopping streets, Nanjing Xi Lu and Huaihai Lu, this prestigious Shanghai hotel is close to Shanghai attractions such as Jing'an Temple and Jing'an Park. Pudong International Airport is a 50-minute drive away and Hongqiao Airport is only 20 minutes from the hotel. Hold your next conference in one of the 18 meeting rooms or choose the elegant Grand Ballroom at this Shanghai hotel. All contemporary Hilton Shanghai hotel Guest Rooms offer a spacious work area, wireless Internet access and large windows offering views of the city. Choose and Executive Room for access to the 38th floor Executive Lounge. After a busy day, relax in the spa, enjoy a game of squash or work out in fitness center at the Hilton Shanghai hotel. Choose from one of the hotel's 8 restaurants and bars and Dine on fresh seafood at People on Water, the Ningbonese Chinese cuisine restaurant and enjoy views of the impressive Shanghai skyline from the level 39 Penthouse Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hilton International Shanghai
Shanghai Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing