We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hilton Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Shanghai
Ranked #58 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Hilton Shanghai. Good service. Dinner at Leonardo's was terrific. Service and cuisine were top notch. The executive lounge was also very good, especially the omelet chef. So personable. The only thing that was not good was the dinner in the Atrium. Chicken was a piece of shoe leather, barely edible. SO disappointed after the great meal the night before. Nonetheless, would still return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenthereWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Shanghai.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

It gives us great pleasure when we have guest acknowledging that they had enjoyed their stay with us especially with the services provided. These comments provide great motivation to our colleagues as we continue to cultivate excellence in the areas of services provided to our guests.

I have taken note on your comments with regards to the food quality in our Atrium Café. Pease accept my sincerely apology on the concerned and please be assured that both of my Executive Chef and Director of Food & Beverages have been briefed, we will work on the issue, as to avoid any reoccurrence of such instances in the future.
Looking forward very much to your next visit to Hilton Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    1,086
    291
    88
    41
See reviews for
175
240
193
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Felt at home here, which really helped with the transition to the busy city. Loved the exec lounge, which had better breakfast than the restaurant and a great view.
Expensive, no question, but great place.
I would have preferred to be in a different location as this one required a cab ride to go anywhere else. Marriott City Center is a better area.
Be sure to bring cash - Credit cards are not welcome outside of the hotel. Cabs all require cash

Room Tip: ask to use the exec lounge, even if it costs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckw925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Shanghai.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our services and you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured your comments with regards to our Executive Lounge have been shared with my team. The positive comments received are well appreciated as it gives us further encouragement to remain focus in our continuous effort to provide our guests with a comfortable stay experience.

We look forward very much to your next visit to Hilton Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
645 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I chose the Hilton for a recent class I was running because I'm familiar with the brand and it was only the hotel list for my company. My company tried to have me move just two weeks before my event but I decided to stay and I'm glad I did.

The staff at this hotel is top notch, always willing to help you at all levels. When I was checking out, the hotel maid even volunteered to help me with my luggage.

The rooms are very clean with all the necessary amenities and mine was very quite. I was also able to get the darkness that I prefer. The room was comfortable size and the bathrooms are very clean and spacious.

The restaurants are also top notch although they are a little pricey. The business lounge was fantastic and well worth staying here for. The staff in the lounge is top notch as well and the food and drink offerings are very good.

The team supporting my class addressed all my questions and needs and helped me run and truly successful event. The daily food buffet which we paid for had great selections and all students appreciate the quality and the quick turnaround this gave us for getting back to class.

I look forward to using the Hilton again if we come to Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from Hilton Shanghai.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our food and services and you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured your comments about food, room, and the staffs in the lounge have been shared with my team. We greatly appreciate your comments and we will continue to encourage feedback from all our guests as this is a very important tool for us which will not only help us to continuously improve our services and facilities but also aid us rectify areas we failed in.

Let me assured you that Hilton's standards are high as ever at Hilton Shanghai and it is my hope that you will come visit us again. Please do contact me when you plan to visit Shanghai next so I may handle your reservation personally. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,
Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times & can always rely on a consistent guest experience. Great hotel for the western business traveler. The executive floors are worth the added cost as the service level provided by the staff is fantastic. The hotel is an older property, but is well maintained & clean.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhhjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the services and the facilities provided. These positive comments are appreciated as it allows us to know that we are moving in the right direction.

Let me assured you that Hilton's standards are high as ever at Hilton Shanghai and it is my hope that you will come visit us again. Please do contact myself when you plan to visit Shanghai next so I may handle your reservation personally. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongkong
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was welcomed and addressed to in a perfect way. location of the hotel is ideal for airport bus, the old tempel and underground right middle in the hustle and bustle of the city. Tess at the executive lounge will fullfill any wish and she and her team looked after me that well that I will be back

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackfranzmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

It gives us great pleasure when we have guest commented that they had enjoyed their stay with us, especially with the services and facilities provided. Rest assured your compliments towards Tess and her team have been shared with the team. These comments gave great motivation toward our colleagues as we continue to cultivate excellence in the areas of services provided to our guests.

I do look forward to welcome you back the Hilton Shanghai on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Conveniently located near the Jing An Temple area, with easy access to the Subway, Hilton Shanghai is a good hotel for both business and family trips. The executive lounge on the 38th floor has superb city skyline views, and you may even see the Oriental Pearl tower on Pudong on clear days. Good value for your money!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Wei-Kuo Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Shanghai.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our services and facilities and enjoyed your stay. We greatly appreciate your comments and we will continue to encourage feedback from all our guests as this is a very important tool for us to help continuously improve our services.

Let me assured you that Hilton's standards are high as ever at Hilton Shanghai and it is my hope that you will come visit us again.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baindt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. I have been many times there and was never disappointed. Unfortunately room rates are sometimes are too high for me ((Peak season or when hotel is amost full and I have to book by short notice).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonShanghaiHotel, General Manager at Hilton Shanghai, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Hilton Shanghai.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Shanghai and for taking the time to share your staying experience with us.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our services and you have enjoyed your stay with us. I greatly appreciate your comments and we will continue to encourage feedback from all our guests as this is a very important tool for us to help continuously improve our services.

Yours sincerely,

Gerd Knaust
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#39 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#54 of 5,105 in Shanghai
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Shanghai

Property: Hilton Shanghai
Address: No.250 Hua Shan Road,Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#106 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Hilton Shanghai hotel towers impressively above the city's former French Concession and is located in the heart of Shanghai's business and entertainment districts. Within walking distance of Shanghai's exclusive shopping streets, Nanjing Xi Lu and Huaihai Lu, this prestigious Shanghai hotel is close to Shanghai attractions such as Jing'an Temple and Jing'an Park. Pudong International Airport is a 50-minute drive away and Hongqiao Airport is only 20 minutes from the hotel. Hold your next conference in one of the 18 meeting rooms or choose the elegant Grand Ballroom at this Shanghai hotel. All contemporary Hilton Shanghai hotel Guest Rooms offer a spacious work area, wireless Internet access and large windows offering views of the city. Choose and Executive Room for access to the 38th floor Executive Lounge. After a busy day, relax in the spa, enjoy a game of squash or work out in fitness center at the Hilton Shanghai hotel. Choose from one of the hotel's 8 restaurants and bars and Dine on fresh seafood at People on Water, the Ningbonese Chinese cuisine restaurant and enjoy views of the impressive Shanghai skyline from the level 39 Penthouse Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Hilton International Shanghai
Shanghai Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing