We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, pleasant staff, clean and tidy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #70 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was the first time that I had stayed at this hotel. The location is close to the Metro, Peoples Square, and the Nanjing walking street.
The room was a little old fashioned but it was spacious, very clean and well serviced.
The staff were helpful, courteous and most spoke English.
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here April 26, 2014. For the most part it was a very nice hotel, in a GREAT location. Our two 9th floor rooms were clean and (mostly) functional, decent size, comfortable beds and pillows, good bathroom. The lobby was big and beautiful, the staff was helpful and efficient, and enough of them spoke enough English to get by.

I'd have been sitting here deciding whether it rate it a 4 vs a 5 if it weren't for one big thing... the A/C didn't work. I have real trouble sleeping in a warm room. With the A/C switched on and the temp set to 18C and the fan on high, the room never dropped below 23C (73F). Way too warm for my tastes. Both our rooms were the same way. I don't know if the floor just had a problem, or the entire hotel, or whether they have one of those goofy systems where only heat or cooling is available in any given season and if you get caught in a shoulder season needing the opposite of what the building has turned on, all you get is recycled air. But in any case, the A/C didn't work the one night we were there.

If that had worked, I'd have rated this hotel at least a 4.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic, walk down and you're smack bang in mini NYC. It's very comfortable, and good value for money. We requested for a higher floor and they've put us on level 26. Not sure whether this makes much of a difference.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistyboo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good location in people's square, close to the bund and walkable to the metro, but honestly, nothing great inside the hotel. The rooms are old fashioned looking and not greatly maintained. The staff both at the registration desk and the bar are not well trained, don't understand foreigners' preferences, and don't have much training in the way of manners and etiquette. Staff in the breakfast dining area is not much better. The rooms were cleaned only in the mornings and most of the time, amenities were not replenished and towels were not changed. It's not exactly cheap to stay in this hotel, but I don't think it's worth it to return. There are so many hotels to choose from in downtown shanghai, and although it seems that this hotel has some foreign management, they aren't doing a great job in making foreigners feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HP2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

As many have said before the location is key to choosing this hotel, but the staff are not trained well enough to make you feel welcomed. Its not as good as its made out to be.There are much better ones to choose from.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I returned to this hotel in March 2014. My last stay was in 2009. I was traveling with students on both occasions, and one reason we chose this hotel was its closeness to pedestrian streets and the center of the city.

After 5 years, I was greeted by the hotel staff by name. Nothing had changed. They were very efficient in facllitating the needs of our (small) group. The rooms were great and the breakfast was varied each day and very substantial. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We found a deal at the hotel that we couldn't resist and booked a 5 night stay for our Shanghai vacation. The location is perfect, the hotel is situated right next to the Nanjing pedestrian street with just a few minutes walk to two different metro stops. The Bund is a 10 minute walk away.

We stayed in a nice superior room with a view of the Century Square. The room had everything we needed, a small minibar, TV, free wired and wireless internet. The bathroom was spacious and housekeeping replaced used shampo and shower gel bottles every day. Two free bottles of drinking water was also restocked every day.

The breakfast buffet was very good, they offered a varied mix of chinese, asian and western dishes. More than enough food and variation to keep even the most picky people satisfied.

I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,159 in Shanghai
864 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#62 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,352 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#55 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,037 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#64 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.595 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#68 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £71 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai is an international five star hotel in the heart of downtown Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing