We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in terms of location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #68 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect in terms of location”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

During the 10-days stay, the overall experience was satisfactory.
The location was perfect, 1 mins walk to the main shopping attraction in Shanghai, 10 mins walk to the bund and 5 mins walk from the subway. Taxi was also easy to catch.
The breakfast was pleasant with plenty of choices, Starbucks was also available on the G/F of hotel giving u extra options.
Gym room was well equipped and there were also Sauna and indoor pool for guests' use free of charge.
The interior was a bit tired, while still properly maintained, not big issues during my stay. Given the price charged, it's quite impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyYeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    486
    129
    24
    10
See reviews for
98
163
63
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

the title should be sufficient enough, but wow. this place is bad!!!!

not worth the money at all, the location is decent but its not worth putting up with the s*** in that hotel. first of all when checking in there was a line and white guy standing behind the desk. i asked if he could help and he said its not his job. great... another show pony in China.

well that was not the worst part, whilst waiting in the lobby for the rest of my party i wanted some water to drink. so i kindly asked the waitress in Chinese for warm water. she said this would be 40 yuan. i laughed at her. the absolute nerve.

well that evening before heading out for a meal i ordered a Gin and tonic from the bar, this was by far the worst gin and tonic service i have ever had, they got the gin poured it into a glass and then put in front of me with the can? so i looked at her, thinking what are you doing... after 30 seconds she got the message and started to pour my drink like she was throwing the tonic inside and loosing all the bubbles. i had to stop her quickly and carry on pouring my own drink.

to make things worst the rooms smell really musty, the beds are not comfortable and the breakfast was horrid. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!!! if you can spare the extra few pounds go to the Puli Hotel. I normally always stay here and can not recommend it highly enough. I only stayed at the howard johnson as my colleagues wanted too. i will not be making this mistake again!

Room Tip: tips... for a good room? stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NS1_2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Check in was fast and efficient, and upon reading the travellers tips on TA dared to asked for a front facing higher room, and was stunned when the answer came back - 'yes', 'and we are upgrading you to a suite' - well never before, has that happened, normally get the small room overlooking the carpark.

The room didn't disappoint - it had a separate lounge and the view was spectacular, over looking the square - breathtaking by night.

Breakfast was good, plenty on offer, lots of variety, and the staff very attentive, always topping up your tea or coffee.

The location of the hotel was very good also, a very pleasant walk down to The Bund about 15 mins, and we used the subway a lot, very easy and in English as well as Chinese.

Bedding was either Egyptian cotton or of a very high thread count it was wonderful to sleep on,definitely treating myself when i get home, and the room was super quiet.

The little extras in the bathroom were a nice touch, - mouth wash, a wooden comb, and a natural loofah - never seen touches like this before.

The lobby is very large and impressive, however if i can be slightly indulged here, i would suggest it could do with a little updating here and there.

Overall, this was a very good experience an certainly added to our overall impression of Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redtomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tairua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here. Close to the walking street and about a 15 minute walk to the Bund. Our room overlooked the street and at night the lights were lovely. The room was big and the bathroom had lots of extras. The buffet breakfast was plentiful good free wifi.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BettyOudney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Staff: Looks like unfortunately they saved money by skipping proper staff training, which is vital to any hotel business. Staff is really rude and grumpy starting from the reception to breakfast hall. They sound like they are granting their time to you and you should be grateful and serve with a sulked face. As the breakfast place was not well designed and a bit hard to find things, I asked where the butter was and one of the cooks behind the eggs counter pointed to it with an almost angry face. Soon after me, another guest was asking about where the meat is and he literally said 'Look, there' by pointing to it. I was not sure if they lacked the language but their expressions and attitude looked like they all hated working there or their jobs. The staff at breakfast said 'Thank you' while we were leaving and personnel at the reception while checking out were nice but it didn't make up for all the rudeness. Room service were relatively quick, but the fruit platter was disappointing too. It just had melons, watermelons and dragon fruit (obviously from breakfast), so I should have known that they wouldn't have a good selection of fruits at breakfast.

Breakfast: Definitely not 5 star breakfast, among dozens of 5 star hotels we stayed at, they had one of the poorest breakfast, but they get away with everything due to their amazing location.

Towels & sheets: Towels were nice, only small hand towels were a bit grey and hard. However, the thick women's hair inside the bathrobe which gave the impression that they might not have been cleaned. Such a turn off to find hair in towels, beds or on the floor, seems to indicate carelessness.

Bed: Bed was quite comfy, pillows are a bit too soft and bed might feel slightly hard but it is very comfy.

Cleanliness: There are stains on the carpet as the hotel is old, but mostly well maintained and the bathroom as all looks quite clean.

Room Tip: Upper, executive floors seems to be cleaner, request an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndependentTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very nice hotel with quite spacious rooms. .It was a pleasure to get back to the hotel after the noisy street.Very quiet,.
In spite of its size you do get personal and very polite assistance whenever needed. The desk stuff speaks very good English and and are willing to help.
Breakfast is really good (Western and Chinese) a little overpriced about 20$p.p.
Location--great, great. A short walk to People Square,The Bund, Shanghai Mus., and shopping area just in front of you.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel(facing the pedestrian shopping st,) and higher floor, for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciobotariu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stay here every year, it is comfortable clean and friendly, as returning guests they look after us very well.
Most of the staff have a good command of English.
The area is great for sight seeing and an easy walk to the Bund.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Nanjing road and on higher levels have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#48 of 5,059 in Shanghai
805 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#40 of 5,059 in Shanghai
994 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#186 of 5,059 in Shanghai
442 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#43 of 5,059 in Shanghai
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.595 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai is an international five star hotel in the heart of downtown Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing