We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #71 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel from 4-9 September 2010, 5 nights. This was my second trip to Shanghai, previously stayed at Majesty Plaza ( see review also). The hotel is in an excellent location right off the Nanjing pedestrian mall. Being located one block from the mall (a very short block, the mall is exposed to the hotel because of a street running thru the mall along side the hotel) keeps all the pedestrian mall touts away from the hotel. This is a welcomed relief as you will see when you walk the mall. The hotel lobby is spacious with an elegant decor. It has a bar and coffee shop. The 5 elevators are usually quick with little delay. The rooms are very clean and modern. We stayed in the standard room and there was more than enough room. Flat screen TV, with more than 40 channels including CNN, BBC, etc. The beds are very comfortable with cool cotton linens and a heavy comforter. Desk area with high speed cable and the electrical outlets had dule plug in for 2 round plug type and the Chinese tilted triangle plug, so no adapter is needed. Refrigerator, coffee maker with coffee and tea, although only one per day. 2 bottles of water free. Do not use the Evian bottled water. It cost about $10. All the carpeting in the room and halls looks brand new. Limited space for clothes, with 2 night stands and a limited area under the TV. But a clothes rack for pants and shirts. Iron and board, robe, slippers, shoe horn and many other items for your comfort. The bathroom was spacious with all the amenities. The tub was a minor problem in that it was up on a stand and when getting out it was a long step down to the floor. Best to hang on when making this step. The water pressure was excellent and plenty of hot water. Also a switch to defog the mirrors, which got very warm. There are 2 restaurants, one offering one free buffet with the purchase of 2, so the 3 of us ate and payed for 2. A very good bargain. There is a huge swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and fitness center, all free. This is a bargain as many hotels in Shanghai charge extra for this. The staff is attentive and can speak good English and give good instructions to the taxi if needed. We were also able to buy Expo tickets with the concierge. Honestly, it is difficult to say anything bad about the Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob2bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

Been there during August 2010. Clean room, great location, and very convenient. I sent email few days before my stay to request for a double room and asked for information about anyway to order cake or flower as i wanted to surprise my partner on his birthday. No response back by email but when i checked in, the staff told that they upgraded the room to business room and already prepared a cheesecake for us (she was very helpful while I tried to hide this from my partner.). I asked for one staff to carry cake to our room at midnight and the cake was delivery just at the time :D

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toeinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights with husband and teenage daughter. This hotle is very well located for shopping, eating and transport - we were 2 minutes from the pedestrianised part of Nanging Road On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite as they had space. The room itself was very spacious, very comfortable and clean. Big bath with separate shower also very clean .Breakfast was the usual international affair, but beautifully laid out (and with a sensible start time of 6am), with different stations for different cuisines - you could have eggs and bacon, dim sum, croissants, sushi, miso soup, - I could go on. The staff were helpful and understood us well enough. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmadmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and found it to be well located for sightseeing and shopping.
The hotel has a very grand lobby and our room was most comfortable with all the expected amenities to match.
The staff were pleasant and helpful and their English was passable.
We found the breakfast pretty pricey and it was not easy to find restaurants close by that we liked.
The hotel room was exceptionally well priced and excellent value and for this reason we would stay there again should we ever revisit Shanghai.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Roundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Location couldnt be better,staff were great,buffet was a let down.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjfogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Stayed from 11th July for 7 nites.Excellent Lobby and Ambeince.Great Location.Clean Rooms.Value for Money.Wish more staff could speak fluent English.Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelhiMovira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Nice hotel, not 5 stars but close to a Sheraton or Marriott. Nice to have an American style in China.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehudson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,146 in Shanghai
848 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#58 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,325 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#53 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#50 of 5,146 in Shanghai
789 reviews
People’s Square
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
Majesty Plaza Shanghai
#233 of 5,146 in Shanghai
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.595 Jiujiang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#66 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £74 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai is an international five star hotel in the heart of downtown Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing