We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel with Great Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #39 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We just finished our stay at this hotel and had a great experience. We arrived late at night and the staff was very attentive to our needs and helped us to get quickly situated. Our room was big, clean, quiet and supercomfortable. We looked forward each day to coming back to our room to relax. We stayed in an Executive level room so we had access to the Executive Lounge and were very happy with the food and the service there. The conceirge desk also did a great job in helping us with reservations and suggestions and printing out or writing down directions for us in Chinese to help us get around the city. The location is central making it easy to get around the city and is in walking distance to the Bund and Nanjing Street. We highly recommend this hotel and thank the staff for the great service provided to us during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellafarfalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,076)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2011

This hotel is well located, allowing a walk at night to see the lights of Shanghai. The staff of the hotel is at best indifferent.
The swimming pool is 4ft high. Does not offer changing rooms

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The hotel is a bit older than expected but is still a good place to stay since it is near to all the tourist spots -- walking distance to the Bund, the Old City. We stayed in 3 hotels while vacationing in China, and this ranks third of the three.

Several minor things: The aprons of the male waiters need to be clean. It was dirty. On one of the breakfasts, we saw one of the staff members taking out some water from one of the dishes into a pail, and then she spat into the pail in front of the food. Yak.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our first trip to China. It lived up to its five stars. The room and bed were very comfortable and the buffet breakfasts were fine. Can't comment on other meals as we ate out the rest of the time. We arrived on a Sunday and saw the Sunday brunch in full swing. It looked like a lot of fun.

The location was excellent - very near the Bund and the main shopping street. It's easy to spot from a distance with the unique lotus flower on top of the building.

Can't comment on VFM since our booking was part of a package. We would recommend it and would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suffolk_Day_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

How do you deal with a hotel employee whose response to any issue that you had was "we have never heard that before." This is the second time that we have stayed here and have had ZERO response to any problems that we have encountered. The "free" internet is only free if you use wireless which by they way does not work with my work laptop so we were charged, the wine selection in the lounge is very limited compared to other hotels. They must have put in new beds, I do not remember them being so "Chinese" in the past - VERY hard! Won't be staying here again. Glad there in a new Marriott opening soon.

Room Tip: Avoid the XX63 rooms in the tower side - loud!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrigsfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I stayed at the Westin shanghai for the 2nd time this month. It's a pretty large hotel with spacious rooms. The restaurants are also quite good. Service seems to be slipping as emplyees perform their rote duties. As an SPG gold member, i'm entitled to a welcome gift. I chose the fruit and welcome drink. One hour after checking in there was no fruit to be found. I called the front desk and they said they would look into it. When I left the room 30 mins later, still no fruit. On my way to dinner at the Italian restaurant on the 2nd, I checked with another member of the front desk staff. Long story short, the fruit never arrived. I wouldn't normally make a big deal about this, but I was feeling a little ill and wanted some fruit to boost my immune system. Checked out the next day and moved to the park hyatt which manages to be BOTH a great business hotel and weekend leisure hotel. Westin take note.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RR996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Excellent in all respects - comfortable beds and well equipped room. Wonderful breakfast buffet and good service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,669 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#9 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,013 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#54 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,039 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#141 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £117 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing