We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I only planned to stay one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #35 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I only planned to stay one night”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I usually avoid western-managed hotels because of their similarity in every city, and that they tend to charge for a lot of extras. I stayed at the Westin one night in April, and the next day was a holiday, so it was a great day to catch up on sleep. I selected a special deal with Expedia, and I was upgraded to a king-size room, conducive for working, relaxing, and sleeping. My only complaint is the high prices for the mini-bar. It is unnecessary.

After a trip outside of Shanghai, I checked back in to the same hotel for the weekend. They were offering an easter special, with free internet (which should be like free electricity, free shower water, free heat or airconditioning, etc.), and also complimentary breakfast which left me quite replete. They offered a discount at the spa, which i utilized, and the service throughout the hotel was flawless, though i would have liked to have nude swimming when there was no one else in the pool.

I would say that i would stay there again, and that is what i did, on my recent trip to shanghai. if offered the same value on my next trip to shanghai, i would probably accept it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aps123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Aps 123,

We are delighted that you were our guest and that you enjoyed both your stays with us. Love your sense of humor and hope to have you back soon!


Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    733
    151
    38
    26
See reviews for
205
422
128
732
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

This is certainly a good hotel, but it is not a great one. It definitely misses on delivering the normal and expected Westin experience.
Internet charging is quite frankly absurd nowadays in a 5star hotel.
Room service was average.
TV in room did not face the bed.
Room temperature was impossible to get right.

Expect better from Westin....

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MattFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Mr. Fletcher,
Thank you for your review and staying with us. We apologize that failed to meet your expectations.

We provide free wireless internet to our guests in the entire hotel including public areas and guestrooms. Our heating and cooling system are operating at the same time.

Currently we are embarking on planning a refurbishment of our Crown Tower and we will take your feedback into our account for the setup of the TV in the particular room you have stayed.

Would it be possible for you to elaborate a little more for us on the issues you have had with Room Service and temperature control - what made you feel uncomfortable so we can maybe address it for future stays? I can be reached through dutymanager-shanghai@westin.com

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future and hopefully will be able to rectify these shortcomings.

Yours Sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Walking distance to the Bund without paying the "Bund premium," this is a very nice Westin. the People's PArk with its museums and Yu Gardens are also walkable. The hotel has adjoining rooms, so it was a good hotel for my family and I.

I do have two complaints though. One, the service was very uneven. While check-out was smooth and quick, check-in took close to thirty minutes - the check-in clerk clearly did not know what he was doing. Our experience wiht the concierge desk was very hit or miss, and lastly, actually getting a cup of coffee or tea while seated at the breakfast buffet took great preseverence.

Two, while the rooms are large they were actually quite cluttered wiht furniture. We called the front desk and had the staff remove some furniture from the room which was a big improvement.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Gearhead85,
Many thanks for recently choosing to stay with us here and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am delighted to learn that you did enjoy your stay with us and your feedback to improve the service levels are well taken on board. I have already shared it with our heads of department.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the not too distant future.

Wish you well on your travels.
Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel twice and it continues to impress. The location is excellent, just steps from the Bund area and good shopping areas. The staff is very friendly and responsive to requests. The rooms are a good size and well-appointed. Try the Sunday brunch!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnCallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The location is unique, you can walk to Nanjing Donglu pedestrian shopping street, the Bund, Yu Gardens and People's Park. Nice place to be if you are staying the weekend in Shanghai.

The rooms I have had here have all been very nice with excellent bathrooms. Check-in/out service is not quite up to other hotel 5-star standards but not a big deal. The lobby is interesting with a large pond running through it the and coffee shop. Breakfast is very good there and Sunday brunch is amazing.

Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear rs88,
Thank you for sharing refreshing perspectives of your recent stay with us. It is inspiring to learn that you have found our location and rooms experience and overall hotel service to be delightful.

We will extend your wonderful comments to Chef Thomas and his culinary team for the great breakfast and Sunday Brunch experience you have had.

Meanwhile, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in your next Shanghai encounter.

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Our first stay at this Westin. Overall, the whole experience was great. The rooms were good and so were the wahsrooms. The gym was good size and the swimming pool was good - it was a heated pool and it was nice to see the sunlight streaming in while relaxing at the pool.

It would have been better experience except for buffet which ended at 1030 - they could have informed guests that the breakfast buffet is ending instead of shutting abruptly. The subway was not too near either but then again the taxi was afforable and easily available.

Would stay here again in future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jangtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Jangtravels,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, especially your feedback of our nice rooms and outstanding workout facilities. However, we apologize for the service shortfall that you have encountered for breakfast and will certainly ensure that continuous training is put in place to improve on the associates’ shortcomings as you have highlighted. In the meanwhile, we look forward to regain another opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai.

Wish you well on your journeys.
Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This class of hotel is expensive and in my opinion greatly overpriced in China, it is "near" the Bund and East Nanjing Road shopping area - if you are physically fit and fancy a good 10 minute brisk walk in temperature which can top 30C/86F even in June.

Meals are quite expensive in the hotel and in particular the evening buffet is vastly overpriced at 288rmb plus drinks (about £30/36 euro's/47$)

Staff are helpful if at times you think they are having a laugh at your expense, I ordered a shoe shine which was free, it was the worst job I have ever seen, they had been wiped with a damp cloth and had never seen shoe polish, their solution ; give some shoe polish in a tube and a shoe hit, not to be recommended as it will obviously go straight through the hit,

Rooms are clean, in room internet is by wifi or ethernet cable, do not pay for the ethernet cab le at 100 rub per day, it is next to useless in either form, Skype video calls lock up if you are using the internet or e-mail.

Other aspects of the service are good, taxi despatching for one, there are no offers of upgrades on arrival. if you do purchase a room with executive club access, then, it is good value for the 2 hours that you can enjoy free alcohol and snacks, but the service is variable and they do not make any serious effort to have the service available on time, quality of snacks is also variable.

In hindsight you are probably best in booking a similar class of hotel and risking a ride in a taxi with inoperable seat belts than staying at the Westin, overall my perception is that you could only award this hotel 5 out of 10 for service against what should be 9 out of 10, if there is a manager at this hotel you could be forgiven for thinking he is hiding in a cupboard somewhere and the monks are running the zoo.

I am currently staying on the 17th floor I hope they take note before I leave early on friday 6th April, I suspect however they don't care what the outside world thinks!

Room Tip: Junior or King Suite are comfortable but very expensive, they don't do deals, they don't upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Mr. Day,
Thank you for choosing us and taking your time to share your feedback during your recent stay with us. We are truly disappointed to learn that your experience was far from perfect and sincerely apologize for the compromised experience that you encountered. I am glad that we have had the chance to speaking with you on the phone during your stay and we have actually rectified the points of your discontent to the level, that you told us, you will choose us again for your next visit.

Feel free to at any time to liaise at any time with one of our Executive Assistant Managers or myself if we could be of any assistance during the stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#39 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,615 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,972 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#54 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#151 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing