We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel in the heart of the city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #31 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in the heart of the city.”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The Westin at the bund is very well located just 3 blocks from the bund, and 4 blocks of Yu Yen Gardens and marketplace. Facilities are top notch, with above standard size for the rooms. Spa is outrageously expensive as usual, but you can always check local options not far from the hotel. Avoid restaurants of the hotel since they are low quality food and high priced. Taxi from the hotel to Pudong airport is about 55 minutes and cost 110 RMB.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnaviation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear jnaviation,
thank you for your review and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay overall. I am a disappointed that you did not like our food despite the fact that we have a high ratings on food in our guest satisfaction survey. We will make every effort to ensure, to lift our game. In regards to the spa, yes, it is regarded as the best spa in Shanghai and yes, it is not cheap.

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    711
    150
    38
    25
See reviews for
197
409
124
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Got an incredible deal, so amazing that reception asked to photocopy my internet booking confirmation.... happy. Standard room that had all the mod cons with separate seating area and a hugh bathroom. Perfect location, less than 5 mins walk to the bund. Staff were amazing also, really amazing and very helpful, except for the reception lady who couldn't believe our rate. Rate included buffet breakfast which lasted us all day. Perfect end to our China holiday. Stayed 1 night.

Room Tip: Standard is above average, no need to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gohomemumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear gohomemumbai,
thank you for posing your comment and congratulations on securing a great deal. We are thrilled that you liked the service provided by our colleagues and found them amazing. We do put in a lot of training as we want for all of our guests to enjoy their time with us and I am confident, that also the associate who asked to photocopy your confirmation will be soon like the others you encountered.

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed only one night in a shoebox sized room and had only 15 min. to dig into the unbelievable breakfast buffet...I'll come back again just for that ! Worldclass hotel, no doubt !

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreichar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Dreichar,
Many thanks for recently staying with us and the great feedback on our breakfast, we really appreciate it! As to our rooms: our smallest
room “deluxe” is actually 32sqm, which is about international standard for a room. Maybe you want to try one of our larger Studio rooms
for your next stay at a modest additional charge? They are 44sqm with a sliding door between bedroom and the living area. We hope also
that next time you will have a little more time for breakfast, as I find personally that I feel much better after a leisurely breakfast throughout
the day…

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
1,031 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here for three days and had a great experience! We only have two negative comments to make: at night, every time my husband left the hotel, he was harrassed by local guys offering him "women of the night"! You would think a nice upmarket hotel such as this one would run those guys off. Secondly, the young lady who checked us in was not good, and told us they had run out of local street maps and she couldn't tell us when another one would arrive! We took ourselves straight over to the concierge desk and picked one up from them! Now the good points, the rooms are nice, not big, but good with a nice desk, tv, welcome fruit and lovely bathroom. Great shower! The concierge desk was great and helped us to book a day tour to the Shanghai river towns where you can see how people still lived as they did 1,000 years ago - amazing experience; they also helped us with little cards to give to taxi drivers in Chinese advising where we wanted to go as hardly anyone outside of the hotels speaks any English at all. Great Italian restaurant on the second floor and we had the best service we experienced in our entire three week trip to Asia from a young man named Kent who was simply outstanding. By this time we had been on the road for 2 weeks in Asia and just fancied some spaghetti carbonara for a change! LOL. The bars are very nice in the hotel and offer happy hour drinks. the hotel is well located, only a 15 minute walk from old Shanghai town and the market which we walked to every day and thoroughly enjoyed. The spa is fabulous, the pool is heated but the hot tub is too hot to use sadly. Very nice locker rooms with additional jacuzzi tubs inside where the water wasn't quite so hot. It is also only a 10 minute walk from the famous Bund which has a nice promenade. Make sure you visit the Peace Hotel on the Bund, a gorgeous old art deco hotel where all heads of state have stayed over the years. Simply stunning. Be warned, if like us this is your first visit to Shanghai, cars and mopeds will try to run you over crossing the road; we thought Rome was bad but this was worse! Even when you have the green man crossing sign, it means NOTHING! Stay in packs with the locals and cross the streets in groups as it is very scary crossing the road. Shanghai is a great city to visit and we had a blast; I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear mwoodduk,

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay here in Shanghai. In regards to the local guys who offer ‘ladies of the night’ our security does everything possible to keep them off the premises, but we cannot do anything about them on the footpath. They are also not always easy for us to spot, as they constantly change and only seem to approach obvious tourists. I invite all our guests who read this to immediately bring any such incident to our attention and our security will then react accordingly.

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is ideal for business travel as its right in the heart of the Bund. Terrific service and the rooms are spacious. Only complaint is the hallways tend to be smaller and there are smokers in the lobby. Concierge is tremendously helpful and they always have great buffets (breakfast, lunch or dinner) downstairs. The club level is also the best I have ever experienced (and thats saying something as in Asia they are all great).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaGuy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear ChinaGuy14,

We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for posting your feedback. I am sorry that we seemed to have failed to catch a smoker in the lobby, as we do not allow this, seeing it is also illegal to smoke in non designated smoking areas in the hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We elected to remain for 4 additional days at this hotel after we completed our Viking River Tour. I managed to keep the same room which was more than adequate for 2 people. Beautiful well designed bathroom, spacious room, and even a desk to do any necessary work. Bed was excellent and the air conditioning worked perfect.
Although we had free breakfast the first two days, because of our tour, we elected to skip the breakfast due to the high cost. It was 205 Yuan a person, or about 35 dollars. Not really worth the price. We had dinner there one night and the food was very good, but expensive.
Excellent staff in the lobby helped immensely with instructions to cab drivers and booking reservations. When you ask them to do something they will complete the task with professionalism. We found a little stand near the hotel that sold soft drinks at a much cheaper price than the mini bar.
This is really a business hotel that caters to it's guests. Governor of Idaho was there during our stay for a business convention. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olympicoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear olympicoskar,
Thank you for electing to stay with us another 4 days and I am really glad to learn that you did enjoy your stay with us. Thank you also for having taken the time to post your experience here at The Westin Bund Center. Safe travels and stay well.

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Westin Bund is a large conference type hotel but runs like a small, intimate boutique property. Upon our arrival, we were greeted at the door by a hotel employee who whisked us to the fifth floor SPG lounge area for check-in. We reviewed all the perks including breakfast in the morning, snacks in the afternoon, drinks/appetizers in the evening and a 20% discount on spa services at the Banyan Tree. We were also treated to a suite on the 17 floor with a sweeping view of Shanghai. Throughout our stay, we were greeted by name which is rare these days.

The room itself featured an updated although strange bathroom layout that did not provide much privacy. The bedroom and living room area were separate with new beds and furniture. The carpet was the only drab item in the room and will need to be replaced soon.

As an SPG member, we had the choice of breakfast in the lounge or the lobby restaurant, Stage. Both were fantastic but the lobby provided a huge variety of both western and Chinese delights that would fill us before we started our day. Drinks and appetizers were a treat after a long day of walking and the lounge was a great place to review the day over a cocktail.

We indulged in spa treatments at the Banyan Tree and were not disappointed. The spa is gorgeous and the spa staff accomodating to every need. The front desk was a little rough around the edges but it could have been an off day as this is not typical for the Banyan Tree properties. We indulged in a 90 minute massage and 90 minute reflexology treatment. Following services, a private shower room with plush towels, robes, etc were available and tea was brought into the room to finish the treatment package. Not inexpensive but worth it.

The fitness center was also lovely with up to date equipment, separate stretching area, pool and steam room. Even when the room was crowded, the equipment was spaced out enough that we never felt like someone was on top of us. The staff checked in frequently to make sure the room was clean and that water was stocked.

We also dined at Eest, a wonderful restaurant on the fifth floor of the property. The manager of the restaurant is fantastic, tending to all needs and reinventing dishes to fit my vegetarian diet. We dined there a total of three times and the evening the manager was off duty was our only disappointing night.

We found the location central and were able to walk a short distance to the Bund, museum and shopping districts. If we find ourselves in Shanghai again, will definitely plan to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust111Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Wanderlust111Chicago,
Wow, thank you for your great review! The entire team here at the Westin and especially the Banyan Tree Spa are thrilled by your great feedback. We will work hard with our spa front desk to ensure your experience will remain an isolated one. We are thrilled that you also liked our other facilities and service and we will be delighted to welcome you back when your travel plans bring you back to Shanghai. Be well

Yours Sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#35 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#135 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing