We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - certainly a 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #30 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent - certainly a 5 Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

The Westin in Shanghai is beautiful. It's very large and well kept. I was the for 3 nights on business and was very impressed with the accommodations. The rooms are great.

Gym: very good

Internet: not great - they need to upgrade the capacity. very slow.

Service: very good

Breakfast: huge area - very good

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    702
    148
    36
    24
See reviews for
191
404
119
699
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

After some shocking time out on the street of Shanghai, it is always nice to be back at the safe and comfortable hotel room.

Located near Yuyuan Garden and Nanjing East Metro station, it is accessible by foot to many attractions. Even if venturing further, the metro station makes it easy way back.

The hotel room is very spacious - nice walk-in bathroom and sleeping area. However, the daily sounding of the horn from the cars on the road makes it hard for us to sleep in.

Sunday Brunch at Westin The Bund is extremely popular - we could not get a table as we had no reservation.

Service at the hotel is as expected. However, we booked a trip with hotel concierge to a certain attraction and it turned out to be a stain for the entire stay. Paying close to 1500RMB/2person (excluding taxes?) for a 5 hour trip, the excursion probably ended within 3hrs 45mins. When the nice lady guide suggested avoiding the silk factory as she deemed commercialized, we thought she would replace with some other itinerary. In the end, what we thought was a luxurious treat turned out to be quite a reap off. For this incident, it's a -1 for concierge.

Having said that, I would still suggest booking trips with the hotel as it is safe and reliable. However, be prepared to pay for the 'premium service' but voice your opinions if you feel being short-changed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxJw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Great location that is easy walking distance from Nanjing Rd, the Bund and Yu Yuan gardens.
The breakfast buffet is delicious. I especially liked the mango mascarpone.
Rooms are nice including a bath with a view.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkahn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear JKahn3,
Thank you for choosing us and for posting this nice review. We are glad that you liked the bathroom with a view as well as our breakfast. We do hope to see you back soon and I wish you safe travels.

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is really a great place. We had meetings for 40 here. The sleeping rooms were beautiful and comfortable. The meeting rooms were great and the staff were very quick to respond to anything we asked for. The hotel was extremely accommodating to any of our needs. Breakfast was phenomenal. I'd recommend this hotel if you're doing busines in Shanghai. It's also well located. And with the very unique architecture at the top of the Bund Center, it's very easy to find your way home by just walking towards the building.

Room Tip: The hotel is higher than anything around it--I was on the 11th floor and it was very quiet. I heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 365Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear 365 Kate,
We were delighted to have been chosen as the venue for your meetings and more so that we have lived up to your expectations. Thank you for your great comments and we hope that we will see you again soon here in Shanghai together with your colleagues.

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Easy walk to the Bund, and was central to a lot of great Shanghai sites. The rooms were terrific, especially the additional sitting area. Very clean. Breakfast was mediocre (lots of food, but not terribly tasty - how is it possible to make tasteless bacon?) Would recommend it though!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Andrea B,
Thank you for your patronage and subsequent comments and feedback. Whilst I am delighted that overall you liked our hotel and recommend it, I apologize that you did not find the breakfast to your liking. Please rest assured that our chefs are already working on improvements and I am certain that we already have rectified the bacon issue, as we already had a food tasting to choose a different bacon supplier just two days after you posted your comments. Hope to have you back soon.

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I'm just back from 3 nights at the Westin Bund Center and must say I was quite impressed. The room was magnificent -- nicely designed, clean and comfortable. The room service was good and was delivered fast. And the Internet connection was excellent. The breakfast buffet served in the morning has something for everyone, and it's not to be missed.

When back in Shanghai, I shall definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear JWeiden,
It was great to have you as our guest and we are particularly pleased about the fact that you liked your stay with us and would love to have you back with us soon. Wishing you safe travels in the meantime.

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Within a couple of minutes you'll reach Nanjing Road, the Bund area as well as the Metro station, all by foot.
Nice big rooms with fresh fruit daily and plenty of free drinking water. Comfortable bed and immaculately clean, although a bit crowded, could maybe do with less furniture. Good breakfast selection and had dinner one evening at Italian restaurant: great value buffet, including 2 drinks for only RMB 128.00

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loots49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Loots 49
Many thanks for being our guest and for having taken the time to post your comments. I am really happy to learn that you had a good stay with us. In regards to the room, we are already working on an extensive refurbishment project and should have our crown tower rooms, lobby, some function rooms and Buffet signature Restaurant renovated by about mid next year.

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#130 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing