We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I Could Rate It Higher”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #30 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wish I Could Rate It Higher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Really nice hotel...the rooms incredible. Get a view of the water and Pudong..The Pearl Tower looks like it is in my window. Very good location. Would love to come back. Ask for room 1863...You won,t be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12soup-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear SOUP-ER,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted to read your wonderful review and for giving us a full score. We are glad that your stay with us was renewing and truly appreciate you for recommending us to others. We do hope to be of service to you again and look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    703
    148
    36
    24
See reviews for
191
404
119
699
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Not sure about the price because I was invited. The hotel is clean, rooms are large enough and ammenities are the standard ones in this type of luxury hotel.
It is located halfway between the People's Park and the Bund (riverside walk : be aware that there is no such view from the hotel despite the name) which are both within walking distance. East Nanjing Road tube station is about 500m away so if you are not loaded with huge luggage, this is also easily accessible.
Service is not top-notch for this kind of hotel (I am so dumb I could not find the glasses in the cupboard so I called for help and did not get any : my wife who has brain managed to open the secret drawer where the glasses are hidden for me).

I read in previous messages that there was an issue with the smoking ban : I guess this is solved because there was no such smell on our floor (which is common in China) and there is actually no bars and lounges where smoking is allowed (pity, I would have loved to find one).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADAix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear ADAix,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with our friends on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you appreciate our spacious rooms and amenities. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one and we sincerely apologize for the shortfall that you have encountered in regard to your call for assistance to locate the glasses in the room. We will certainly ensure continuous training sessions are conducted to improve on our associates’ shortcomings in terms of room orientation. Meanwhile, we do have a bar called Niche Bar located on Level 2 that allows smoking and features happy hour deal from 5-7pm.

ADAix, we look forward to welcome you back again in your next Shanghai encounter and trust that you will choose to stay with us again. Safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

As expected from the Westin, this hotel is very nice. The rooms seem to be newly renovated so it's very clean and modern. You can easily walk to the old shopping street, the water and other tourist spots. Or, you can walk about five minutes down the road and easily catch the subway which also takes you to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear jpcanada,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's room and location and look forward to welcoming you back to renew your experience at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Weary after a light night arrival in Shanghai, arriving at the Westin was exactly what I needed to get my trip off to a good start, starting with the ATM on-premises so I could pay my taxi fare (since all of the Pudong Airport ATMs were out of service). The room was first-rate, and the hotel had all of the amenities one would expect. The staff were all friendly, helpful and language proficient, and the breakfast was very good, albeit quite pricey at roughly 250 yuan. It is well-located, a short walk to the Haungpu river with its iconic views of the Pudong New Area skyline, as well as People's Park and a good deal of Shanghai's modern shopping areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 415traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear 415traveller,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed our room, service, breakfast offerings and location. We hope that you will once again make plans to visit Shanghai with your friends and look forward to welcoming you back to renew your experience at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonewall, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is a must stay in Shanghai. English spoken through out this property. Our suite was roomy,spotless & included all the necessary items for both business or pleasure travellers . Close to good shopping & the "bund"

Room Tip: For a night view of the lights across the river,ask for a room facing the bund.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Audrey L,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Westin Bund Center and for having taken the time to write about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our hotel a must stay in Shanghai. Please feel free to stay in contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us even more memorable. Travel safe and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, good location, about 5 minutes walk from the Bund, 5 minutes walk to East Nanjing Road subway station and Yuyuan subway station too. The hotel is a nice Westin from the ’90 in terms of architecture. Staff was just ok, the bell staff/ concierge were more friendly that the front desk. The evening buffet at the restaurant was pricey and ok. Free wifi in the room + the lobby. I’ve stayed into nicer Westins worldwide but it’s still a good product of Starwood.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulienF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear JulienF,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with our friends on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you appreciate our hotel and its location. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one. We hope that the prices of our evening buffet will not deter you from staying with us in the future. Wishing you safe travels and hope that we will welcome you back again in your next Shanghai encounter. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times over the last couple of years and find it a really pleasant place to stay. The rooms are very good, the staff are excellent and the breakfast buffet really good. It is especially good when you are able to secure a special offer that includes breakfast. it is worth searching sites to get the best deal.
The hotel is not far from an underground train stop, it is really close to the Bund and so many of the wonderful eateries that Shanghai has to offer
I will stay in this hotel again on future trips to Shanghai

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Geoff R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay with us over the last couple of years! We are delighted to hear that you continue to enjoy your stay and that our room, staff and breakfast buffet makes it even more memorable. We certainly look forward to welcome you back to renew your experience at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Do let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay even better. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#130 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing