We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #32 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This really is a spectacular hotel just in the city centre of Shanghai, next to the river, with beautiful views. Big rooms with big windows and great views to the river. Good spa facilities, great staff. Executive room is the way to go as it includes breakfast and all day access to executive bar with free drinks and snacks. Good value for money!

Room Tip: Take a room with the view to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuriN302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear JuriN302,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for giving us a full score. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay and like our hotel! Please feel free to stay in contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us even more memorable. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    725
    150
    38
    25
See reviews for
202
418
126
727
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel is located near to the bund as its name spoke for itself.
Location is good for me but it really depends on individual.

Room is clean and the free in-room or lobby Wifi is ok speed.
Difficult to watch youtube.

The card reader at the elevator can be a challenge at times.

Breakfast is a great disappointment for the price that I paid.
Not worth it. I would have much better breakfast elsewhere.
Just cross to the opposite side of the road, you will get Pacific Coffee at a faction of the price but with much better coffee. Of course, at Pacific Coffee, there is much less variety.

Indoor swimming pool was closed for renovation to my disappointment.
Fitness centre is separated into two locations but same floor. One location is for the cardio and the other is for weight lifting.

There are convenient stores within 1 minute walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Joe C,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with our friends on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you appreciate our hotel and its location. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one. We hope that the price of our buffet breakfast will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Joe C, we also apologize for the inconvenience caused in regard to the closure of our swimming pool. This is part of our continuous effort to provide the finest facilities to everyone. We have started refurbishment works on our swimming pool and its surrounding area. We expect the project to be completed on or before January 15th, 2014. As an alternative, complimentary shuttle service is provided for guests to enjoy the gym and swimming pool facilities at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai (a 10-minute shuttle ride away).

We hope that you will once again consider staying with us and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay better, please do not hesitate to let us know. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hotel is situated close to the Bund and the main walking /shopping street.The staff are excellent and the breakfast area would please any nationality with its wide range of food. The room was very spacious and luxurious .the breakfast was expensive so try and do a deal with breakfast included.The concierge was very helpful in giving directions and instructions for the taxi drivers in Chinese. The taxi fare to the Maglev station was 60 RMB ( I have been charged 200 RMB in the past )so don't get ripped off.

Room Tip: ask for non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear RossCSydney,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you truly enjoyed our room, service and location. Indeed, we often do have special room offers that would include breakfast. We hope that you will once again make plans to visit Shanghai and look forward to welcoming you back to renew your experience at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed with a small infant. It is located centrally near the Bund. Easy access to many tourist sites. Beautiful hotel, lovely restaurants and gym. However, for all the hype surrounding the breakfast, it was mediocre at best and over priced. There are so many better options in the area. The room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. No concerns about the service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mt188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear m t,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with our friends on TripAdvisor and for giving us a full score. We are happy to hear that you appreciate our hotel and its location. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to hear that your breakfast experience had not been a most fulfilling one. Please feel free to let us know how we can improve and better meet your expectation by sending us an email at Shanghai.Restaurants@westin.com. Wishing you safe travels and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed here recently with a group of friends whilst on a weekend away. It is in a fabulous location and within walking distance to the Bund. The rooms are extremely comfortable with beautiful bedding and linen. Everything has been thought of in the rooms. The staff were really pleasant and would do anything to ensure you enjoyed your stay. Another highlight was the brunch on Sunday with free-flow French champagne, it was certainly worth the time and money. The food was devine at both the brunch and breakfast. The Westin is certainly on my list of hotels to return to, it was recommended by friends and I will certainly return when in Shanghai.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choobsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear choobsta,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are very happy to know that you have truly enjoyed your stay and that our Sunday brunch made it even more memorable. We are also delighted to know that you plan to stay with us again on your next visit to Shanghai. Do let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay even better. Stay well and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice this year and both times the service and room have blown me away. On my recent stay I was upgraded to an executive suite which was perfect. Terry at the front desk and James in the concierge department went above and beyond to look after me. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Durab001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Durab001,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel and for giving us a full score. We are glad that your stay with us was renewing and truly appreciate you for recommending us to others. We are even more delighted that our staff Terry and James made it more memorable. We do hope to be of service to you again and look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. Safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

very friendly and helpful staff. large room with decent facilities. bed is very comfortable. just to make sure you are using the right elevator to get to your room as you cannot get to say rm 1565 if you are using the elevator for smaller numbered rooms. only thing is that you cannot get spg points if you book your room through travel agent, i.e. with discount price...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonghui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Yonghui W,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with our friends on TripAdvisor and for giving us a full score. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was renewing and that you’ve especially enjoyed our heavenly bed. In fact, the hotel has recently completed the replacement of all our heavenly beds with the latest version. Indeed our hotel rooms are located in two towers namely Crown Tower and Grand Tower. To access your room, you must use the elevators located at respective tower accessible either at Lobby Level or at Level 5 (which enhances the security and safety for all guests).

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back again and wish you safe travels. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#35 of 5,069 in Shanghai
2,576 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,936 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#138 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing