We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #35 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel at the end of a Cruise.
Access to the main shopping street (pedestrian part) & the Bund were both about 5 mins walk away in different directions. (approx 2 blocks each way) We stayed as an executive club guest and it was well worth the extra. We got breakfast, wi-fi in the room & light refreshments throughout the day inc tea, coffee, beer, wine etc.
We didn't eat out as there was enough to eat and drink for us as part of this deal. Room was very spacious, clean, quiet and a very comfortable bed. Air con was very quiet and worked well.
Staff were really good and most of the main people spoke good English.
Foyer / Atrium area was very impressive.
Taxi from hotel to Pudong airport was approx 150 Yuan (depends on traffic and it about 45 mins). Need to ask to be on the meter & ideally have a chinese translation of places you want to visit in a taxi ( the hotel will help) inc having the hotels address in chinese.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a direct view of the Bund - but I don't think they would be unrestrict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Holidays4us_73,

Thanks for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you how impress you were with our location, atrium area and Westin Executive Club Lounge especially. The Club Lounge is a place to enjoy some personal time as well as meet with business contact in a peaceful setting. The lounge offers complimentary refreshments during the day and cocktails in the evening. As a Westin Executive Suite guest, we also provide you a mobile phone for use during your stay.

We are indeed happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do let us know if we can be of any assistance in making your next stay even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    733
    151
    38
    26
See reviews for
205
423
128
734
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our short trip to Shanghai. Our Grand Deluxe Room was very spaceous, quliet and had everything that can be needed what really made it feel home. The receptionists were friednly and helpful as well as concierge service. The breakafst was nice - buffet with fried and scrabled eggs, bakon, pancakes, waffles, muesli, yogurts, fruits etc. The only drawback is that the breakfast was served too eraly - at about 9.30 it was already over. Maybe, it's nice for a business trip but for holidays it's a bit tough.
The location is just perfect - 15-min-walk from Waitan and 10 min-walk from the shopping area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asyagrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Asyagrig,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay in The Westin Bund Center Shanghai. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted that you appreciated our location, Grand Deluxe room, the service we offered and the breakfast selection. Normally the breakfast operation time of The Stage Restaurant is from 6.30-10.30am, however, the breakfast on Sunday April 27th was moved to The Crystal Garden Restaurant after 9.30am due to operation demands. Although we did our best to inform our guests by preparing a guest letter in the room explaining this change in timing, we apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused.

We do hope to be of service to you again and please feel free to stay in contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us even more memorable. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just spent two nights here and cannot say a bad word about this hotel.
After a long journey, the large comfortable bed was most welcome as was the spacious bathroom(one tip, be careful with the shower mixer!) and as long as you are fairly adventurous with regards to trying Asian/Chinese dishes ( Why would you be in China if you are not??) then there is an excellent choice of good quality breakfast dishes to choose from. There is also a very enjoyable English/American option for the less adventurous.
This hotel is very well located for the Bund and provides very friendly service, although coffee service is a little slower than you might expect at your local Costa( coffee is not that popular in China where the focus is rightly placed upon their excellent teas) but the product is very good when you do eventually receive it.
If you are looking for somewhere close by to dine, walk out of the front door and turn left, walk down the road for a couple of hundred yards and you will see a building offering Peking Duck as its speciality. The restaurant is on the third floor , but do not be put off, it is an excellent restaurant with friendly staff and truly superb Peking duck which is presented to you at your table- first, the crispy skin, then the thinly sliced meat with pancakes, then a soup made from the stock. Other dishes are available but the duck is THE thing to order. .Pre-booking might be wise, but they fitted our group of four in despite being very busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streetdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Streetdragon,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for giving us a full score. Both the team and I are thrilled to read your wonderful review. We are even more delighted to know that you appreciated our location, Westin signature Heavenly Bed and breakfast selection. Since you like Chinese dining, please allow me to introduce you our new Chinese Tea Cuisine at The Crystal Garden.

Do let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next trip to Shanghai even more memorable. Wishing you safe travels. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lijiang, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed at the Westin Bund Center on several occasions and each time, the hotel manages to exceed my expectations. This was probably my 8th or 9th visit and the Receptionist Tiffany was amazingly courteous, professional and friendly. These are the people, of course with an experienced and highly capable General Manager at the helm, make this hotel to be one of the most popular and sought after properties in Shanghai. I have used several Westin hotels, in China and elsewhere but The Bund is my most favorite.
I thank the management and the team for taking care of their clients with such good care and will always be one of the most loyal guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai again and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted to read your wonderful review and for giving us a full score. We are glad that your stay with us was renewing and enjoyable. I have shared your feedback with all of our associates especially Tiffany, and we are honored to be service of you.
It is indeed highly praised that you regarded our hotel as your home away from home. Thank you again for your continued support. Meanwhile, do feel free to let us know how we can make your next visit even more memorable and look forward to your next stay at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My companion and I stayed at this hotel two nights in April. The hotel was faultless. Everything was admirable. The room and the bathroom was very spacious. The bathtub had a very nice view of the city. Breakfast was very extensive with Chinese and European food. Location was also good for our purposes. We didn't use the public transport and used only the taxis. It was quite close to the river and we enjoyed very much walking along the river with all the buildings lit up. I would certainly stay at this hotel again in my next visit to Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cintemani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear cintemani,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for giving us a full score. It is always delighted for us to know that you enjoyed your stay experience with us. We are also pleased that how impressed you were with our guest room, breakfast buffet selection and convenient location.

I am also thrilled that you would stay with us again when your trip bring you back to Shanghai. We look forward to be of service to you again! Please to let us know if we could do anything to make your next stay even better. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Best thing about this hotel is the location - just a couple of blocks from the Bund. We stayed here on our first night in Shanghai and it was such a lovely surprise to turn the corner onto the Bund and see all the amazing buildings all lit up. Rooms and facilities are nice but a little bland. We booked in for the Sunday brunch at The Stage which was super indulgent and a lot of fun. Our waiting staff were lovely. All great - just not as special as some of the other hotels we stayed at in Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Polcha,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay experience with us. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our location and Sunday Brunch. Our hotel has long been a favorite choice in Shanghai, and we pride ourselves on maintaining the hotel facilities; the hotel has recently completed the replacement of Heavenly Beds in all guest rooms, and the refurbishment of Westin Workout. We always strive to make every guest feel better when they leave the hotel than when they arrived.

Please do feel free to let us know how we can make your next visit better and we look forward to your next stay at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel itself is wonderful, with great food, lovely service and meets all expectation of a 5 star hotel.
The big plus however is the location, you really can walk to almost everything including public transport.
The Concierge are fantastic and have great tips on shopping or eating like a local.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riding-Giants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Riding-Giants,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review with us and for giving us a full score. It is really happy for us to know that you appreciated our hotel in terms of our food, service and especially the location. Our concierge team is also delighted to hear that the information they offered made your stay even more memorable. The whole team are look forward to be of service to you again and welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#39 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,621 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,975 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#56 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,010 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing