We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel at a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #32 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel at a great location”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. The place is located conveniently near the Bund and has a lot of good options to eat within walking distance of the hotel. The staff is polite, courteous and very eager to help. The rooms are clean and spacious. The free Wifi works great.The food at the restaurant is fairly ok - wish they were more options for vegetarians

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnePiece21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear OnePiece21,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for sharing your feedback with us.We are happy to know you enjoyed the stay and appreciating our conveniently location, courteous staff and room cleanliness. Besides, I would like to introduce The Crystal Garden on the fifth floor, which offers a vegetarian menu with tailored dishes.

We do hope to be of service to you again and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    725
    150
    38
    25
See reviews for
202
418
126
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Westin Bund for 4 nights whilst in Shanghai on business. I had a very late check in which wasn't a problem for the hotel and my welcome when I arrived was very freindly and polite. On check in I was upgraded to a suite room which was a nice bonus. The room itself had a separate lounge and bedroom and was fantastic. It looked great and was extremely clean. The hotel also has great facilities with a great pool and by far the best gym I have visited in any hotel. Whilst I stayed at the hotel I had breakfast, lunch and dinner at most of the restaurants at the hotel and they were all excellent. The breakfast offering is particularly good. The hotel is a short stroll from the bund and whilst I didn't use the hotel for sightseeing its location does seem to be pretty convenient for doing so.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Andrew,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The team and I are delighted to read your wonderful review and for giving us a full score. The food we offer in every restaurants in the hotel contain SuperFoods Rx™ ingredients, which specially chosen to fuel your body with nutrients and energy.
We always try to make each guest feel better than when you arrive! Please feel free to stay in contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us even more memorable. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.
Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai for 3 nights on a business trip. The hotel stands up to the Westin global reputation, and has impeccable rooms and great service. The hotel is at a short walk from the Bund and Nanjing Road, making it close to many major attractions in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand_Dureja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Anand_Dureja,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai for your business trip. Thanks as well for appreciating the room and service we offered. We do hope to be of service to you again and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.
Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a fine hotel a short distance from the Bund riverfront. Thanks to poor arrangements by our tour operator, we arrived at 3 a.m. Counting that as our first night, we stayed two nights. The room was excellent, consisting of a living area separated from the bedroom and a large bathroom. Everything worked well in our room. Included western-style buffet breakfast (with special order chefs) was excellent; there was a separate Chinese breakfast buffet. Some seating was near the spectacular center lobby of the hotel. Front desk service was fine.

Room Tip: We were on a low floor. Higher floors would be even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear nedtraveler,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Bund Center Shanghai and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. The team and I are happy to know that you enjoyed the stay with us and appreciated the breakfast selection especially. Our breakfast selection at The Stage offers a variety of Chinese and Western meals which include nutrient-rich and delicious SuperFoodsRx™.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.Please feel free to stay in contact with us should you feel that we can be of any assistance in making your next stay with us even more memorable. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely hotel. Beautiful rooms, excellent service. Checkin was easy and the receptionist explained everything about the hotel, restaurants amenities etc. . This is so simple yet most hotels omit this step and it's my pet peeve.

Staff couldn't be more professional. Food was good. About 5 minutes walk away from the busy bund, so it was quieter than being in the crowds and traffic noise.

Room Tip: High floors for q quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casamoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear casamoir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us and for giving us a full score. I am truly delighted to hear that you appreciated hotel rooms as well as the service we offered. I will share your review with all of the associates.
Do please feel free to let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay even better. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.
Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly fine, with comfortable rooms, good gym, convenient location, helpful service, but I was expecting more, but the design of the room is weird and does not provide total bathroom privacy, if you are sharing the room. The lobby reminded me of "an over the top" Las Vegas hotel.

The external building design is pretty cool with a palm tree motive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Laura,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay experience with us. It is disappointed for us to learn that the design of bathroom failed to fulfill your expectation. Your valuable feedback is essential for our improvements. We hope that the incident will not deter you from staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back. Safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I thought we can see the view on the bundt from our room but it is block by other building even though the hotel itself is call Westin on the bundt and is still take a few bloks walk to the bundt. The area is quiet and no restaurant around unless walk a few blocks. Disappointed on the location and its name but overall Westin hotel is one of my favourite.

Room Tip: None of the room have the view of the bundt because is block by other building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniegmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Anniegmy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is disappointed for us to hear that we failed to fulfill your expectation in regard to the room view. We apologize for the shortfalls you experienced. If you would like to have a room with uninterrupted view of Bund, please feel free to contact us in advance to book an executive Suite on 20th-25th floor. In addition, the Bund is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Your feedbacks are essential to our efforts for continually refining and improving. We hope that the incident will not deter you from staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back. Safe travels and stay well.
Yours sincerely,

Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#35 of 5,069 in Shanghai
2,573 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,935 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#136 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Starwood APAC, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing