We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“China trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #30 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“China trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. It was a wonderful experience in that even though you're in China, you have a totally "western" experience in the hotel. Everyone was polite and could speak a little in English, just to be able to answer your questions. If they didn't understand the question, they would get someone who could.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Linda B,
Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience with us and for giving us a full score. We are delighted to read that your stay with us was renewing. We always strive to make every guest feel better when they leave than when they arrived. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you safe travels. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    701
    148
    36
    24
See reviews for
190
404
119
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

I've stayed in so many five star hotels all over the world--- see my previous reviews--- the Westin Bund is truly among the very best! Everything about it is first rate! Clean, fresh rooms with lovely bathroom amenities! The breakfast buffet is unlike any I have ever eaten at!!!! Don't miss it! The elevators were fast. The staff were very helpful and friendly! It is walking distance to the Bund!
Stay here and I bet you will love it as much as we did!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear lindz3,
Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience with us and for giving us a full score. We are honored that you have placed us in your 'very best' hotel list. Thank you!
We are also glad to know that you appreciated our room and its amenities, our extensive breakfast buffet that also offers items that contains SuperFoods Rx ingredients, and more importantly our helpful and friendly staff.
We hope to welcome you back again soon. Please do let us know how we can make your return stay more memorable. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just had 2days there and couldn't fault the service .Everyone went the extra mile to make sure we were looked after.Location is easy walking to Bund,Nanjing Rd,Museums etc.We flew out late and they extended the late book out time with no questions.Breakfast was a feast to behold with food types from all over.The Chinese section was particularly authentic

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Chris R,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and for giving us a full score. We are delighted to hear that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and that our team made sure that you were well looked after. Indeed, we always strive to make every guest feel better when they leave than when they arrived.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and do please let us know how we can make your next stay even better. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed there for a weekend end stay. The room got upgraded to Suite by 300RMB extra cost.
Nice view, and nice room at such a heart area of Shanghai. The launge is a bit so so, maybe cos its weekend.
The only weakness is the cleaness, we found the hair of previous in bathroom and on the bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 紫百合YSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear 紫百合YSL,
Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience with us and for giving us a full score. We are delighted to know that your stay with us was a renewing one. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to hear that your experience had not been most fulfilling and we sincerely apologize for the shortfall in regard to the level of cleanliness of your suite. Your valuable feedback has been brought to the attention of our director of housekeeping to address with his team and improve on. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back and wish you safe travels. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Excellent location, close to the boardwalk, and a major picture taking location.. Shanghai is a very up and coming city.. All services in the hotel are top of the line, good dining and bar services.. Definitely recommend..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicorneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear tropicorneta,
Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience with us and for giving us a full score. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for recommending us to others.

It was our pleasure to have looked after you and hope to welcome you again at The Westin Bund Center. Do let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay even better. Wishing you safe travels. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Location is (almost) perfect. You're not right on the Bund but you're a block or two away. The service was flawless at check-in, in the lounge or at the restaurants.

Since I am a SPG member we also used the lounge on the 5th floor. The views are fantastic and the setting is really nice. It is probably one of the nicest lounge I've seen so far. The service was great too.

We were upgraded to a larger room which was very clean and pretty large. The bathroom was obnoxiously huge which I don't mind, but would prefer some of that real estate to be in the actual bedroom.

I've stayed in a lot of Starwood properties in Shanghai and this is probably my favorite!

The breakfast buffet was very large and well maintained (the hotel was busy). We also dined one night: the food was very simple but very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Marc V,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you are happy with our location, our flawless service, our breakfast offering and our executive lounge. We also thank you for being a loyal SPG member and for choosing our hotel as your favorite in Shanghai!

Marc V, we are honored to have looked after you and look forward to your next stay. Do let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay even better. Wishing you safe travels. Stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Second time to Shanghai and second time to Westin.
The Hotel is really centrally located very close to Yu Garden and Bund.
Amazing breakfast and availability of a lot of restaurant. They also organize buffet dinner.
The SpA is a must try one of the nest chains all over Asia and Gym and swimming pool the same.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinShanghai, General Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Alice S,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay experience with us and for giving us a full score. We are honored to have looked after you again and happy to read that you appreciate our central location, the Banyan tree spa located in the hotel premise, our gym and indoor swimming pool, and our amazing breakfast offering.

We sincerely hope you will choose to stay with us again on your third Shanghai visit. Please do feel free to let us know how we can make your return stay even more memorable! Wishing you safe travels and stay well.

Yours sincerely,
Andreas Trauttmansdorff
General Manager
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Property: The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#139 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing