We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice centrally located hotel with high flying colors and hip hop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Ranked #39 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Good central hotel with a lot of music in the loby, stylish bathrooms and rooms, spacious lobby, excellent food, i was on a conference and liked the hotel, the staff is friendly and accomodative, the opera in the lobby was good, they have a nice gym and a good suana. i would'nt mind staying in the hotel again, its nice and good. Travellers with children can enjoy amminities as well as there is a lot of spacious areas where children can play. for business travellers yes its the place. Good lighting in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeeshankarimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2010

We had the chance to spend 3 nights in Nov 2010. Location of this hotel is quite good. In Shanghai you can get a cab almost everywhere since there are tons. The closest subway st is a 10 min walk. We ate at night, a little expensive but not as bad. Internet service is 25 USD per 24 hrs, so be prepared to pay this amount. Staff is great, they did a great job. The lobby is gorgeous! Breakfast is very nice and complete. We had a great time.

The room was perfect and had a great view. Very roomy with an independent room and business desk with a fax machine which I never used. In the closet we found umbrellas which was quite good for rainy days.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

This is one of star wood hotel chain and I really enjoyed my days in there. It was very easy to get to the down towns (approx. 20~30 mins by car) and nice restaurants as well. On the top of it, their rooms were great great execellent and its view from the room was also fantastic. (Stayed on 21F).
I mostly used the Executive lounge which is on the 5th fl. and they have great dimsums and nice fresh fruits. One of the most incredible thing is Ban Yan Tree spa though their price is also one of the highest but i have to admit that I really had very relaxing time with greatest service ever.
What else you care? Nice view, good service, great foods, easy traffic, cozy bars..
Just go here. Trust them.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seouller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I had a great time in Shanghai and this hotel was right in the center of it all. It is walkable to the Yu Gardens and the Bund. Fairly close (4 blocks) to the 2 and 10 subway lines. Cab right from the Shanghai station was 20 Yuan. The only draw back was that there was not a shuttle to the Pudong Airport and taking a taxi would cost about 150 yuan.

The rooms are not big, but good enough space for two people. I am a SPG member so got the SPG floor. There were four bottles of water and fruits in the room complimentary for the guests ( a very nice touch). Was also given free wireless internet access for 24 hours.

Really like the hotel and lives up to the Westin standards.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank venicegirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

During my stay of four days, an externel hard drive and USB mobile charger was stolen from the room. After putting up the issue with hotel they said we will check but as expected they came back saying they dont suspect anybody from their staff took it, they asked me to go to police station to lounge the complain and that is what they could do. I dont recommend this hotel for stay as this incidence although was not high costing it would be very troublesome if any of your critical instrument, like usb or any such thing is stolen it will be a great trouble.
So be careful when you want to choose a hotel in shanghai

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank prafulnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie_Cao, Manager at The Westin Bund Center Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

We are very disappointed to read about your experience outlined in your on-line posting. Despite our sincere efforts including immediate assistance from senior management, proactive contact with and involvement of the local police to investigate your claims, the subsequent offer to accompany you to the police station to file an official complaint which, you chose to decline, we have been unable to find evidence of wrong doing by any associate in the hotel. The hotel has conducted an extensive review of CCTV files along with one on one interviews with all associates identified as having had access to your room for regular housekeeping duties. We are encouraged to learn however that the cash which was also contained in the bag along with your charger and hard drive was not touched. The housekeeping department has found a white 1.8GB thumb drive and a white T-shirt when cleaning your room after your departure and if these items are yours, we will gladly arrange for them to be delivered to a mailing address of your choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We just got back from a tour of China, and started off the journey with a stay at the Westin Bund in Shanghai. It's a beautiful hotel, rooms very nicely appointed though ours was a bit small - though that was expected for one of the world's largest cities. The bed and linens were excellent - very comfy and a great way to break our jet lag. The breakfast buffet was resplendent, including a broad range of choices both eastern and western. They even had muesli! We also had a dinner there, which was also excellent; great food, great service. The location is also pretty opportune - just a short walk to the promenade overlooking the Bund, or a short walk in the other direction to sites such as old sections of Shanghai and the Shanghai Museum.

Overall the experience was a definite keeper; if we're ever back, we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueBearBoulderCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Pay more for upgraded room if you can afford.........worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#51 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,150 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bund Center Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bund Center Shanghai

Address: No.88 Henan Middle Road, Bund Center, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#151 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £110 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Bund Center Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai is a city with a colorful past, a fast-paced present and a promising future. It is a fascinating city for every visitor. The Bund is a collection of relics of the past that imbues Shanghai with its vigorous energy today. In the middle of this all is our hotel, The Westin Bund Center, Shanghai.On level one, we have our lobby lounge, Heavenlies, serving fresh coffee and beverages all day, and The Stage offering an all international buffet. Also located on level one is our fresh deli shop, Treats, which features delicious sandwiches and take-away beverages. On level two, we have our sleek bar, Niche, open in evenings, and our Italian restaurant, Prego, open for lunch and dinner. Finally, we have our specialty restaurant, Crystal Garden, on level five serving Chinese, Japanese and Thai specialties. Our Spa & Fitness facilities are spread out over level three and five, combined by a beautiful spiral staircase. For secretarial services, you can visit our business center on level three. We provide guests with complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Bund Center Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Westin Hotel Shanghai
Westin Shanghai
Westin Hotel Bund Center
Shanghai Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing