We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel restaurent is not a fast food shop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Ranked #78 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A Hotel restaurent is not a fast food shop”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This deserves to be five stars with its impressive lobby, (reasonably) attentive service and lovely, well apportioned bedrooms that ooze upmarket character - a welcome change from the rather sterile rooms more commonly found. The complimentary cookies box was a good touch. The bed was especially inviting and I enjoyed a good sleep.

The downside was the breakfast buffet which felt like I had walked into a food court at the height of lunchtime in some downtown shopping mall or was it feeding time at the zoo.

The problem was twofold, too many people but also staff who, as a result, were too fast and uncoordinated. I lost my seat twice! No sooner did I go up to the buffet than the waitress was showing another person to my table despite it being pretty clear that I was still residing, but no problem, she removed my the offending glass of orange and napkin – twice! On my third table, the person next to me took his eyes of his main course for a few moments, and instantly it was cleared. He swivled round in vain to retrieve it but didn’t dare seek a replacement as his seat would have gone. The Chef wanted to be super quick so my request for two fried eggs was so rushed he broke the yolks on both and it looked more scrambled than fried. I did speak to the Manager and they kindly did not charge me for breakfast, but this is five star hotel not a zoo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Distribution Assistant Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Simon C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us. I am honored to be your hotel of choice in Shanghai!

We will do rigorous training in place to prevent the situation that you describe. We would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you and better understand.

We hope that the incident will not deter you from staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back. Wishing you safe travels and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    335
    182
    44
    21
See reviews for
32
41
64
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the hotel stay in shanghai with great room service and great breakfast buffet with handmade Chinese noodles soup and European cheeses and beautiful garden setting the hotel bed was so comfortable and they shined my shoes in a very short time also the bellman was very polite and friendly and helpful with directions and the pool and spa was spectacular with views of shanghai very classy hotel and great first impression of shanghai thanks to the hotel staff

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Distribution Assistant Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Michael B,

Thank you for your kind review of Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have had such a wonderful time with us,I have shared your comments with our colleagues and they are very motivated by your positive feedback. Hope we can welcome you and your family back before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My colleague helped to book this hotel for me. I just have to say it was the best Sheraton I have ever stayed in Shanghai. Not only overall experiences, but also services standard. I happen to held a 10-people meeting on the 27 executive floor. I was treated better then I can say from the very start of my meeting. The cocktail and coffee break were set up perfectly and staff always being stand by with very good English communication skills. You can enjoy a very good view about the entire Hongqiao area from 27 floor. Also my room is really decorated like a royal Chinese traditional style. It fancy me a lot. I will choose this hotel again for sure for my next trip to shanghai.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Distribution Assistant Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear DD930,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us. I am honored to be your hotel of choice in Shanghai!

We are delighted to learn about your appreciation of our high level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another fantastic experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed between May 24th to May 27th, 2014.
The staff at reception special Charlene and Alex were great. Also want to thank Ms. Juliet Zhu for her excellent help.
I have stayed at this location on numerous occasions in the last 12 months as recently as February 2014.
I highly recommend this hotel, rooms are clean, food is good the star are exceptional.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Charles T,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay experience with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to know that our staff and services help to create a comfortable stay for you. Sincerely welcome you back with us to another pleasurable experience! Life is better when shared!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good location impressed me strongly, the 20-year-old hotel is still fully attractive in the middle of shopping malls, business buildings and transportation. The room is small but sweet, nice decorations let it seem good enough. The last time I stayed in 21st floor (SPG floor) which front dest staff made upgrade for me, it was quite beautiful and commanded a panoramic view of park and elevated highway.

Room Tip: South side is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Distribution Assistant Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Fanny Z,

Thanks you choosing Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are truly delighted to know that you appreciated the hotel location.

We look forward to welcome you back soon. Do let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next trip to Shanghai even more memorable. Wishing you safe travels. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have stayed here many times over the years, and always enjoy it. This is an older Sheraton, still Ok, but rooms can be somewhat small and not super-luxe. However, staff has always been excellent, and breakfast buffet is outstanding. Location is also good if you wish to be in Hongqiao (close to airport). Luxury shopping mall about two blocks away, and many restaurants within easy walk. Tip: rather than minibar, go to small market about 200 yards away and buy soft drinks, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Distribution Assistant Manager at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Maurice H,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay experience with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to know that our staff help to create a comfortable stay for you. Sincerely welcome you back with us to another pleasurable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I chose this hotel because it was a Sheraton property and relatively close to Hong Qiao airport.
The property is tired, the rooms are well worn. The restaurant is way overpriced compared to other comparable hotels in the area. The staff was at best inattentive.
Choose a different hotel, you will be better off.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredfarfromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheraonShanghai_HQ, Online Specialist at Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear FredfarfromHome,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay experience with us at Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel. We are glad to know that our staff and services help to create a comfortable stay for you. Meanwhile, the food-pricing issue will be delivered to F&B department for future adjustments. Sincerely welcome you back with us for a better stay experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#88 of 5,105 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
Rainbow Hotel Shanghai
#149 of 5,105 in Shanghai
537 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Gubei Garden
Shanghai Gubei Garden
#196 of 5,105 in Shanghai
105 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel

Property: Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel
Address: No.5 Zunyi South Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200336, China (Formerly Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#74 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#76 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 587
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between downtown Shanghai and Hongqiao International Airport, with easy access to Pudong International Airport via the city-wide freeway system, Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel provides a central location for travelers to meet and connect. The hotel boasts 587 warm and artfully designed guestrooms, including 100 superb suites known for their individually selected design and home ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hongqiao Jin Jiang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Shanghai
Shanghai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing