We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #24 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Traveling for business, it's one of the best choice for Shanghai. I had a corporate fare and considering this the value for money was Outstanding. Executive lounge included, any type of facilities inside the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhStrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our best service, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    283
    88
    25
    18
See reviews for
86
106
53
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Perfect setting for a business trip. Practical, very good buffet-restaurant on ground level, excellent japanese restaurant on first floor. What a pity I had no time to test the SPA. You don't get the perfect Shanghai-view (to the Bund-skyline), yet you're close to Nanjing road to explore China's view of a consumer society. And the construction works around the hotel should be finished one day ...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip. Also really nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our Spa, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I was surprised at the great rate we received to start. Room was excellent. Work out faciltity was more than adequate. Breakfast was included and had one of the nicest selections I have seen anywhere around the world.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlToyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can't wait to welcome you back and experience our best service, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Four seasons is a good hotel. But with the prices I expect a little more than "good". The room was very nice, the upkeep of the room excellent. The gym was OK, but occasionally lacked towels and/or cold water. While I was in Shanghai the weather was beautiful, the terrace outside the pool was "out of service", no sunbeds, no chairs avalable. I went out anyway and sat on one of the wooden beds, with no mattres. I could see the poolguard observe me, but where was the offer of a mattress, or even asking if I need a drink or something? It seems like the chinese did as they were told, but had not really understood the consept of service to its guests. Food was OK, but not great, except for the wonderful breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently. Please accept our sincerest apology for the lack of Four Seasons service at the Health Club during your stay. We pride ourselves on personalized service and your experience is unfortunately far below our usual high standards. Your valued feedback has been shared with our Health Club staff for immediate improvement. Also really nice to hear you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

To be clear, I stayed at this hotel on business and was not paying myself. Yay!

Everything is fine and dandy with nice rooms and excellent service. I really have no idea about it's position as I only had half a day to explore. The Shanghai Museum is about a 20 minute walk and worth the walk.

If I have an issue, it is the food. The breakfast is fine without ever threatening to be original. It was the in-room dining that failed to impress. One evening I ordered fried chicken with lemon sauce. It was fried chicken with lemon sauce and not much of it. No rice. No vegetables. Wary, the following night I ordered wok fried vegetables. Does a bunch of Bok Choy count as vegetables? I think not.

In short, I shall not return.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and your precious comments. Please accept our sincerest apology for in-room dining experience not meeting your expectations. Your comments already shared with our Food and Beverage team for further review and improvement as appropriate.

We pride ourselves on personalized service and your experience is unfortunately far below our usual high standards. Our location is perfect or both business and leisure. We hope that will not stop you choose to staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

The staff is amazing. Concierge was extremely helpful. Our rooms was big and the room amenities were fantastic. My child love the kids amenity - Well Done. Four Seasons knows how pamper kids. Not to forget the breakfast buffet - Unbelievable.

Thank You ALL
Esra

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esrabayru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Location and staff made this a wise choice for a stay in Shanghai. Deluxe room was more than a comfortable experience. The staff was courteous and the food at the Breakfast Buffet was quite tasty. The Spa and gym facilities were top notch. The Concierge staff and front desk staff were very accomodating. No complaints to offer- would stay there again without hesistation.

Room Tip: High Floor Deluxe was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLDTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasons_Shanghai, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and happy with our great location during your business trip.

We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely yours,
The Public Relations Team at Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#4 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Address: 500 Weihai Road, Shanghai 200041, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an , Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#174 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Shanghai
Shanghai Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing