We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Ranked #96 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I booked a standard room for a private trip , when I checked in, there were no more standard rooms left, and I got upgraded to Executive club, with a big sweet room in 11th floor, great view to the stadium.

The room is very quite, usually the noisy from aircondition can be a problem, and the traffic from the road, but Regal is perfect.

Breakfast is also satisfaction. both western and easten food, nothing to complain.

All in all, a high level 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nair78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Commentator: What a pleasant caption! Thank you so much! You know that around October, most hotels in Shanghai experience top occupancy which is music to the ears of hoteliers. Instead of refusing booking requests, most of us keep higher graded room categories in reserve and in the event of demand, we upgrade like the airlines do. We are delighted that it worked out for you and your wife to stay at an EXECUTIVE CLUB room on level 11 with a floor area of some 45 to 50 m2. These rooms at 2 levels are indeed impressive and comfortable; they are ideal for business and to receive guests. We are very delighted that you also benefitted from our buffet breakfast with Asian and international fare. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    216
    88
    19
    5
See reviews for
23
66
44
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I attended the fair which took place in the Shanghai Stadium in September 2013. Overall, it is not super great but it was okay, nothing to complain about.
Subway station is right in front of the stadium, around 10 mins of walking from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Commentator: Yes, if you do business in Xu Hui or on the stadium fair grounds, our hotel location is ideal! When you reserve a PREMIER ROOM, the floor area with some 36m2 and the views on the upper levels are substantially above Shanghai Standards. SOHO Cabins on the lower floor levels are smaller and lower priced; they are ideal just to spend a night at a 4-star hotel at a great price.Yes, Shanghai Metro maintains 2 subway stations right on the sports compound. One station is named SHANGHAI STADIUM and is located 4 walking minutes from the hotel main entrance. The second station, SHANGHAI INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, takes about 5 minutes to walk to. You have a choice of 3 Metro lines: 1, 4, and 11. A trip to the Bund or to Pudong costs just 4 CNY or about 0.70 US Cents or 700 KRW. For luxury or 5-star expectations, we recommend top hotels in the city center. You will have to pay about 4 to 5 times the rate you pay with us though. Thank you for rating our hotel 3 times with 4 bullets or 80% satisfaction. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I spent two days in this hotel and hope never stay there again. I did not have a comfortable stay there. The night i got there, room was very cold. I asked for engineer who checked the air conditioner and found it ok. I was told Max temp is 22c and If i need warmer, i would better turn the conditioner off! Then there were not enough mirror in the room. Also there was no plug for hair drier inside bathroom. That i found difficult to deal with as i was there for business and had to get well dressed and styled every day. Another problem was taxi. Each time i asked for taxi, i had to wait long. The other problem was location of hotel. It was located in city center and middle of heavy traffic. I reached some of my appointments with delay. I did not find this hotel qualified for foure star. To business people i do not recommend it at all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VidaEsmaeilzsdegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Commentator: We appreciate your comments and thank you for sharing them with us. Shanghai experienced this year its hottest and longest summer and the cooling came abruptly in tandem with a major cyclone along the South China coast. You seem having had such a quick-chill feeling and we understand your reaction. For most citizens here, 22 degrees is considered to be a rather moderate temperature that does not require heating, hence we have not switched our systems to heating mode. At 5-star hotels you mostly have the option to cooling and eating at the same time. You will pay surely several times the room rate you paid with us for such augmentation of comfort. Coming from a hotter climate zone it may be worth paying for such supplement though. Our rooms are provided with two mirrors and each bathroom is provided with sockets for whatever device you may need. We offer detached hair blowers as an amenity in the bedroom. For safety reasons sockets are mounted at about 165 cm from floor level i. e. considerably above the vanity top level you may be used to at other parts of the world. We are aware of the occasional lack of taxis. While we installed right at the hotel entrance a digital screen with a call taxi button that connects the hotel with the contracted call taxi company, we do rely on the cabbies to heed our calls, and at times during peak demand periods, they may follow their very own priorities. On such instances, we recommend hailing just any passing-by cab at curb side of Ling Ling Road. However, if you have to be dressed up for important meetings, we recommend that you book a taxi with the hotel Concierge well before the time you need it. This way you can ensure a cabby is waiting for you, instead of the other way round. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have been coming to Shanghai to attend the tennis tournament since 2008 except for last year.
This is my second stay with this hotel(10-15Oct). The first time was 2009 with a great offer and the breakfast buffet in the hotel was excellent.
For my first night here this year, the check-in was pretty efficient and staff was generally polite and helpful. However as I returned in the evening, I asked the concierge if there was restaurant nearby and he said no. I walked around the nearby area and I found that there were two restaurants that operate 24 hours, "XinyiDai" and McDonalds. This is quite a disappointment because concierge should be knowledgeable of these information.
The bed and pillow was comfortable and housekeeping are usually efficient in response to any requests. The service was pretty satisfactory from all staff for the other nights I stayed.
The hotel is extremely near to the drop off point of the Shanghai Rolex Masters shuttle and the Shanghai Stadium Railway Station. If you are a big tennis fan like me and would like to select a hotel for the tournament in the coming years. This will be your choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyL60992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Commentator: Thank you for your strong caption and your insightful description of your experience!
We sincerely appreciate that you are a return-guest and we like your very favorable comments regarding our Breakfast Buffet. Yes, we keep on improving its choice and quality on a daily basis. We are also delighted that you liked the swift check-in, the comfortable pillows, the efficient housekeeping services and our teams at large. As to the Concierge proficiency, we will follow up what must be improved. In general, if you make reservations with the hotel directly, we send a confirmation letter and an attachment to inform you where we are, which facilities, amenities and services we offer. We state the locations of public venues, their operating hours and how to contact us. On an overview table, we reflect all room types, their floor areas and floor levels, their amenities and included services. We list nearby fast food restaurants from McDonald’s to Burger King and Starbucks, their distance from the hotel in meters and in walking distance minutes. We state 8 respectable specialty restaurants in the neighborhood and close-by convenience shopping, as well as retail malls in the larger neighborhood. We also list area hospitals, major office building in this part of the city, embassies and consulates. Our GPS Code is N 31.181279054748757 E 121.44064719545372 and you surely find us and much more on Google Earth. Welcome back to the ROLEX MASTERS and more often - just to experience phenomenal Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 9th to 12 October 2013 and held an annual event in the Chinese Restaurant, the Peak.I have been staying in this hotel since 2005 and keep coming back since. This is not without reason. I come here 3 times a year, minimum. My company holds an important activity once a year also in this hotel. The rooms in the Club floor are nicely designed and furnished; so as the rooms in the lower floor. The amenities are provided in more than adequate quantity and in good quality. The cafe where the breakfast is served is also of good standard, with a great variety of choices of food and drinks. The event held in the restaurant, the Peak was, as expected, a success. The staff are more than happy to serve and to meet our needs. Our guests are very happy with the event, as a whole. The staff from all department, from Reservation, Reception counter, Cafe, Restaurant, Chamber maids are friendly and efficient. This is a reflection on the hotel management's training and educations on their staff.

The only complaint I have is the availability of taxi, although a subway station is nearby. The hotel has just installed "One-Button-Cab-Calling" service. I have, however, doubt in its usefulness, especially during peak hours and in the evening. Another small short coming is the attitude of the telephone operator, I did have some minor difficult with one of them.

On the whole, this is a fine hotel with good facilities. The staff members are friendly and efficient. No matter one is there for a holiday, business or relaxation, it is a good choice.

Will I come back to this hotel again? Of course, I have been doing that since 2005.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the field of the stadium are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuasiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Commentator: Thank you so much for a superb caption and a very detailed assessment of the hotel’s facilities, amenities and services! There is no better way to rate a hotel than a guest’s DECISION TO RETURN! You have been doing just that for several times per year over the past 8 years – that speaks in itself for itself! We are delighted that you specially like THE PEAK restaurant and our CLUB FLOOR ROOMS and the L’Occitane bathroom cosmetics that we serve in that room category. You are absolutely on the dot when you describe the smaller rooms that face the stadium; we call them SOHO CABINS in line with general living habits of Chinese neighborhood business owners who operate shop on the ground floor and sleep upstairs. Of course that room type costs about half the rate that you pay on the Club Floor. We also appreciate your assessment of the Buffet Breakfast that we keep improving with more daily choices and more frequent alternatives. Yes, the spirit of the staff is good and keeps on getting better with TripAdvisor comments such as yours; most are eager to show their genuine positive side as well as their growing empowerment to strive for full consumer satisfaction. We continue to train and provide cross exposure with other Regal Hotels in Hong Kong and in Mainland China. You pointed out that entry level Operators always need particular training that include language skills and knowledge of who is who, what is what and where, when and how are things in and about the hotel. We are working at it! Yes, the taxis do not always heed our priorities – we are also working on their level of commitment. If I am not mistaken, you are Professor at National University of Singapore, and of course, your expectation levels for hospitality and education must be very high. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at near the Shanghai stadium and a metro station with easy connections downtown. The club level rooms are modern and comfortable, worth the slight premium in price, which is a great value nonetheless. The breakfast included in my rate was excellent. Overall great stay, great service, great room!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mykola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Commentator: What a favorable summary caption; how nice of you! Yes, two Metro stations are situated within the periphery of the hotel and stadium compound. Within a 2-minute walk, you reach lines 2 that brings you right down to Lu Jia Zui on the Bund, and the most prominent spots that are a “must see when in Shanghai”. The fare covers just 4 RMB or about 65 cents. Compare that with a rate of some 4 to 5 times the room rate you would pay for a quality hotel on the Bund or in Pudong! We assume that this point might be the core of your comments when you refer to GREAT VALUE. The hotel’s architecture warrants that a number of rooms on the stadium side of the guestroom corridor have no views; we refer to them as Soho Cabins. They are of great value for those who only wish to sleep at a 4-star hotel. However, you stayed at a Club Level room with a good view over the city; such rooms are of course preferable for a longer stay. We are delighted that you liked what you selected and of course: “Welcome back!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here twice as i was working a short walk away. Excellent rooms, very modern and well presented and decent food from a choice of restaurants Red rooster bar 50yards away is also excellent. Found the laundry service VERY expensive though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Commentator: Thank you for your objective review! Yes, the location can be excellent for visitors who are active in Shanghai’s Xiu Hui District or who prefer a higher value for a more moderate price. Metro lines 2 and 4 provide easy access to the extensive Shanghai network at the periphery of the hotel compound within a 2-minute walking distance. When you can trade leisure time with a Metro ride for a stay in high-priced Pudong hotel, Regal Shanghai E A Hotel is indeed a GOOD LOCATION to spend the night at. We are delighted that you liked our rooms and that you found yours to be very modern and well appointed. The hotel operates a Cantonese Restaurant, an international All-Day-Dining Room and a snack lounge called Regal Patisserie. A 3rd restaurant is currently under renovation. It will be leased to a Japanese restaurant chain. Yet, as you state, you find a myriad of other restaurants around the hotel, from McDonald’s to Starbucks, from Red Rooster to Tibetan… the choice will be yours! As to the laundry prices, we will analyze our rates anew and make adjustments if warranted. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
#128 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#57 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel

Property: Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Address: 800 Ling Ling Road, Xuhui District | Shanghai Stadium, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Stadium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within Shanghai Stadium (the only hotel in China with this unique location), close to Xu Jia Hui Commercial and Shopping Center and 5 minutes walking distance to 4 metro lines of 1, 3, 4 and 11. The Executive Club Room with free access to the Executive Club Lounge for a relaxing drink with a panoramic view into the Stadium. The hotel provides 5 restaurants & bars, flexible meeting and banquet venues, gym and indoor swimming pool. Additionally, the hotel received a lot of awards, name a few: Silver Leaf Green Hotel in China; "Best Business Hotel of China 2015" by The Golden Horse; The hotel has been appointed Hotel for Sports Games: ISU World Figure Skating Championships 2015; 2014/15 World Cup Short Track; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing