We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Ranked #104 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic business hotel”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at the Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel for a few nights on a business trip in November 2013. My colleagues and I selected the hotel due to its location directly next to the convention center where the event we attended was held.

The hotel looks nice enough (on the inside at least) and the rooms are clean, though a bit small. However, there were a few things about the stay that I was fairly unsatisfied with. Firstly, though the hotel's location is convenient if you're attending an event in the immediate area, it's very inconvenient for the rest of the city. Our taxi drivers could almost never find the hotel, despite being shown the address in Mandarin, and it was often a very long wait for a taxi from the hotel to the city (in fact, we were often told that it was just not possible to get a taxi). Second, the quality of the food in the restaurant is ok, but not great - after eating one breakfast here, I went to the local Starbucks for the remainder of my stay. Third, for some reason there are almost no power outlets in the room! I literally had to unplug the TV in order to be able to use an outlet. And fourth, the internet in my room never worked; luckily, a colleague was staying in a neighboring room and I could log into that room's wifi instead. However, this is obviously not an option for most guests.

On the positive side, the staff at the hotel were very friendly and usually quite helpful. There's also a subway station located closeby which is convenient and easy to figure out even without any Mandarin skills. If you have a Mandarin speaker with you to help you order, there's a restaurant in a neighboring high-rise with fantastic food at great prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjork_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Commentator: What was your perspective and what were your expectations? You liked the hotel’s appeal much more from the inside where you find excellent marble work and above-average finishing. The exterior forms part of Shanghai Stadium. It surely creates a rather exceptional impression. Hotel rooms vary in floor dimensions due to the architecture that integrates them into the stadium structure. It seems logical that the higher the room rate, the larger and better the room. As to the taxi drivers, they follow their own mysteries and there is little you can do to make them stop or wait. If they seek business from you, they wait and do what you wish them to do; if you need them, they follow their instincts. It seems to be reasonable to accept that this fact applies pretty anywhere in the world; Shanghai makes no difference. The hotel breakfast buffet is composed of some 115 items. As we are in Asia, some 28 or about ¼ of all recipes follow Asian preferences. Croissants at the hotel are said to be as good as in Paris, Danish are as tasty as in Copenhagen and the coffee brand is 100% Swiss. If you seek a Starbucks in the near vicinity, you will easily find it; you will pay there for just 1 cup of coffee and 1 Croissant about half the price you pay for all 116 items on our buffet; the choice is always yours. It was good that you mentioned the WIFI issue. We will change the procedure description: 1. Write your room number as User Name; 2. enter the last 6 digits of the ID under which you registered yourself. That’s it! We recognize the necessity to add a multi-socket extension and will do so. Thank you for that very valuable hint! Thank you also for praising our associates’ friendliness and willingness to assist at all times. And when you return, know that 3 Metro Stations for 4 Metro Lines are located on the hotel compound periphery, all within a 2 to 4 minutes’ walk. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    233
    93
    21
    5
See reviews for
25
70
46
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. The staff, both at the reception and in the restaurant, is not friendly, or rather they seem uninterested. No feeling of hospitality here. Furthermore they charges everything they can at unreasonable prices. I had a room with stadium view, which was very nice, but there was a rock concert in the stadium on 2 of the night of our stay. Nobody told us about it, and the noise was unreal! No sleeping when we came in with a jetlag. Because the hotel was fully booked, changing rooms was not possible. We will definately not stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MvD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Commentator: We are very familiar with your case and we our Director of Rooms was more than accommodating with your claims. You may agree that hotels in general offer facilities for rent, as well as amenities and services for which guests compensate hotels, unless they are parts of a package price; our hotel is no different. You booked through an online travel agent and the price you paid to that agent for 5 nights did not include amenities and services you simply “expected to be complimentary”. We offer absolutely free WIFI and many other amenities as standard though. The stadium hotel, as our hotel is locally referred to, forms an integrated part of Shanghai Stadium and as such, is also part of what is happening there. It can be a soccer game, an athletic event, a major show such as a concert or similar. On that particular weekend you stayed with us, event organizers staged a local nostalgia rock concert that lasted until 10.30 PM sharp. We made sure that all guestrooms had received a letter prior to the concert advising them of the event and its time; naturally we did not walk around, knock at every door of the 338-room hotel to personally have a conversation exchange with our guests on that subject. Some 40,000 fans in their 40ies and 50ies attended the concert and yes, the hotel is very popular and it was busy indeed; in fact it was 100% occupied and three wedding parties took place at the hotel at the same time. Seeing the crowd all around the stadium and to a certain extent inside the hotel, it was obvious that our associates would be busy, and possibly a bit briefer in their communication exchange with you than they would have preferred to. We can appreciate, however, that there are hotel guests that seek a more sedate environment and a level of luxury that we do not afford as a 4-star hotel in bustling Shanghai. Note though that 5-star or luxury hotels you seem to gage your demands on, charge a multiple of the price you actually were prepared to spend for a stay of 5 nights. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I booked a standard room for a private trip , when I checked in, there were no more standard rooms left, and I got upgraded to Executive club, with a big sweet room in 11th floor, great view to the stadium.

The room is very quite, usually the noisy from aircondition can be a problem, and the traffic from the road, but Regal is perfect.

Breakfast is also satisfaction. both western and easten food, nothing to complain.

All in all, a high level 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nair78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Commentator: What a pleasant caption! Thank you so much! You know that around October, most hotels in Shanghai experience top occupancy which is music to the ears of hoteliers. Instead of refusing booking requests, most of us keep higher graded room categories in reserve and in the event of demand, we upgrade like the airlines do. We are delighted that it worked out for you and your wife to stay at an EXECUTIVE CLUB room on level 11 with a floor area of some 45 to 50 m2. These rooms at 2 levels are indeed impressive and comfortable; they are ideal for business and to receive guests. We are very delighted that you also benefitted from our buffet breakfast with Asian and international fare. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I attended the fair which took place in the Shanghai Stadium in September 2013. Overall, it is not super great but it was okay, nothing to complain about.
Subway station is right in front of the stadium, around 10 mins of walking from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Commentator: Yes, if you do business in Xu Hui or on the stadium fair grounds, our hotel location is ideal! When you reserve a PREMIER ROOM, the floor area with some 36m2 and the views on the upper levels are substantially above Shanghai Standards. SOHO Cabins on the lower floor levels are smaller and lower priced; they are ideal just to spend a night at a 4-star hotel at a great price.Yes, Shanghai Metro maintains 2 subway stations right on the sports compound. One station is named SHANGHAI STADIUM and is located 4 walking minutes from the hotel main entrance. The second station, SHANGHAI INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, takes about 5 minutes to walk to. You have a choice of 3 Metro lines: 1, 4, and 11. A trip to the Bund or to Pudong costs just 4 CNY or about 0.70 US Cents or 700 KRW. For luxury or 5-star expectations, we recommend top hotels in the city center. You will have to pay about 4 to 5 times the rate you pay with us though. Thank you for rating our hotel 3 times with 4 bullets or 80% satisfaction. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I spent two days in this hotel and hope never stay there again. I did not have a comfortable stay there. The night i got there, room was very cold. I asked for engineer who checked the air conditioner and found it ok. I was told Max temp is 22c and If i need warmer, i would better turn the conditioner off! Then there were not enough mirror in the room. Also there was no plug for hair drier inside bathroom. That i found difficult to deal with as i was there for business and had to get well dressed and styled every day. Another problem was taxi. Each time i asked for taxi, i had to wait long. The other problem was location of hotel. It was located in city center and middle of heavy traffic. I reached some of my appointments with delay. I did not find this hotel qualified for foure star. To business people i do not recommend it at all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VidaEsmaeilzsdegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Commentator: We appreciate your comments and thank you for sharing them with us. Shanghai experienced this year its hottest and longest summer and the cooling came abruptly in tandem with a major cyclone along the South China coast. You seem having had such a quick-chill feeling and we understand your reaction. For most citizens here, 22 degrees is considered to be a rather moderate temperature that does not require heating, hence we have not switched our systems to heating mode. At 5-star hotels you mostly have the option to cooling and eating at the same time. You will pay surely several times the room rate you paid with us for such augmentation of comfort. Coming from a hotter climate zone it may be worth paying for such supplement though. Our rooms are provided with two mirrors and each bathroom is provided with sockets for whatever device you may need. We offer detached hair blowers as an amenity in the bedroom. For safety reasons sockets are mounted at about 165 cm from floor level i. e. considerably above the vanity top level you may be used to at other parts of the world. We are aware of the occasional lack of taxis. While we installed right at the hotel entrance a digital screen with a call taxi button that connects the hotel with the contracted call taxi company, we do rely on the cabbies to heed our calls, and at times during peak demand periods, they may follow their very own priorities. On such instances, we recommend hailing just any passing-by cab at curb side of Ling Ling Road. However, if you have to be dressed up for important meetings, we recommend that you book a taxi with the hotel Concierge well before the time you need it. This way you can ensure a cabby is waiting for you, instead of the other way round. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have been coming to Shanghai to attend the tennis tournament since 2008 except for last year.
This is my second stay with this hotel(10-15Oct). The first time was 2009 with a great offer and the breakfast buffet in the hotel was excellent.
For my first night here this year, the check-in was pretty efficient and staff was generally polite and helpful. However as I returned in the evening, I asked the concierge if there was restaurant nearby and he said no. I walked around the nearby area and I found that there were two restaurants that operate 24 hours, "XinyiDai" and McDonalds. This is quite a disappointment because concierge should be knowledgeable of these information.
The bed and pillow was comfortable and housekeeping are usually efficient in response to any requests. The service was pretty satisfactory from all staff for the other nights I stayed.
The hotel is extremely near to the drop off point of the Shanghai Rolex Masters shuttle and the Shanghai Stadium Railway Station. If you are a big tennis fan like me and would like to select a hotel for the tournament in the coming years. This will be your choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyL60992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Commentator: Thank you for your strong caption and your insightful description of your experience!
We sincerely appreciate that you are a return-guest and we like your very favorable comments regarding our Breakfast Buffet. Yes, we keep on improving its choice and quality on a daily basis. We are also delighted that you liked the swift check-in, the comfortable pillows, the efficient housekeeping services and our teams at large. As to the Concierge proficiency, we will follow up what must be improved. In general, if you make reservations with the hotel directly, we send a confirmation letter and an attachment to inform you where we are, which facilities, amenities and services we offer. We state the locations of public venues, their operating hours and how to contact us. On an overview table, we reflect all room types, their floor areas and floor levels, their amenities and included services. We list nearby fast food restaurants from McDonald’s to Burger King and Starbucks, their distance from the hotel in meters and in walking distance minutes. We state 8 respectable specialty restaurants in the neighborhood and close-by convenience shopping, as well as retail malls in the larger neighborhood. We also list area hospitals, major office building in this part of the city, embassies and consulates. Our GPS Code is N 31.181279054748757 E 121.44064719545372 and you surely find us and much more on Google Earth. Welcome back to the ROLEX MASTERS and more often - just to experience phenomenal Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 9th to 12 October 2013 and held an annual event in the Chinese Restaurant, the Peak.I have been staying in this hotel since 2005 and keep coming back since. This is not without reason. I come here 3 times a year, minimum. My company holds an important activity once a year also in this hotel. The rooms in the Club floor are nicely designed and furnished; so as the rooms in the lower floor. The amenities are provided in more than adequate quantity and in good quality. The cafe where the breakfast is served is also of good standard, with a great variety of choices of food and drinks. The event held in the restaurant, the Peak was, as expected, a success. The staff are more than happy to serve and to meet our needs. Our guests are very happy with the event, as a whole. The staff from all department, from Reservation, Reception counter, Cafe, Restaurant, Chamber maids are friendly and efficient. This is a reflection on the hotel management's training and educations on their staff.

The only complaint I have is the availability of taxi, although a subway station is nearby. The hotel has just installed "One-Button-Cab-Calling" service. I have, however, doubt in its usefulness, especially during peak hours and in the evening. Another small short coming is the attitude of the telephone operator, I did have some minor difficult with one of them.

On the whole, this is a fine hotel with good facilities. The staff members are friendly and efficient. No matter one is there for a holiday, business or relaxation, it is a good choice.

Will I come back to this hotel again? Of course, I have been doing that since 2005.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the field of the stadium are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuasiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Commentator: Thank you so much for a superb caption and a very detailed assessment of the hotel’s facilities, amenities and services! There is no better way to rate a hotel than a guest’s DECISION TO RETURN! You have been doing just that for several times per year over the past 8 years – that speaks in itself for itself! We are delighted that you specially like THE PEAK restaurant and our CLUB FLOOR ROOMS and the L’Occitane bathroom cosmetics that we serve in that room category. You are absolutely on the dot when you describe the smaller rooms that face the stadium; we call them SOHO CABINS in line with general living habits of Chinese neighborhood business owners who operate shop on the ground floor and sleep upstairs. Of course that room type costs about half the rate that you pay on the Club Floor. We also appreciate your assessment of the Buffet Breakfast that we keep improving with more daily choices and more frequent alternatives. Yes, the spirit of the staff is good and keeps on getting better with TripAdvisor comments such as yours; most are eager to show their genuine positive side as well as their growing empowerment to strive for full consumer satisfaction. We continue to train and provide cross exposure with other Regal Hotels in Hong Kong and in Mainland China. You pointed out that entry level Operators always need particular training that include language skills and knowledge of who is who, what is what and where, when and how are things in and about the hotel. We are working at it! Yes, the taxis do not always heed our priorities – we are also working on their level of commitment. If I am not mistaken, you are Professor at National University of Singapore, and of course, your expectation levels for hospitality and education must be very high. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
#135 of 5,082 in Shanghai
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#64 of 5,082 in Shanghai
582 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai Hong Quan
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel

Property: Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Address: 800 Ling Ling Road, Xuhui District | Shanghai Stadium, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Stadium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within Shanghai Stadium (the only hotel in China with this unique location), close to Xu Jia Hui Commercial and Shopping Center and 5 minutes walking distance to 4 metro lines of 1, 3, 4 and 11. The Executive Club Room with free access to the Executive Club Lounge for a relaxing drink with a panoramic view into the Stadium. The hotel provides 5 restaurants & bars, flexible meeting and banquet venues, gym and indoor swimming pool. Additionally, the hotel received a lot of awards, name a few: Silver Leaf Green Hotel in China; "Best Business Hotel of China 2015" by The Golden Horse; The hotel has been appointed Hotel for Sports Games: ISU World Figure Skating Championships 2015; 2014/15 World Cup Short Track; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing