We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Ranked #96 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great hotel, could not fault anything at all. Great service and very helpful staff. Lovely room (free upgrade that was nice) very clean. Would stay again and recommend. Easy to get to Metro (which was exceptionally cheap) to enable us to anywhere as it is really easy to use.

Room Tip: A little noise from the air con but nothing to stop us from sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Della610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Commentator: What an outstanding caption; all of us are thanking you! TripAdvisor ratings mean a lot to us and your rating is a genuine encouragement to each of us.
There is hardly any better endorsement than your “WOULD STAY AGAIN AND RECOMMEND”.
Yes, all of us are taking the SERVICE ATTITUDE to heart under our motto “YOUR HAPPINESS, is my happiness”. We entirely agree with your Metro assessment. The Shanghai Metro is clean, easy to find your way around and indeed – it is really very reasonably priced. Access to Line 11 takes just about a 200 m walk to the left of the hotel exit; then at GAGA Night Club, turn right, and already after some 30 m you enter the access gate of station SHANGHAI SWIMMING CENTER. It is that easy! From the hotel exit alternatively, you can walk to the hotel complex periphery and access gate 2 of Metro Line 4 at SHANGHAI STADIUM station. This access may take you some 4 to 5 minutes’ walk diagonally left. From that station, is easy to go to THE BUND or to PUDONG and it costs you merely some 60 US cents to get there. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    216
    88
    19
    5
See reviews for
23
66
44
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for four nights and whilst I was not sure what to expect after reading the reviews, I really could not find fault with the hotel. Whilst the location is rather strange being near the sports stadium and I could see how that would be a problem when an event was on, it really was not an issue for me given nothing was going on at the stadium.
Room was clean and comfortable, great shower with excellent water pressure, service friendly and efficient. Had room service the first night I arrived late at it came promptly and their was a good selection to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Commentator: Thank you for your assessment! Yes, we all have the tendency to expect what is familiar to us… a hotel tower in a mega city, a bungalow on an island like on the Maldives, an industrial-looking structure along the highway or a pompous palace in the heart of Madrid… Yet, a hotel within the structures of a 56,000-seat stadium? Only in phenomenal Shanghai, only in modern China! We are glad that you adapted quickly to the unusual environment… You liked our rooms, our friendly and efficient service and the choice of our Room Service menu with a swift and courteous delivery. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. Its an odd hotel in that its part of a huge stadium. That means that the surrounding area can get quite over crowded when it hosts big events. I stayed here as the fair I was attending was right across the street. If it wasnt for the convenient location, I'd not be rushing back in a hurry. The hotel overs reasonable value for money but had a few snags that frustrated a little. Getting a taxi for example, the guys at the front of the hotel were next to useless at getting cabs and it was much easier to walk out of the stadium grounds to the street to flag your own taxi. The bar service was also poor. I had to wait 30 minutes for drinks to arrive. The business centre was also a bit of a rip off with printing costing 20rmb per page.

Overall, I'd not use it again unless I desperately need to be close to the event. Perfectly adequate but well short of excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthEastBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Commentator: Thank you for your nice caption! When reading the hotel’s publicity, you will find that we feature the location being ideal for those who attend trade fairs on the hotel compound, or an event at the stadium. Our Welcome Letter points out that it is of advantage booking a taxi with the Concierge IN ADVANCE for the required time. In a city of 23,000,000 inhabitants, there can be periods when taxis are hard to come by. This phenomenon applies to city center locations with 6-star hotels as much as it does to hotels in Xiu Hui. We regret that you seem having to wait too long for your drink and we offer our apologies. The PUBLISHED price on the wall of the Business Center for a black and white photocopy is RMB 3.5 or about 36 cents, and if you stay at the Club Floor, making a reasonable quantity of copies is completely free of charge. Just send me a copy of your payment, and if indeed our associate did not charge you correctly, the 1st night of your next stay will be with our compliments. Take us up on that, and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We checked ahead about this hotel and it looked great. But beware. There are many different hotels with similar names, and this one is not the hotel which pops up automatically and is wonderful. No, this one is part of the Shanghai 80,000 stadium which can be quite bizarre. Security is uppermost and your room key will operate the lift but only to your floor. This caused a problem as the first room we were given was unacceptable. I went to reception to change it, leaving my friend in the original room with the luggage. The new room was on a different floor but it meant that I could not get back to her and the luggage without going back to reception and getting someone to override the lift. Rooms are quite spacious but be warned they lock the minibar when you arrive and you can only have use of it if you pay a large deposit. The hotel is also very hot but it was not officially spring in China so they are not allowed to put the air conditioning on. For a Chinese hotel it is not bad, but everywhere we were visiting seemed to be at least a thirty minute coach journey away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissybubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Commentator: As a consumer, it is always better to READ the hotel name before booking. The company’s website is correct, YOU click – and YOU GET what you clicked. If you reserve a room at the 5-star REGAL INTERNATIONAL, you will presumably want to stay there; if you book at the lower priced 4-star REGAL SHANGHAI you get what you booked. It’s that simple.
Most guests very much appreciate the security and privacy that goes with key card access to room corridors; it is necessary in our times.
We always recommend any traveler who needs to stay in the city center to do so as convenience outweighs time, however, if value is of higher priority, you may appreciate that in the city center you would have paid 4 to 5 times the rate you paid with us. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
307 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had the opportunity to stay for a couple of nights at this hotel on a recent business trip- I took advantage of the 72 hours transit visit. I selected this hotel for a very competitive price in the Xiu Hui district near the historic French Concession. I booked and liked what I got! They picked me up at the airport upon my arrival and brought me to the hotel in a beautiful Buick Regal Limousine. The package rate that I booked included a suite on the 12th floor (the executive floor), with views of the massive stadium, breakfast at the Club Lounge or the Coffee shop and many other benefits. The first evening I dined at the hotel's Cantonese Restaurant; the food and service were good and good value. I took the metro to downtown located conveniently next to the hotel. Shanghai is always a metropole of surprises and the Regal Shanghai East Asia at the Shanghai Stadium was a much better surprise than expected!

Room Tip: Experience the unique rooms with views overlooking the Stadium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Commentator: “FEELING GOOD” is what our guests should experience when they stay with us! You found a pleasant surprise and that means for us that we are on the right track. We appreciate that you liked our Airport Transfer Service and the limo we operate. Yes, level 12 is a secured floor for BUSINESS CLASS, it contains the Executive Lounge with numerous perks and personal check-in and out, a complimentary Meeting Room for 8, and a great view over the 56,000-stadium track and soccer fields. Hotel and walk-in guests frequently rate food, service and value at The Peak, often above average and we are delighted that you share such rating. The megalopolis SHANGHAI itself is phenomenal, in the true sense of the word. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed at the Regal Shanghai East Asia for some time and I give it a 5 star rating. First thing to point out is its brilliant location, very close to the metro stations and with plenty of restaurants and shops within the Shanghai Stadium. There is also a train and bus station just 10min walk. You can easily reach Pudong or The Bund in about 20min.

Staff is very kind and friendly, they are always willing to help and resolve your inquiries. At the 12th floor is the Regal Club, where you can watch soccer games or concerts enjoying great views to the stadium. This feauture of being built in a soccer stadium makes it a very special and unique place, there are only two hotels in the world like this. Food is great, I especially enjoyed breakfasts with fresh orange juice and delicious spring rolls. At lunch and dinner time there is a menu with plenty of choices and sometimes buffet service with tasty dishes from all over S.E. Asia.

Rooms are nice and comfortable, with very soft beds and big and modern showers. Air conditioning was so efficient in the hot summer days. Never tried the swimming pool but learnt from other guests that it is really worth. The hotel also has a modern fitness center, massage room and sauna. I can hardly mention anything wrong about this place, maybe just the taxis can delay sometimes. My advise to avoid waiting if you are in a hurry is to book in advance at concierge and your taxi will be ready at any time you wish. Overall, highly recommendable for either business or leisure, great choice to stay in Shanghai!

Room Tip: The best rooms are located at the 11th and 12th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatFujian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Commentator: What a delightful Caption; thank you! Yes, our team members strive to make our guests HAPPY and to spread the feeling of HAPPINESS THROUGHT THE HOTEL. Let us share with you some recent written comments by Chinese guest Liu C. who wrote on March 4 about Steven: “Good service, active, friendly” and Mr. Liu D. on March 4 who wrote about our banquet associate: “Strong service awareness, and quick action.” Swedish guest Sperla F. wrote on March 12 about our Benjamin: “Very helpful.” Japanese guest Du B. wrote on March 13 about our Miyako: “Great service attitude.”
We sincerely appreciate your favorable comments on the breakfast buffet, the Regal Club Lounge on level 12, the exceptional stadium hotel architecture, the South East Asian food fare, the indoor pool, the gym and the tenanted spa. We are acutely aware of the taxi call response time and recommend that you always ask the Concierge to reserve a taxi for you THE DAY BEFORE you need it. And, yes: the best stay experience provides a Business Class Room on levels 11 and 12; they are large and feature a 2-tiered interior design that provides for distinctive work and sleep areas. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

It takes about 10minutes to walk to the hotel from subway exit. The location is good, near by many popular turism see sights. And the rate is quite good, it only takes me cny345 per night. Service also good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank beico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopolitus1, General Manager at Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Commentator: Thank you for your GOOD SERVICE rating!
The hotel and sports complex was built for the Olympic Games and provides access to 3 Metro lines in 2 Metro Stations. We recommend that next time, whenever you can, take Line 11: It is fast and easy. The gates are named SHANGHAI SWIMMING CENTER. They are located just 200m to the left of the hotel exit.
For Lines 1 and 4, select SHANGHAI STADIUM station, and exit or access via GATE 2, from there, it is only a 4-minutes’ walk.
If you take SHANGHAI STADIUM but exit beyond Ling-Ling Road, it takes you indeed 10 minutes to walk to the hotel entrance as you have to cross a very busy road.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
Hua Ting Hotel & Towers
#128 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#57 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel

Property: Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Address: 800 Ling Ling Road, Xuhui District | Shanghai Stadium, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Stadium
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within Shanghai Stadium (the only hotel in China with this unique location), close to Xu Jia Hui Commercial and Shopping Center and 5 minutes walking distance to 4 metro lines of 1, 3, 4 and 11. The Executive Club Room with free access to the Executive Club Lounge for a relaxing drink with a panoramic view into the Stadium. The hotel provides 5 restaurants & bars, flexible meeting and banquet venues, gym and indoor swimming pool. Additionally, the hotel received a lot of awards, name a few: Silver Leaf Green Hotel in China; "Best Business Hotel of China 2015" by The Golden Horse; The hotel has been appointed Hotel for Sports Games: ISU World Figure Skating Championships 2015; 2014/15 World Cup Short Track; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing