We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for Shanghai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal International East Asia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Ranked #81 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good choice for Shanghai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Regal is a good option for a stay in Shanghai. For tourists, it is important to note that it is not in close walking distance from most of the popular sights. That said, it is close to the Hengshan subway station, and the subway is fairly easy to use (I would NOT recommend using the metro during rush hour unless you are used to how crowded it gets in major cities--I like the adventure of it, but it can be quite intimidating, not t mention frustrating for those who like orderly queues).

The hotel is in a great neighborhood. You are in walking distance of a large number of restaurants and clubs. Every so often, you run into a stretch of street that is sycamore-lined--it is really quite beautiful. And it is clean and safe. There is some shopping in this area, but not enough to make that the draw to this hotel. On the other hand, it is not crowded like the area around Nanjing street, and it is a nice blend of old and new Shanghai.

The rooms are clean and modern: comfortable bed with pillows of different fluffiness, easy to control temperature, quiet, and wireless is available (though a bit slow for my tastes). The rooms have that oh-so-Chinese abundance of ways to control the lighting in the room. And the shower was impressive (great hot water, both over-head rain and regular shower head, large tub). There is a free hot water kettle with instant coffee or tea available. I didn't use the mini-bar, but it has a decent range of high-priced items. (You would be better off walking to one block to get snack and drinks, including wine, beer, and liquor at the convenience stores).

The breakfast buffet is a nice mix between east and west, and importantly, it actually changes a bit from day to day. I would give this an "A" grade.

Good exercise room (many treadmills and bikes, as well as decent weights) and recreation available, though it is shared with non-hotel members and is really geared more towards them (the signage is not that good so you have to work to find things, the foreign language ability of the staff is adequate, but not great).

I didn't eat on the premises for any meal other than breakfast, so I can't comment on the food more generally.

My only complaint about the Regal is that both times that I called reception no one picked up. I had to resort to taking the elevator down to the lobby instead.

Room Tip: Try to something above the twelfth floor on the east side. You will likely have a view of the pear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie C, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Lindsay W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your sincere words and pertinent evaluation as it’s our best guide on how we can improve our service and facilities. We hope that you will once again make visit to Shanghai and look forward to welcoming you back to renew your experience at Regal International East Asia Hotel. Best wishes to you!

Yours sincerely,
Marketing Communications Manager
Marilyn Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    170
    52
    13
    4
See reviews for
19
34
23
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have been staying at the Regal many times for several years. This hotel proposes very fair price in a great location. Breakfast is good, not amazing but you'll find everything you need for a good start. Bar is not very fancy but there are plenty of places to go to in the neighborhood for dinner or for a drink.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Pa5cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie C, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Pa5cal,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again. We are delighted that you have truly enjoyed your stay and location as well as our service . We look forward to assisting you again in the future. Best wishes to you!

Yours Sincerely
Marketing Communications Manager
Jessica Yi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Regal International East for a couple of days while on business in China, and it is a nice hotel with a great location.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even allowed us to leave some of our luggage before we checked in while we travelled to another city, this was very helpful since we did not have to check any luggage on our flights.

The room was spacious and clean, however the sink was slow to drain which was annoying. The internet worked well when I used it, but the wifi was intermittent on my phone while using wechat.

The location of the hotel is great for night life with easy access to the subway and a lot of different bars very close to the hotel. The only thing you need to look out for if you are wandering around are the aggressive solicitors who do not take no for an answer.

Breakfast was good, but I prefer to have more variety of fresh fruit in the morning. There was a nice assortment of Western and traditional foods and the outdoor tennis court did provide some nice morning entertainment while eating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie C, Public Relations Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Jason W,

Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with your sincere feedback. We all delighted to know that our assistance do have brought some convenience for you. However, we are disappointed to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one as the sink was slow to drain and the signal of wifi was not too well. In view of this point, we will confer with the relevant department and find some active solutions to better it. As for the breakfast, your advice does have positive implications and we will adopt it in a near future. Meanwhile, it was very concerned to learn that there are aggressive solicitors to bother you while you wondering around, that’s unexpected. Our security staff has paid great attention to this in order to enhance our security level, promising that such kind of things won’t happen inner nor near our hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings and we do hope that we will get another chance to present ourselves in a much better way to you during your next stay.

Yours sincerely,
Marketing Communication Manager
Jessica Yi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Love this place. Stayed for a second time recently, was upgraded to a Club room, which was much appreciated. Room was huge, almost like a tiny HK apartment! Very nice breakfast and lunch buffet, yum! Staff extremely attentive and helpful. Couldn't fault the place. Well done, one contented customer!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie C, Public Relations Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear JohnHongKong,

Thank you for your recent stay with us again and kindly giving us high score in most areas. We are very happy to know that you have truly enjoyed your stay and that the room and brunch buffet as well as our service left a great impression in your mind. We look forward to assisting you again in your next Shanghai encounter and show you our quality service as always. Do please let us know if we can do any improvement to make your next stay even better. Best wishes to you!

Yours sincerely,
Marketing Communication Manager
Jessica Yi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

In transiting through Shanghai I had one night to kill in Shanghai. This was good value for money for an average hotel that appears quite popular for both Westerners & Chinese. Location is fine as 15-20 minutes to Bund & Nanjing Road surrounded by plenty of restaurants / bars if you don't want to travel far. Service was friendly enough & breakfast restaurant basic but inclusive in room rate. Rooms a little tired although comfortable. Would stay here again if just transiting & looking for economical option opposed to 5 star hotels for longer stay.

Room Tip: Don't be shy to ask for early checkin as front desk quite helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FCGC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie C, Public Relations Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear FCGC8 ,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with our friends on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your sincere words and pertinent evaluation as it’s our best guide on how we can improve our service and facilities. We hope that you will once again make visit to Shanghai and look forward to welcoming you back to renew your experience at Regal International East Asia Hotel. Best wishes to you!

Yours sincerely,
Marketing Communication Manager
Jessica Yi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a nice hotel, with a pretty good location for business travelers. There are plenty of westerner and middle eastern restaurants in the area to get a taste of back home. The food in the hotel is good, but it's not something I'm going to be craving.

The embassies are close and the neighborhood fairly affluent and safe. Several subway stops in the area make it very easy to get into downtown or to your tourist destinations quickly.

Would stay again, but I still think I prefer being closer to People's Square or the Bund for site seeing. This is a lot quieter and a good runner up, and possibly better for business depending on your destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmptyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie C, Public Relations Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
October 17, 2013
Dear EmptyB,

Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with your feedback. We really appreciate your sincere words and pertinent evaluation. We are happy to know that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and our location have made your stay even memorable. To provide guests with best service is a common goal of each of our team. However, we are disappointed to hear that your experience had not been a most fulfilling one as the food in our hotel is not the kind you are going to be craving. In view of this point, we will confer with the relevant department and find some active solutions to better it so as to satisfy your needs in a higher degree. We hope to seeing you again and bringing you more home feeling services. Please take my best wishes!

Yours sincerely,
Marketing Communication Manager
Jessica Yi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

- Location: Good and quiet.
- Atmosphere: Pleasant.
- Decoration: Good enough.
- Room: Large and clean with comfortable beds.
- Breakfast level: High with many options.
- Food level: High. A variety of wonderfully prepared dishes from all over the world.
- Service: Very good on all levels.
- Would I stay there again? : Yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olympus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie C, Public Relations Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Jessie C, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review
October 17, 2013
Dear Olympus H,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with our friends on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that our location, atmosphere, decoration, room, food and service have made your stay memorable. We are even more excited to hear that you would like stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back to renew your experience at the Regal International East Asia Hotel. Do please let us know if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay even better. Best wishes to you!

Yours sincerely,
Marketing Communication Manager
Jessica Yi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#96 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Former French Concession
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
#160 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Anting Villa Hotel
Anting Villa Hotel
#136 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#172 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Former French Concession
Radisson Blu Plaza Xingguo Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal International East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal International East Asia Hotel

Property: Regal International East Asia Hotel
Address: No.516 Hengshan Road, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#77 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#79 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regal International East Asia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 5-star Regal International East Asia Hotel is ideally located on the oriental “Champs-Elysees”, the laudatory name of Hengshan Road with cafes, bars, exquisite shops and beautifully arranged gardens as well as various kinds of foreign-style houses scattered along the dense boulevard. This impressive tree-lined promenade stretches to the two ends of famous commercial and leisure centre – Xu Jia Hui and Huai Hai Road; and the prestigious diplomatic district is within walking distance from Shanghai’s best dining, shopping, night life and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Regal International East Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regal International East Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing