We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for price and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Ranked #88 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for price and location”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here about a month ago for two nights. I thought the hotel was nice but the service of the staff could have been better. We needed a taxi that night and when we asked the bellman to help us he basically led us outside to the street corner and then waved his hand at a few cars and then went back inside. We then sat outside for another 5 minutes hailing our own cab. I was told not to expect great customer service when traveling in China so I had low expectations but I still thought that was a little strange especially since this a 4 star hotel.

I did think the hotel was in a great location and a short taxi ride to Shanghai's attractions. (taxis are VERY inexpensive in China so that's a great plus!!) Overall, decent hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and leaving the valuable comments. We are sorry to hear such inconvenience had brought to you. We have already pass your comment to our Front Office department. We will consider your feedback seriously. Do please let us know if we can do any improvement to make your next stay better. We look forward to seeing you again and pamper you with our warmest hospitality. Best wishes to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    175
    56
    16
    4
See reviews for
20
39
23
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I've stayed here multiple times since they renovated 2 years ago. I end up at this property since its walking distance to our office as otherwise the Westin is nicer albeit more expensive. The rooms are tastefully appointed, and I had a view suite. The breakfast is ok, and the employees don't seem as gracious or as helpful as other western hotel brands.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and leaving the valuable comments.
We are glad to know that you are satisfying with our rooms. Meanwhile, we will consider your advice seriously and will conduct more training to our staffs. Do please let us know if we can do any improvement to make your next stay better. We sincerely Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiyang, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stay here for every trip to shanghai because the service is acceptable and the location is great. During two of our trips, however, the rooms were unbearably hot. This last trip was on the club floor and the heat in the room made us sick at night. After two tries, we were given a fan, which made the last night bearable but still uncomfortable. They offered to switch our room, but when travelling with much luggage, that is a hassle and we were too busy during the day to deal with it.

That being said, we've had some wonderful rooms here where the AC works very well.

I just didn't understand how the club level air system was so poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a cold room if you set the temperature below 22c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and leaving the valuable comments. We are glad to know that you are satisfying with our location and service. And we regret for the air-conditioner problem during your stay. We have already pass your comment to our engineer department. During your next stay, you may contact our guest service manager extension 84 should you need any assistance. We will keep making effort and continue to provide you the value added services with our warmest hospitality. We sincerely Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

For me it was the first time I visited Shanghai center. I was there with some colleagues.
I selected this hotel because I wanted a location not too far away from the location of my meetings, the city center and a metro station.
The booked clubroom was on the 5th floor. It was spacious and well equiped, some remarks; there is no electric power outlet in the bathroom for shaving and it took me 15 minutes to discover the light switches.
The internet in my room was working but you have to be very patient.
The club lounge was nice and very quiet when I was there.
The breakfast was good with a good selection of Western and Asian food, the fruit however good do with some more variety.
The hotel restaurant was good but as usual for hotels, rather expensive.
The street in front of the hotel is bussy during rush hours, but the street noise was acceptable.
Although I had dinner at the hotel I noticed that there were not so many restaurants close to the hotel.
The taxi service was very good, we had no waiting time during rush hours.

Room Tip: Carefully select the website you make your booking it can make a big difference in price. I advise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred_1956085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Fred_1956085

Thank you for your recent stay at Regal International East Asia Hotel. Your valuable comments is highly appreciated.

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our facilities, food and location. We will pass your compliments to our relative departments with appreciation. Meanwhile, your advices and tips are also very helpful for our prospective customers.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again soon and pamper you with our warmest hospitality.

Best regards!

Stephen Hui
Executive Assistant Manager
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Reservation was suppose to include breakfest and wifi however when I checked in the very rude manager "Marc" at the front desk said it didn't and proceeded to try to charge me almost double the price of the room in order to get these included. I then asked to speak to his manager and he rudely would not provide me his supervisors contact info. I booked 7 days but will consider leaving sooner.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlitosmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

i often stay at this hotel. First, the location at the heart of the French District has no equivalent in Shanghai, especially when you stay at the 22d floor.
The front desk staff is polite and speak good English, 2 exceptional points in Shanghai
the breakfast is one of the best in town, same for meals
The rooms are perfectly clean and the renovated ones are impressive… but i prefer the old ones located at the top floor
The housekeeping does not disturb you when there is the sign no disturb
… and the spa is wonderful
The only negative point is the music. the hotel plays ridiculous parodies of classical music, i kept on complaining but they never changed their music since 7 years… therefore, be prepared to wear your ipod shuffle if you want to survive this very painful experience… how can music be outdated and ridiculous? this negative point is unfortunately the worst of around 50 hotels i know in Shanghai.. especially a pity because the music of the health club is good and changes from time to time
However, keep in mind all the good points… and see my scores,
Overall, you will have a real 5 stars experience and never regret the very little price you may sometimes pay if you are wise enough to come in winter or summer.
for tennis lover, it is supposed to be also one of the best in town, but i do not practice
i prefer staying in my spa, watching the beautiful view of the French district, or eating one of their delicious buffet of fresh food from all over the world

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmanuel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalinShanghai, Hotel management at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear emmanuel m,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and give such high evaluation on our location, facilities, and services. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoy your dining experience at our hotel. We will pass your compliment to our front office, housekeeping, recreation as well as food & beverage departments with full acknowledgement; Nevertheless, we are sorry for disturbing you by our background music. We will definitely look into this part with our engineering department and ensure your next say is perfect.

Do please let us know if we can do any improvement to make your next stay better. We look forward to seeing you again and pamper you with our warmest hospitality. Best wishes to you!

Sincerely Yours,
Stephen Hui
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Perhaps the finest hotel in Shanghai. Never a problem in the many years I have stayed at this hotel.

Whether it be Stan at the Concierge Service, Cecilia - Azure Bar Manager, Jessie - Manager of the California Restaurant, or Alice at 4th Floor Business Lounge, all your needs are taken care of. The biggest attribute of the hotel is the quality of the staff.

The hotel itself has very good rooms.
The new Australian chef ensures only the freshest and finest food is served.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AppleAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie C, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear AppleAdam,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and give such high evaluation. We are pleased to know that our colleagues as well as their considerate services have left you a great impression. We look forward to seeing you again and pamper you with our warmest hospitality.

Do please let us know if we can do any improvement to make your next stay even better. Best wishes to you!

Yours sincerely
Stephen Hui
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#105 of 5,069 in Shanghai
431 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
#169 of 5,069 in Shanghai
267 reviews
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Anting Villa Hotel
Anting Villa Hotel
#143 of 5,069 in Shanghai
144 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#55 of 5,069 in Shanghai
444 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#128 of 5,069 in Shanghai
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal International East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal International East Asia Hotel

Property: Regal International East Asia Hotel
Address: No.516 Hengshan Road, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#83 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#112 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regal International East Asia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 5-star Regal International East Asia Hotel is ideally located on the oriental “Champs-Elysees”, the laudatory name of Hengshan Road with cafes, bars, exquisite shops and beautifully arranged gardens as well as various kinds of foreign-style houses scattered along the dense boulevard. This impressive tree-lined promenade stretches to the two ends of famous commercial and leisure centre – Xu Jia Hui and Huai Hai Road; and the prestigious diplomatic district is within walking distance from Shanghai’s best dining, shopping, night life and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Regal International East Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regal International East Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing