We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Regal International East Asia Hotel
Ranked #95 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

When in Shanghai, I always stay at the Regal on Hengshan Road. The location is great, close to the French concession. Staff is friendly and will do everything to make it a pleasant stay; they even provide an excellent nanny service for our baby and a baby bed and -bath. Rooms are spacious and clean. Restaurant is excellent. Good meeting rooms for business on the 4th floor and also excellent rooms for workshops or conferences. And they even provide the Herald Tribune...no wonder why my colleagues in Shanghai ask me why I come to Shanghai all the time :)

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms on the 4th or 13th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Camiel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Camiel G,

Thank you for always choosing our hotel during your stay in Shanghai and leaving the valuable comments. We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our room、dining and meeting facilities, as well as our nanny service and newspaper delivery service. We hope you feel at home during your stay here. Meanwhile, it is very kind of you to give tip to other readers and we believe it will be truly benefit our prospective customers!

Thank you so much for your trust and support! We will continue to make effort in serving you with our warmest hospitality, and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

My first time staying this hotel for business. Staff are friendly and understand the guest needs.
I stayed in a suite with large and spacious room, with a round shaped bathtub plus shower room. The hotel with "more than basic" recreation facilities, including tennis courts!! Not just swimming pools, spa or fitness centre. It's just too short for my stay.

For hotel room itself, I would like to suggest installing electric sockets next to bedside table, we all like to put our electronic devises nearby for recharging while sleeping.

Overall speaking, great hotel facilities and warm service which makes your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 418ec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear E C,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving the valuable comments. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our rooms, recreation facilities as well as our services. Meanwhile, your suggestion is also very helpful, we will pass it to our relative department.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again and serve you with our warmest hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I doubt if you'll find better in Shanghai. During this particular visit, I met other people who had changed from other hotels to the Regal - which I've been going to for many years.

The hotel prides itself on 'continuous improvement' and this is reflected in the high standard and level of care from Azure bar trainee to manager.

The Executive chef Luke has transformed the menu and refined the cuisine; it is perhaps one of the few hotels where you can enjoy eating, followed by a freshly and expertly mixed cocktail at the Azure lounge.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank AppleAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear AppleAdam,

We are glad to have you back and thank you so much for leaving such valuable comments!

We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our service, cleanliness and location. We will particularly pass your compliments to Azure bar staffs and our Executive Chef Luke with appreciation. Meanwhile, your kind recommendation will truly benefit our prospective guests.

Thank you again! We sincerely look forward to seeing you soon and serve you with our warmest hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice hotel with all the amenities and services you expect from a high end hotel. Nothing outstanding or memorable. Stayed as part of a group rate for a conference but had to pay for two rooms. Apparently there are no large suites that can accommodate a family of four. The banquet and conference staff provided excellent service. Breakfast was adequate with eastern and western buffet items. The food and drinks at the lounge was pricy by Chinese standards. The location is two blocks from the underground entrance with a lot of bars, but few restaurants or eateries.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kenfeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Kenfeng,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving the valuable comments. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel as well as our breakfasts. Our hotel is ideally located in the oriental “Champs-Elysees”, the laudatory name of Hengshan Road with cafes, bars, exquisite shops and beautifully arranged gardens as well as various kinds of foreign-style houses scattered along the dense boulevard. For those who travel with their family, we can arrange extra bed service for our guests. If you stay in the suite at our executive floor, you may enjoy the exclusive access to our executive club lounge with complimentary coffee and tea, continental breakfast, evening cocktails and canapés to be served.

Thank you again and we sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Clean, well appointed rooms and comfortable beds, much better than average for China. The banquet food, as well as 2nd floor Chinese restaurant food was *excellently* prepared...very nice ambiance and service, too. This was in contrast to the first floor breakfast buffet (included in our room rate) which was rather average quality.

Used the 2nd Floor conference rooms and top floor hospitality suites: all very decent for corporate events, with good A/C, video projection screens, stages, etc. Again, the food & beverage catering was excellent.

Good location, [long] walking distance to shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeGStbsnonestdsptndm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear DeGStbsnonestdsptndm

Thank you for staying with us and leaving the valuable comments. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our rooms, facilities as well as our location. Meanwhile, we will keep making effort on our daily breakfast and ensure you a 100% satisfaction during your next stay.

Thank you again and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at the Regal International East Asia Hotel in the heart of Shanghai China and had a splendid stay. Hotel staff are very friendly and many speak English. The rooms are modern, spacious, and clean. Breakfast buffet is a huge combination of Asian and European influences. The Business meeting conference rooms were well stocked with note paper and water bottles. And, there is a very large swimming pool, sauna and exercise facility for guests.

Overall, great hotel at a very reasonable price. Will plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bostontraveker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear bostontraveker,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving the valuable comments. We are glad that you were satisfied with our facilities and services. Thank you for all the kind compliments on our staffs, rooms, breakfast as well as gym facilities. It is our great pleasure to hear that our staffs had taken good care of you. If you’d like, you may take advantage of our special room’s promotion and enjoy the free tennis court or bowling alley during your next stay.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you soon and treat you as our family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was there as part of group rate for fraternity reunion. Had excellent renovated room on 8th floor. Breakfast/club lounge offerings excellent. Room excellent, and good in room wi-fi. Resident guest wi-fi in public rooms did not work for everybody. Only way was for staff to use their own phone number and password on my phone to get 12 hour wi-fi.

Excellent service from housekeeping and front office staff and banqueting staff.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn L, Manager at Regal International East Asia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear PC M

Thank you for staying with us and leaving the valuable comments. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our rooms, breakfast and club lounge offerings.

We regret for the wi-fi problem caused you inconvenience however we’re glad that our staff had helped. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again soon and serve you with our warmest hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#106 of 5,161 in Shanghai
459 reviews
Former French Concession
Gallery Suites
Gallery Suites
#185 of 5,161 in Shanghai
190 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
Hengshan Picardie Hotel
#169 of 5,161 in Shanghai
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#52 of 5,161 in Shanghai
632 reviews
Former French Concession
Anting Villa Hotel
Anting Villa Hotel
#136 of 5,161 in Shanghai
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal International East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal International East Asia Hotel

Address: No.516 Hengshan Road, Shanghai 200030, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#63 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#88 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#90 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £65 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regal International East Asia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 5-star Regal International East Asia Hotel is ideally located on the oriental “Champs-Elysees”, the laudatory name of Hengshan Road with cafes, bars, exquisite shops and beautifully arranged gardens as well as various kinds of foreign-style houses scattered along the dense boulevard. This impressive tree-lined promenade stretches to the two ends of famous commercial and leisure centre – Xu Jia Hui and Huai Hai Road; and the prestigious diplomatic district is within walking distance from Shanghai’s best dining, shopping, night life and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Regal International East Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regal International East Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing