We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and good choice for business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Ranked #52 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and good choice for business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

As a native shanghainess, I love this hotel most. It's located in Jing'An district and it is the very center of Shanghai City. The hotel is 10-minute walk from the nearest metro station. I have been the member of that hotel for more than 5 years and this hotel makes me feel home. There are many good restaurants inside the hotel, from Chinese style to Italian style. I would recommend this hotel for business purpose.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    484
    175
    51
    37
See reviews for
141
197
74
669
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We loved this room and the hotel. Breakfast buffet was to die for. Area surrounding is odd, high end shops that were empty next to small business shacks. Traffic too busy to cross the street most times. They recommended taking a taxi to get across the street. Seriously. Love Shanghia though would go back again in a second...Wouldn't recommend traveling in July/August though as it was incredibly hot and full of Chinese tourists. Pool was so so and hot tub wasn't hot but otherwise we loved the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganzhou, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The location was very excellent among the downtown area of Shanghai, you can find lots of interesting and lovely places around.
The room was just in ordinary status since it was the first Ritz-Carlton Hotel in China which was opened in 1990s.
Breakfast was just so so if you are a local Chinese, my recommendation was to try a local small restaurant for "Xiao Long Bao" in nearby street.
Service was terrific in this hotel and everyone was friendly, making the atmosphere very comfortable and warm.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better vision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAN Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

we found a room in the Pullman at the last hour as our flight to shanghai was delayed 11 hours by the typhoon. we arrived at about 6 am, totally worn out, and was greeted by the most fantastic and understanding reception who gave us a room immediately, apologising that they can only give us the lower floors at that hour.

when the first room given smelled of cigarettes, they quickly got me another room, and then a third room as the second had also the same cigarette smell, apologising profusely each time, even though in china, this happens very often. this is nice as it shows they really care about the guest. this guest centredness shows in every place in this hotel. from the breakfast rooms, the concierge recommending and booking restaurants for us.

also helpful was their info card with shopping and attractions in english and chinese for us to direct the cab drivers and equally helpful that all the cab drivers know where the hotel is.

we will definitely stay at the Pullman Ritz again when we visit Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazylion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is one of the finest Hotels in the world for business travel and a vacation stay, as well. It's located in the City Center close to most places a visitor would want to go. The Hotel staff is great and makes you feel like you are staying right at home. As a return guest, the staff always address you by name and tends to your every need. The rooms are very up to date and well equipped and very comfortable. The Club level is next to none! Very comfortable with every amenity you could ask for. Full breafast each mornng with many dishes prepared to order! lunch snacks that are more than just snacks. High tea every afternoon and always a evening offering that includes specially prepared dishes and heavy snacks. Finally, cocktails, wine and beer are complimentary most of the day with an excellent selection of premium drinks. The hotel restaurants are some of the best in Shangahi and there are other offerings in the Shanghai Center where the hotel is located, including a Starbucks, and a very fine up scale pizza resturant this is a must go place. There is also the Jazz Bar which is very comfortable and has nightly live jazz. Thsi is a hotel that should be verlooked wheen visiting Shanghai!

Room Tip: Always try to stay in a Club Level Room facing the City center (toward the Convention Center).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyjfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I live in Shanghai and occasionally would spend a relaxing weekend getaway at a nice hotel combined with a beautiful sunday brunch also in downtown area. Normally I'm more of a Grand Hyatt fan wherever I travel to for work. But I like this Ritz in Shanghai and it became one of my favorites in town. It's no exception and meet all the expectations of THE RITZ-CARLTON HOTEL. I don't want to repeat the others how clean and beautiful the room is and how comfortable and heavenly the bed is. I just want to mention the top notch taxi service out front of the hotel. The staff is always nice, polite, friendly and most importantly - HIGH EFFICIENCY !!! They organize everybody in two lines (one for hotel guest and one for service apartment resident) so well and smooth. I have never seen complains or arguments due to unfairness. They also have this little notebook they write down the time and date, the taxi car plate NO. and where the guest is going for safety reason and they never miss one single guest. I am impressed !!! I would highly recommend to anyone who need a hotel in this area in Shanghai.

Room Tip: higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We live in Shanghai, but because our apartment building has no English cable channels, we decided to stay at a hotel to watch the Olympic opening ceremony on television, thinking that we could watch it in English. That turned out to be impossible because the IOC restricts broadcast in each market so we watched in Chinese - but that was the only thing that went wrong during our stay. Shanghai has dozens of outstanding five star hotels on both sides of the Huangpu River that bisects the city, but we chose the Portman Ritz-Carlton because for us it is conveniently located. We're often in its environs because the complex also contains a health centre, two coffee chains, a very good Italian restaurant and a supermarket and this stretch of West Nanjing Road is in the centre of the high-end retail and business district. When my wife arrived to check in, she discovered that we'd been upgraded for no obvious reason, and was taken to a suite on the Club floor and given Club privileges which include free meals and drinks at the 43rd floor lounge. So we were off to a great start ! The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and with fabulous bed linens, a Nespresso coffee maker, and all the comforts you'd expect of a five star hotel except that internet was 120RMB - I think because it's provided through a third party. The service at the Club level was of course superb, the views on a clear day rival New York, the food and drinks were of high quality and it was hard to tear ourselves away to get ready for the Olympic Ceremony which came in live early in the morning. We were given late checkout so we slept in, had late breakfast, visited the gym, and generally had the most relaxed and pampered time possible. My wife is trying to arrange weekly stays, and if your budget can handle it, we'd recommend it without any hesitation. As mentioned earlier, there are many fine hotels in Shanghai to choose from, but if the Portman Ritz-Carlton is conveniently located for where you'll be going, then make a reservation now.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#42 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#23 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Property: The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#165 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing