We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favourites hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Ranked #49 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of my favourites hotels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed there in February 2012 for 4 nights, during a business trip in Asia (Singapore and Shanghai) and I loved this hotel, which is ideally located on Nanjing road. Reception and Concierge staff was extremely helpful and efficient throughout the stay. I was given a bedroom located on the 33rd floor overlooking the south side of the city. The room was decorated with warm colours, mainly tones of brown, a lot of pillows on the bed, all this giving a very comfortable and cosy touch to the whole. The wardrobe offered a lot of space for suits, shirts, etc. The only things which could be improved is the front door, which does not insulate properly from the noise coming from the landing, and the wireless speed. As a matter of fact, the internet connection was terribly slow and it was rather tedious to have access to emails and the Internet.

The breakfast buffet is probably among the best I have ever seen and offers the best products from english, continental and asian breakfasts. The choice of bread was simply superb, as well as jam, etc. I had some time early in the morning to go to the gym and it is the best hotel's gym I have ever visited: a lot of machines in perfect condition both for cardio and muscle training, a lot of space. On the last evening, we had a few drinks at the bar: the cocktails were very good and we enjoyed the music played live by a band.

I would stronly recommend to anybody going to Shanghai to stay in this hotel, a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    484
    175
    51
    36
See reviews for
141
197
74
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

An excellent hotel,on all counts. We travelled with 3 children, aged 10,8 and 4. Staff were fantastic.
Our accommodation was a 2 bedroom interleading suite, on the 41st floor. Room was comfortable and luxurious and enormous. All the staff, from the manager down, met with us, knew us by name and could not do enough for us. There are great shops within a short distance of the hotel. Access to the 43rd club level floor, was a real bonus, and quality of food on this floor was exceptional. The spa is currently being renovated, so we had no access to is, but we had massages in the room which were great.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with access to the club facilities on the 43rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc-hirschowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I traveled with 2 girl friends to Shanghai for a weekend so we decided to stay in 1 room together (with the cheapest room type). We noted in the reservation we have 3 people, and requested a roll-away bed with 2 double beds. There was no extra charge to this.

Upon check-in, we found the roll-away bed in the room ready for the 3rd person and there was still decent space in the room. We also found the amenities prepared for 3 people - slippers, bathrobe, towels, shower gels etc. This doesnt come very often, and doesnt come free at all, but Portman Ritz did this for us! I was really impressive to the attention of details. Bathroom was awesome, it has a bathtub provided with bath salt and a separate shower tub.

Staff wear a smile all the time and ready to help the guests. Although there is not a "lobby", we just go to the "cafe" like area, sit down and use the free wifi. Never got kicked out.

Location... think it is supposed to be convenient, but we just took a cab everywhere. be sure you get the hotel location card, i had a hard time pronouncing the hotel name in mandarin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeykidkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed 6 nights in The Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai and to be honest if i could move in to this hotel i would. Everything about it was beautiful. The hotel is a big imposing building with a very grand facade and even grander lobby, the flowers in there were stunning.. the rooms were spacious and very very clean and the views.. the views were just astounding..we were on the 19th floor and waking up to see Shanghai in the morning was just breath taking!

The breakfast was possibly the best breakfast i've ever had.. you could choose from just about anything? Traditional Chinese.. vegetarian, european right through to your full English..the pastries were so fresh and tasty, the fruit was in abundance and all very fresh & delicious.. and the service you recieve is first class..

The hotel is in a good proximity to the city center, well within walking distance and based on Nanjing Road which itself leads to the city center, you're a pleasant and interesting walk from all the sights Shanghai has to offer..and it's close to a lot of lovely restraunts and bars, particularly the Irish bar to the rear of the hotel..

Safe to say i LOVED our stay here and can't wait to go back very soon!

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent views over the city and well worth the trip in the escalator for :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

The hotel is brilliantly situated and rooms and facilities are excellent. However, wherever you go in this hotel, you need at least a sweater, as the air conditioning must be set at arctic temperature. Apart from that, rooms are very good indeed. Only other quibble with this hotel is, some of the staff in "Tables Restaurant" seem to have had personality by-passes as there were several miserable staff, or maybe it is working in such low temperatures.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here for a week and have to rate it excellent for its location, service quality, F&B, room's comfort level and all else. Right from the minute I arrived from the airport till our departure, the brand's Gold Standard manifested itself throughout all my interactions with the staff.

In the midst of our stay, my one personal item was removed from the room by the Housekeeping and upon my return I immediately called to ask for its return. The Duty Manager called and came to see me within 5 minutes. Unfortunately I did not get my item back and disappointed in the loss of an item but the swiftness of apologies extended did soothed some ill-feelings; hopefully such lapses can be eliminated as one cannot guess what things hold sentimental values for its owner, no matter how small an item is.

In this hotel, they are indeed the Ladies and Gentlemen serving Ladies and Gentlemen.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommymomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Only a one night stay, unfortunately, but I'll be back. Absolutely everything a Shanghai hotel such as this should be. Service and room were excellent and location is fine - although it is only a few km's from the Bund etc, walking can be problematic. VERY difficult to actually get around the streets on foot due to the elevated roads and the traffic! You're much better off getting a taxi to a central walking point and then another one from there back to the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RussellJW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#42 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#23 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Property: The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#166 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing