We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Ranked #43 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Great Location”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have stayed at the Portman a total of 13 nights over the past year. The Club floor is fantastic, surpassing many other 5-star "clubs" with their generous food spreads, beverage selection and friendliness of staff. Gym is on the small side, but the pool is quite nice. While the hotel may not be as posh and trendy as many of Shanghai's newer additions, the Portman is still a favorite for its comfortable rooms, privacy and club floor benefits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank return2asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    514
    184
    56
    38
See reviews for
162
222
87
751
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel was beautiful. Impressive.
The room was beautiful.
We had to ask the cleaning staff to come to the room. There were fingerprints all over the window. Our room looked down at a rooftop park. When we tried to go there we found out it belonged to the condos next door.

We had drinks in the lobby bar and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

I like to walk and I didn't really find anything interesting around this hotel. The front street was crowded and noisy.

A nice hotel but only to stay inside and take taxis to other places.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed there for business for the first time due to the last minutes change of hotel and a friend of my can get me a really decent rate. I am able to get and to find a decent hotel in a very good location. I was already very grateful that I can get a room in the hotel and the checkin process was extremely smooth/professional. You can tell the hotel is one of the oldest hotel judging from the interior, however everything is maintained pretty well.
The hotel is in the best location in Shanghai where you can easily get to anywhere without a headache. Everyone knows the traffic in Shanghai is horrible so this is definitely a plus. I also had a problem with my bathtub however the maintenance came like in a min and fixed the problem. Room service is also fast.
The biggest thing about this hotel is that we all know that they cannot compete with all the newbies, the Park, the Puli, or the new Andaz, but it maintains a 5 star hotel service with the location and price that you cannot beat. it is a bargain!

Room Tip: Don't forget the best Chinese restaurant Ding Tai Fung is right down stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Overall nice Array of Food. NICE setup and Display. Value for Money.
Service Qualität very poor. The ladies Only Served me, they always ignored my wife! Service very unpolite, by entrance the lady not even welcomed us. It seems just doing business without heart and passion. Unfortunately that's china, many places like this.


Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RMchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have stayed here many times and will be returning soon. I totally agree with other views on Trip it has become 'Ritz Carlton Light' as it is not up with the rest of the stable and subsequently cannot charge premium rates. Nonetheless, the service is still the best in Shanghai.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gartartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

we have upgrade the room which provide up to 6 meals a day in the hotel business floor. food quality is very good. and room is quite relaxing. I went there with my family and it's a place to recommend staying .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just great value and great location. 1000 renminbi for a night in a hotel of this quality is a no-brainier, especially when the service at their competitors like the JW Marr is soon poor. Great quality rooms and a decent night's sleep!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#22 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,110 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,464 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#51 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,149 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Property: The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#43 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#160 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing