We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Ranked #41 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Very good service all around. The rooms have everything you need. Unless I missed it, at check-in I wasn't told about the complimentary breakfast at Tabled next door. Breakfast was a good spread and it's a shame I only got to use it once.

Thank Ronald v
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alvin J, Front of House Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear guest,
I am indeed pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
There are newer reviews for The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I am a regular client of The Portman Shanghai.

I went to the taxi line yesterday to take a cab to a business destination and was faced with a concierge who neither spoke nor read English. I was forced to return to the front desk to have my destination written in Chinese...ridiculous.

In an effort to save money hotels and restaurants in Shanghai are hiring Chinese speakers vs multilinguals..I would expect to see this at a lesser
property but not at the Portman Ritz Carlton.

I would like a reply from management regarding this situation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cabotcroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derekaflint, General Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. It is unfortunate to learn that we did not meet your expectations in regards to our taxi dispatcher. Please know that your satisfaction is very important to us and we would be most grateful for the opportunity to personally speak to you about your overall experience. Please contact the Executive Office and ask for me by name, at +86-21-6279-8898, at your convenience, should you wish to further discuss.

Warm Regards,

Derek A. Flint
General Manager
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As expected service is excellent all staff speak basic English. The hotel is conveniently located off subway line 2 and bus line 20 from PNG airport. Access into hotel is a bit difficult as there was no actual front entrance in the classic sense. Be careful when walking in as there are cars and cabs flying about with little concern for foot traffic. Check in was a breeze room was clean but ours needed some repairs slider doors in our suite were not aligned and our ceiling pipe sprung a leak.. Staff was great in addressing the leak and moving us to a new room. The club room is worth the expense as there is an enormous amount of food. Beer is available always and had a great happy hour too. We spent a week there and enjoyed the club room immensely. Pool and spa were great and urban retreat was relaxing and worth the cost. Hotel transportation also very reliable with newer BMW and Mercedes. Driver with basic English.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms we stayed in were nice
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin J, Front of House Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton for your recent stay. I am very glad to read your compliments on the club, spa, transportation and the staff; and I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable time with us. Please know that your satisfaction is very important to us, and it is unfortunate to learn that the room and the enhancement project caused you inconvenience. We are indeed working on a new arrival experience and I look forward to welcoming you back with a brand new hotel front entrance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

There are several excellent hotels in Shanghai, but the Portman Ritz-Carlton has become our go-to hotel for its convenient location. The rooms and facilities are well maintained and the service is consistently excellent. Good value of the money. Breakfast is a disappointment, but you can simply step outside the front door for a bite at Starbucks, Baker & Spice, Element Fresh, Pizza Express or the foreign grocery; all on the same property. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin J, Front of House Manger at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Ladies and Gentlemen in our hotel, we would like to Thank You for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai and for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to know that the genuine care and consistent service provided by our Ladies & Gentlemen had made your stay memorable, and thank you for spending the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

At The Ritz-Carlton, we pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for all of our guests to enjoy a warm, relaxed yet refined ambiance.

Once again, Thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a week's meeting here.

The overall hotel is dated in its design, with dim lights and dark walls. The meeting rooms are gloomy. there is one smaller meeting room (max seating of 4 round tables of 5 seats each table) with some natural light (no view).

The guest room is especially darkly lit. Soft bed. Interestingly, the power switches are to your left hand side at the not-so big writing desk. Hence it is very awkward and blocking the way when you work on your laptop.

One main deterring factor for my future stay is the weak internet signal despite its IT's help.

Service is really good at various levels, not superficial.

The front desk manager was instant in getting IT to help with the internet issue, and followed up. Housekeeping was super polite when I asked for extra bottled water. Banquet staff was attentive and all smiling. The staff would escort you to the public taxi stand outside the hotel. You are warmly greeted at the elevators, mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuzimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin J, Front of House Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Ladies and Gentlemen in our hotel, we would like to Thank You for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai and for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to know that the genuine care and personalized service provided by our Ladies & Gentlemen had made your stay memorable.

We greatly appreciate your recognition to front desk and housekeeping, and thank you for spending the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

At The Ritz-Carlton, we pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for all of our guests to enjoy a warm, relaxed yet refined ambiance.

Once again, Thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel, truly is a 'home away from home'. Our beautifully appointed room on 39th Floor, gave us access to the Club Lounge, where staff provided impeccable service throughout our stay. The food and drinks on offer all day long, was wonderful. The ambassadors at this lounge, in particular Sophie, with special mention to Nadia and Lilly were fantastic!!!! These beautiful ladies, always with a smile, spoilt us . Sophie was full of information as to where to shop, eat or sightsee; Thank you for making us feel so very special.
The hotel is centrally located, with very good restaurants within the complex and a great supermarket on the Lower Ground floor, which is worth a visit.
Shopping district is within walking distance and at night, becomes a pedestrian mall. So beautiful.
And finally a big "thank you" to Pascha Bhatti, for all his assistance during our stay;You are amazing.
Can highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Worthwhile to upgrade to Club Lounge! Food and drinks all day long, with wonderful lounge settees to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntyNives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny Z, Executive Assistant Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Ladies and Gentlemen in our hotel, we would like to Thank You for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai and for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to know that the genuine care and personalized service provided by our Ladies & Gentlemen had made your stay memorable, and thank you for spending the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

At The Ritz-Carlton, we pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for all of our guests to enjoy a warm, relaxed yet refined ambiance.

Once again, Thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Though in the midst of a partial renovation (to be completed in August 2014), the Portman Ritz Carlton in Shanghai offers comfort and excellent service in a convenient setting. It's part of a residential development so, just outside its doors, there are an HSBC ATM, some good restaurants (including an organic vegetarian restaurant that is packed with young Chinese office workers at lunchtime), some high end clothing stores and a lovely tea shop. Xintiandi, the entertainment and shopping district, is about 10 minutes away by taxi.

The beds are very comfortable, with those 400-threadcount sheets that feel like heaven. If you have access to the Club on the 43rd floor, there's happy hour till 8pm with nibbles and wine. Breakfast is also served there. But, above all, the staff here are outstanding and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor for a good view of the city. I haven't had a bad room yet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kneesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny Z, Executive Assistant Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Ladies and Gentlemen in our hotel, we would like to Thank You for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai and for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to know that the genuine care and personalized service provided by our Ladies & Gentlemen had made your stay memorable, and thank you for spending the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

At The Ritz-Carlton, we pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for all of our guests to enjoy a warm, relaxed yet refined ambiance.

Once again, Thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#21 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,142 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,478 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#50 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,170 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#159 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £126 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing