We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good place to stay for business in Shanghai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Ranked #50 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very good place to stay for business in Shanghai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Location is perfect as many company headquarters are in close distance . In addition, you can enjoy shopping at the Nanjing Road. The staff is friendly and competent. Rooms are quite and clean. I recommend to take a taxi from the Hotel to the famous Bund and walk back to the Hotel from there through Nanjing Road (roughly 90 minutes walk). I can also recommend visting the Shanghai Museum - again recommendation is to take a taxi from the Hotel and walk back.

Room Tip: gigher floors for a better sight of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin J, Front of House Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai for your recent stay, and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    473
    171
    51
    33
See reviews for
127
192
72
636
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is located in the Portman Centre on Shanghai's "5th Avenue" close to a number of restaurants and bars. There is even a Theatre in the centre where we saw an amazing acrobatic show. The hotel itself is typical of many good hotels in the East i.e. large reception, lots of marble and glass and the staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was big enough as was the bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed with separate shower and bath. I do hate those showers over the bath. There were plenty of toiletries, towels and bathrobes. Having to wait 10 minutes to be seated in the hotel restaurant for breakfast on the first day was disappointing but the food was both western and eastern and plentiful. The only disappointment was the building work going on in front of the hotel, so perhaps next year when the new entrance is finished it will get 5 out of 5 rather than the 4 out of 5 I gave it.

Room Tip: Talking to others,most rooms seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin J, Front of House Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments and I am pleased to know you had an enjoyable time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back with the new front entrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the start of a Viking Cruise tour. The front of the hotel is under going renovations and arriving by taxi we did not get a good first impression of the hotel. There were no clear signs to show where to go and had to be told by one of the other businesses employees how to get into the hotel. We then walked all the way through to the reception with cases and hand luggage, passing a number of hotel staff, before eventually being asked if we could be helped. Other than that the hotel has good quality rooms, breakfasts and reception area. In the complex outside there is a very good, if expensive, bakery for coffee and snacks. Location is reasonably good for the tourist and shopping areas as well as the Jingan temple. Free wifi in the rooms and although it was not the quickest it was perfectly usable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livimember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin J, Front of House Manger at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. While on the one hand I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is unfortunate to learn that your arrival experience was not as pleasant as it should be. We will take this seriously and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This Ritz Carlton is everything you expect it to be: beautiful hotel, wonderful views, exceptional service, lovely guest rooms, and careful attention given to all the little details that make a traveller feel special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin J, Front of House Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,
I am indeed thrilled to read your compliments and the ladies and gentlemen look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed this week on business - they are renovating the lobby and have been for some time which means that it is a bit of a mess. Rooms are well away from all that though and once you get inside, you don't notice it. The gym is well furnished and great restaurants within the complex or nearby. They include Din Tai Fung and Pizza Express so variety for a range of tastes. There are also some great local choices in the area. I have stayed here about 5 times and enjoy all my visits.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BalancedCritic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Rooms Division Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Ladies and Gentlemen in our hotel, we would like to Thank You for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai and for your wonderful review.

We really appreciate your comments with regards to the inconveniences occurred during the hotel front entrance upgrades.

We have reviewed all the areas where improvement is needed, and together with all The Ladies & Gentlemen in our hotel, we will take appropriate action to resolve each issue .

Once again, Thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laureldale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We loved this hotel. it was close to everything and the staff was so very helpful. A small shopping and eating center right at the hotel which is very inexpensive. Was a little dissapointed that you could not use a computer in the business center for free and they had no gift shop, but there was plenty of shooping nearby.

Room Tip: The hop on/off trolley stops right at the hotel. Best way to see the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin J, Front of House Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedbacks on TripAdvisor, and it appears that you had a superb time in Shanghai. I do hope we could have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was now my 3rd extended stay in china and the 2nd time I called the Ritz Portman my home base. My total trip was about 5 weeks and I was in the Portman about half that time. Once again the Front Desk manager Amanda helped me with all my logistics around all of china, I was happily welcome by Kevin (security) and was great to see Jennifer on the club level everyday. They also managed to continue to shield the extensive renovation the hotel and property as a whole is going through

I firmly believe this is the best place to stay in shanghai, especially if you don't speak Mandarin and are not used to being in China. The Shanghai center complex has everything you need from Starbucks to a great burger place, pizza, high end dumpling chain and they are adding a bunch if restaurants. Although the hotel is a bit older they are redoing the rooms and it is still a Ritz so you know the service will be perfect.

I am headed back on Tuesday so I will have to review one more time but I anticipate another very proper stay. Oh, I also left laundry and dry cleaning a few times and found it in my room waiting for me when I got back, it's the little things that count!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roryg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan W, Manager at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai, responded to this review, 23 February 2015
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Ladies and Gentlemen in our hotel, we would like to Thank You for choosing The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai and for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to know that the genuine care and personalized service provided by our Ladies & Gentlemen had made your stay memorable, and thank you for spending the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

At The Ritz-Carlton, we pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for all of our guests to enjoy a warm, relaxed yet refined ambiance.

Once again, Thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai soon.

Evan WANG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Jing'an
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai
#24 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#42 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Jing An Shangri-La, West Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai

Property: The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Address: No.1376 Nanjing West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Formerly The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#50 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#58 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#163 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Marriott so you can book your The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Portman Ritz Carlton Shanghai
Ritz Shanghai
Shanghai Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing