We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #46 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What A Find!”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My friend and I spent a wonderful three days at this hotel. It's classy, well-maintained, centrally located, friendly and extraordinarily good value for money. This is a hotel I would definitely make my base for my next visit to Shanghai. If the hotel re-instated their airport shuttle service, it would be perfect!

A very BIG thank you to the staff and management of Central Hotel. Well done and 3 gold stars for excellent customer service!!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might find the occasional creaking of the heavily wooded decor a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share the comments with us. We are very pleased that the hotel met with your expectations. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    371
    58
    17
    8
See reviews for
110
210
49
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Most guests looked to be Chinese. So as a westerner, I could feel the differences as compared with other hotels like Le Meridian. For example: smoking is permitted in all common areas. Few staff speak English, so you often have to wait for an English speaker to be brought to you. They botched up a courier delivery, and failed to make amends, resulting in my not receiving my package. The fitness room (not a gym) had very little equipment, and was missing one of the dumbbells. Fortunately the hotel across the road has the same owner, so you can have a workout, sauna or swim without paying extra. Unfortunately while the next door hotel's little fitness centre is modern and better, it's not safe. e.g. one of the dumbbells was unscrewing itself while I worked out. If this had dropped mid workout, it could have caused injury.

Biggest gripe came from the air-conditioner. The room was baking hot. So you would think that switching off the AC and opening a window would fix this, right? Wrong. The AC still pumps in warm air even when switched off. Had to have a tech lady come visit twice (she didn't speak any English, and didn't fix anything). Turns out it is possible to set the AC to 20 degrees, you just can't switch it off, and need to know the right configuration (isn't logical).
Unfortunately I lost valuable sleep in the process by being woken in the middle of the night sweating in a sauna room before this was discovered.

The jewel of this hotel is its superb restaurant. Worth the dine irrespective of whether you're staying at the hotel. Service was excellent, staff attest to not serving any MSG, menu and ordering is electronic complete with pictures of each dish, and staff descriptions. Most of all the cuisine is typically of Shanghai, affordable and delicious.

Liked the room layout, appreciated the modern furnishings, wired internet, and desk for working. The TV's bright stand-by light opposite the bed can be killed by unplugging the TV. The two phone flashed most nights despite not having any messages waiting, annoying.

Since Shanghai can be noisy, and this hotel is as the name suggests 'central', suggest asking for a higher floor to reduce the noise.

While I appreciated some aspects, next visit to Shanghai I'd prefer to stay in a hotel that doesn't suffer so many drawbacks.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calumc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is very important for our hotel training and improvement, so we truly appreciate your detailed comments. We have delivered your comments to related departments and we sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience in your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

A wonderful hotel, with friendly staff, great location, amazing room and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! We didn't eat in the restaurant, but just had a very civilised drink in the bar whilst a lady played the piano. If you would like a little taste of luxury for a very reasonable price, then choose this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliap586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted with your high esteem of our hotel, our location and our service. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The hotel is clean and at a good location. Around 5 mins walk to the Metro station and around 20-30 mins walk to The Bund. I stayed on the 17th floor and the room is really neat and clean. Only thing is that the receptionists are not that friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very pleased that the hotel location and facilities met with your expectations. As to the service problems from the receptionists, hotel management has taken them seriously and has begun to give training about service for hotel staff. We sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience at our hotel in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I reviewed this hotel in 2008, and stayed here again in March 2013. I was delighted to find that it's still as good - if not improved!

Service here is excellent - English is spoken by staff although some Mandarin helps of course. Amenities are also very good, with improvement having been made to the restaurant and bar areas, and apparently the Gym.

The hotel's key attractiveness for me is its location on Nanjing Rd, close enough to walk to shops, the nearby Museum, the Bund and even Yu Gardens (which is about 30 minutes walk away).

I had room 2016 - and I was so impressed I'd try to get again. Clean, reasonably quiet, extremely comfortable, I had a great night's sleep. It's also the largest room I've had in a Chinese hotel. I kept thinking there was some mistake, or they felt sorry for me as I was travelling on my own. Apparently not, that's what my money paid for.

My only negative experience was the window cleaner outside my window, sitting on what looked like a children's swing. I'm sure he was safe, but I sometimes struggle with vertigo in upper floor hotel rooms, and his presence (20 floors up) made it worse while he was there. A minor quibble really.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, Public Relations Manager at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share the comments with us. We are very pleased that the hotel met with your expectations once again. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The location is outstanding. and near to the main walking streets. The staff is quite friendly and most speak English. The rooms are comfortable, well furnished, cleas and pleasant and the beds are comfortable which is not at all usual for China. The breakfast for quality; choice, service was oustanding and by far the best we had anywhere in China. All in all it was a good experience and I would recommend it. It is definately worth the price that they charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Upon entering the room, you get a "wow" feeling. The bed was quite comfortable, with choices of different pillows to suit your preference. You can indicate this by writing on the card what's your preferred pillow type and the housekeeping bring it to you.

Laundry is costly, and got my request mixed up pertaining to having my shirt hanged instead of folded. Thankfully, there is an in-room ironing board and iron to sort this out.

Breakfast was a very good spread, with international and local food available. English newspapers are also available at the reception upon entering the dining area.

Wi-fi is also available for free, on top of the LAN cable in the hotel room. Internet is FOC, which helps a lot!

However, the poor bathroom design made it that the water from the standing shower would overflow to the main areas of the bathroom, resulting in wet floors all over.

Overall very good experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#42 of 5,059 in Shanghai
994 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#39 of 5,059 in Shanghai
767 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.555 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing