We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, reasonably priced, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #51 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

In Shanghai you pay a premium for Western brands. This is a Chinese hotel that is as good as Western branded hotels that cost twice the price. Room was smart, clean, modern with a great bathroom. Breakfast buffet was great. Bar was comfortable. Location is excellent right next to Nanjing Lu, ten minutes walk from the Bund. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very nice rooms, not huge, but big enough. Clean, good service, great location and overall very good value for your money. You definitely get what you pay for, and this is the reason I keep coming back on my short business stay overs in Shanghai. No swimming pool is the only downside to me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really nice and super located. You walk 20 meters and you are on the famous Nanjing Road Ora walk 10-15 min and you are on the famous Bund walk where you can admire the fabulous Shanghai skyline. The hotel is clean and nice as I said but but:
The service is really bad if you compare it with other hotels in western countries, the hotel is cheap so you can't complain but I had really some issues dealing with the staff. Once I came back to my room at 15:30 and the rooms wasn't even cleaned and I had to wait till 16:30-17 till it was done. The breakfast is "ok" nothing special but it's good, the Chinese restaurant wasn't that good but it's something that depend on what you are used to. The rooms are spacious and nice, for the price very recommended but for the service no! Very little English from the staff, and that makes it even worse when you try to discuss and try to explain your problem.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Chris_Globe_Trottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Hotel. We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately and please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. We sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience in your next visit to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked as part of a group tour we did not know what standard of room to expect so we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in a corner room that comprised a reasonable sized bedroom, a semi separated sitting room and a bathroom with separate bath & shower that were clean and well presented. As we've come to expect in this part of the world the beds were firm and the pillows adequate if not great. The hotel is very conveniently located just one small block from Nanjing Rd and within walking distance of some of the major attractions. There is a small Family Mart on the next corner if you use the rear exit from the hotel. There are quite a few ATMs in the nearby streets and we felt more comfortable using these than those in the busier areas. I did not discover wifi but as I travel with a small wifi modem the wired internet was OK and free.

Room Tip: The corner rooms appeared bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfterDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

first of the it's pretty. second, the rooms are nice and big, and the bed is the most amazing comfortable soft thing in the world!
the hotel is located in a superb location, the staff is professional and speaks english.
the room service is professional, quick and yummy!
the only thing bad i have to say is about the wifi - it's non existent. only after calling the reception
they brought a router to fix it, and then it worked but it was a bit annoying to try to work around it.
Other than that - this is the hotel to come back to. will def stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnkngruvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review of our Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our room facilities, location as well as the service. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as the last hotel in our 17 day tour of China. It really is a lovely hotel with excellent decor, large rooms, comfortable beds, clean and roomy bathrooms with both shower and bath, and in a brilliant location, 30 seconds from the main shopping street (Nanjing East Road), and about 10 minutes easy walk to the Bund.

Staff spoke more English than at most of the hotels that we stayed at during our trip, so that was very useful.

Breakfast had a wide choice, both western and Chinese food, can't comment on the price for breakfast as it was included in our overall tour deal.

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, as there are many other choices available in surrounding areas, however we did use the bar and that was very reasonably priced I thought for such a good hotel in such an excellent location.

Haven't rated the Swimming Pool or Spa as we didn't use these - I believe they were located in a sister hotel just across the road.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comments that will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in late April. The location is very convenient for those wanting to stay near The Bund area. The hotel is directly across from the pedestrian walkway leading to The Bund. Felt fairly safe but beware a few of the weirdos that hang around the McDonalds restaurants waiting for westerners. They come up and sit opposite you and just stare at you.
The hotel is very clean and modern. The staff were very helpful with a fairly good command of the English langauge. The rooms were a reasonable size and the beds were very comfy. Cannot comment on the breakfast as I did not want to pay the prices they were asking for breakfast. It was easy and convenient to find other much cheaper options very near by. There is also a corner supermarket on the opposite corner for any other essentials you may need. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share the comments with us. We are very pleased that the hotel met with your expectations. In particular, we appreciate the feedback regarding our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#62 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,042 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#68 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.555 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £82 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing