We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #46 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel reasonably priced”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I finally stayed at this hotel after walking by it for years now while in Shanghai. It is a great location and right off of Nanjing Road which is a good spot to be in. The hotel claims to be a four star and it is every bit of that and more. The rooms are comfortable albeit a little on the smaller size. They have a great breakfast buffet. The staff is friendly, courteous and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    371
    58
    17
    8
See reviews for
110
210
49
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent seven nights at the Central Hotel Shanghai while on a city break holiday. It's position is excellent, close to the main pedestrianised shopping area and the Bund with good Metro connections.The concierge is thoroughly recommended for booking shows such as The Shanghai Acrobats and The Night River cruise (reasonable price and good seats). The room was comfortable 4 star standard and although there is no pool the spa and sauna complex are good for relaxing. There are many more luxurious hotels in Shanghai but this one is good value for money.

Room Tip: Request late check out if you have a flight in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments that will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
319 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our China tour.. It is a lovely hotel with large rooms, comfortable beds, bathroom with both shower and bath, and in a brilliant location. Pop out of the front door and within a minute or so, you have to negotiate the Shanghai traffic, you are in a central shopping area with many restaurants and bars as well.. Consequently we only ate breakfast in the hotel, which was very good, a mixture of continental, English and Chinese. We did however use the bar on two evenings and found the service good and the prices reasonable for a hotel,
Our 21st floor room did give some concerns to my wife but the lifts were brilliant. The staff mostly spoke good English more than in other hotels we had visited. There is a ten to fifteen minute easy walk to The Bund area by the river and in the opposite direction to a small park. I would certainly use the hotel again if I was in Shanghai

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views over Shanghai otherwise you may just be looking at concrete
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

In Shanghai you pay a premium for Western brands. This is a Chinese hotel that is as good as Western branded hotels that cost twice the price. Room was smart, clean, modern with a great bathroom. Breakfast buffet was great. Bar was comfortable. Location is excellent right next to Nanjing Lu, ten minutes walk from the Bund. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very nice rooms, not huge, but big enough. Clean, good service, great location and overall very good value for your money. You definitely get what you pay for, and this is the reason I keep coming back on my short business stay overs in Shanghai. No swimming pool is the only downside to me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really nice and super located. You walk 20 meters and you are on the famous Nanjing Road Ora walk 10-15 min and you are on the famous Bund walk where you can admire the fabulous Shanghai skyline. The hotel is clean and nice as I said but but:
The service is really bad if you compare it with other hotels in western countries, the hotel is cheap so you can't complain but I had really some issues dealing with the staff. Once I came back to my room at 15:30 and the rooms wasn't even cleaned and I had to wait till 16:30-17 till it was done. The breakfast is "ok" nothing special but it's good, the Chinese restaurant wasn't that good but it's something that depend on what you are used to. The rooms are spacious and nice, for the price very recommended but for the service no! Very little English from the staff, and that makes it even worse when you try to discuss and try to explain your problem.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Globe_Trottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Hotel. We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately and please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. We sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience in your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked as part of a group tour we did not know what standard of room to expect so we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in a corner room that comprised a reasonable sized bedroom, a semi separated sitting room and a bathroom with separate bath & shower that were clean and well presented. As we've come to expect in this part of the world the beds were firm and the pillows adequate if not great. The hotel is very conveniently located just one small block from Nanjing Rd and within walking distance of some of the major attractions. There is a small Family Mart on the next corner if you use the rear exit from the hotel. There are quite a few ATMs in the nearby streets and we felt more comfortable using these than those in the busier areas. I did not discover wifi but as I travel with a small wifi modem the wired internet was OK and free.

Room Tip: The corner rooms appeared bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfterDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralhotel s, qc at Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#42 of 5,059 in Shanghai
994 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#39 of 5,059 in Shanghai
766 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.555 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing