We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good quality, strategic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #45 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Alpignano, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“good quality, strategic location”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

In the downtown, in the middle of the main Est Nanjing Road, nearest to the two main metro lines, strategic for visiting Shanghai and neighborhood.
Rooms and common areas very comfortable, clean, large, noiseless, tasteful chinese style.
Kindly and professional staff, very good tea room, free wifi on demand,
Recommended value for money definitely above average.
Internal both served and self service restaurant, both very good, value for quality and money.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cedroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    367
    57
    17
    8
See reviews for
106
208
47
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My sister and I stayed here as part of a tour but extended to stay on our own for two days as we wanted to go to the world expo too. The hotel is a block back from the main pedestian road. It is easy to get to the main shopping strip and many tourist attractions from here. If you can't walk to where you want to go, taxis are very cheap. The staff were very helpful and friendlly. If we needed something they were at our door to help in a few minutes. The bathroom was well equipped and didn't have a showere that leaked over the floor (which many hotels seem to have). There was plenty of room to hang clothes and lots of drawers. The only negatives would be that the beds were very firm and we could hear other people coming in and out of their doors.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intervention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Could not have been better located, 10 mins walk to the closest station, 25-30 mins walk to the Bund.
Buffet breakfast was great plenty to choose from, the usual fruit, meat, cheese as well as a fully cooked english style breakfast along with a chinese selection.
Buffet evening meal was very reasonable about £15 per person good choice and included beer, water or coke.
Rooms were clean and spacious, good selection of toiletries in the bathroom, shower over the bath.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzanillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I loved this hotel when I was in shaghai for bizness... very spacious, clean and great rates! I highly recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grimmetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I stayed here while visiting Expo 2010. The room was large with all the amenities expected of a western style hotel. Breakfast in the buffet got a little crowded and it was a good idea to go early. The buffet dinner in the same room was OK, but I preferred their Asian restaurant where I had two very good meals. The hotel staff were friendly and very obliging.

There is a small convenience store within the hotel and they sell wine. I wanted a bottle to take to the room but they all had corks, and the store did not sell cork screws. However I found a shop nearby where I could by wine with a screw cap. .

It was an easy walk from the hotel to People's Square station to get to Expo, about 5 stops away on Line 8. You can walk there via a pedestrian mall with nice shops. Another option for getting to Expo was to take a cab to the dedicated station, where they have a line which takes you right into the site. The only drawback with this was hailing a cab at the station on the way back, so the line to People's Square is a more reliable way for the return journey.

The Central Hotel served my purposes perfectly and did not break the budget. I was on a package which an agent had arranged, including 4 nights accommodation, breakfast, airport transfers by car, a 3 day expo ticket and a train and bus pass. Some cabs also accept this pass.

I found the internet rates in the business centre a little expensive, as you pay for a minimum of 15 minutes at a time then so much per minute, and the connection was not fast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikefromBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Good hotel,the staff is nice,and the view by room is magnific

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mered85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich Spa Worcs
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Stayed for two nights at the start of our 24day trip to China - with CTS. Excellent Hotel and location - food good - rooms comfortable - staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#38 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#37 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.555 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Central Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing