We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel but needs security upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #25 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel but needs security upgrade”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed at the GH SH for about a week while on an assignment. Overall nice hotel and the lounge is nice. Odd things around hotel security, I received a door knock from a "guest" asking if I wanted company. Overall great hotel but I'm not sure how the guests sneak in when you need a key to get to room floors. I'm not sure if there is some loophole there. Restaurants in the hotel are nice and the cloud 9 bar gives you a great view of SH during the evening. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,401
    682
    164
    43
    22
See reviews for
195
287
110
911
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed here for three weeks autumn 2011 and had a great experience. Great view over Huangpu river and Lujiazui. Close to great shopping at Super Brand Mall and IFC Plaza. Easy to get around using line 2 from Lujiazui subway station.

Room Tip: Try the Club Riverview rooms with glass cornered rooms at 83rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

A family trip to Shanghai during my "scape" from busy working life in Australia celebrating my birthday. Great room has stunning view of the Pearl Tower "inches" away from the hotel room! What an amazing city! Attentive service starts from the airport limousine service, porters, check in/out, the concierge particular managed reserving us a nice window table at the very last minute in one of the finest restaurant in the town. I particular fell in love with the amazing CLOUD 9 bar situated at the highest altitude I have ever experienced with a nice glass of vino at the night, you should not have any problems getting a nice table late at the night even though by yourself, for instant, in most of my cases :) particular if you are in house guest. Mum particular loved the wide selections of the breakfast buffet on offer, no other buffets can ever compared with this one! Traditional Chinese combined with southern style and northern style, Korean, Japanese, Thai, Indonesian, French, American, English, German, Swiss, etc... Our very last stop inside the hotel after we have already checked out, just a quick stop for some traditional Chinese dim sim/ brunch in the CANTON restaurant killing some spared time before heading to the airport. Elegant and Contemporary in style and decor, sliver-tipped chopsticks, flavorsome traditional Chinese Dim Sim, small dishes, of course the traditional loose leaf tea. Only one criticism if I have to be honest, If you are a non-smoker and pre-booked and requested a non-smoking room in 2 months in advance, upon the arrival to your room there is significant residual odor from the tobacco, I am sure you will not be very impressed as well!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CG0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The room they gave us had a great view of the Haungpu river but my husband wanted a view of the Pearl Tower, so we asked if another room was available. They quickly sent up someone who showed us 3 other available rooms. Of course we ended up upgrading to a 2 room suite on the 61st floor, but it had a perfect view of the Bund, Pearl Tower and Shanghai for as far as the eye could see. The suite was large and comfortable with complementary wifi. We also had access to the executive/club lounge on the 83rd floor. Every evening we visited the lounge for complementary cocktails, snacks, salads, and appetizers. Great food with amazing views.

The hotel staff was attentive and helpful. The concierge printed maps and wrote down locations for us to give to taxi drivers. I have only one criticism of the concierge and that is because they neglected to tell us was that we needed our passports for the train to Suzhou when we talked to them about taking the train. We were almost stranded in Suzhou when they refused to sell us tickets back to Shanghai. Thankfully, some Chinese travelers took pity on us and bought tickets for us.

This is a fantastic hotel, but as tourists, we would probably not stay here again on our next visit to Shanghai, ONLY because we might like to stay on the other side of the river. Several times a day we traveled back and forth on the subway from the hotel to locations on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxWildThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Have stayed on business in this hotel three times, and each time it improves. The service is always attentive but not overbearing; the bedrooms are well appointed, comfortable with wonderful views across the river and city; the Grand Club lounge on the 83rd floor is a great facility with food and drink available - especially goo dfor breakfast. If I were to go on vacation rather than for business to Shanghai I'd still want to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I went here with my friends the first evening in Shanghai to have a drink and enjoy the view. It was a bit tricky to find the bar, you have to change elevator and walk through some corridors but the staff was very helpful. The drinks were nice but expensive (around 105 CNY)compared to the prices in china and it was hard finding a table by the windows. Nontheless, the view is extraordinary so it was well worth it!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Early-birdStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

"ni hao" "Jin Mao Jun Yue" Thank you to the whole team, we really loved our stay, our room was just fantastic and much appreciated.
The room was a a special treat, and the service and the Grand club lounge experience on level 83 was truly a nice touch with a great breakfast, especially the Salmon! And wow the view.
We will be back soon for sure, many thanks

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crepelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#18 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,128 reviews
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#54 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,950 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Shanghai

Property: Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Address: Jin Mao Tower, No.88 Century Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200121, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowning the prestigious 88-storey Jin Mao Tower, the hotel begins on the 53rd floor and rises to the 87th floor. The 555-room Grand Hyatt Shanghai is located in the centre of Lujiazui, Pudong’s business and financial area. As Hyatt International’s flagship property in China, Grand Hyatt Shanghai caters to the international business traveller by offering a style of service and range of facilities that are second to none.Jin Mao Tower was developed by China Jin Mao Group Co. Ltd, and designed by world-renowned architects, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill of Chicago, and soars to a height of 420.5 metres (1,380 feet). The most dramatic architectural feature of the tower is a 33-storey atrium inside Grand Hyatt Shanghai, starting on the 56th floor. The interior design of the hotel is by Bilkey Llinas Consulting of Palm Beach, Florida.Featuring contemporary art deco touches combined with traditional Chinese imagery, the guestrooms are spacious and all have stunning views of Shanghai. All guestrooms have complimentary broadband and wireless Internet access, CAT 5 high-speed modem computer dataports, two-line telephones and a voicemail message system. The oversized bathrooms are appointed with separate baths and showers, feature high-tech shower-towers with three shower heads and have heated mirrors in the shower cubicle (convenient for shaving while you shower), clear glass sinks and double-sided wardrobes. The hotel has seventeen Grand Suites, seventeen Grand Riverview Suites, eight Diplomat Suites, two Presidential Suites and one Chairman Suite. Exclusive Grand Club accommodation is provided at the top of the hotel, ideal for business travellers seeking an even higher level of personalised service. An all-day concierge is provided to guests that can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, evening cocktails served with deluxe hors d’oeurves and coffee and tea in the comfort of the private two-storey Bund View Grand Club Lounge. An executive boardroom is available for Grand Club guests.Located on lobby level 54, Grand Hyatt Shanghai’s Business Centre provides a full range of office equipment and confidential secretarial services, such as translation, printing and parcel wrapping. Business cards can also be printed and delivered. The Business Centre also offers private work areas for rental on an hourly or daily basis and a conference room seating up to ten people. To allow for differences in international time zones, the Business Centre is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week.To wind down after a day of hectic business dealings, the business traveller can appreciate Grand Hyatt’s fitness and recreational facilities that are located on level 57, namely Club Oasis. In addition to comprehensive health club facilities and spa treatments, guests can enjoy swimming in the sky pool while enjoying the breathtaking panorama of the Shanghai skyline.Grand Hyatt Shanghai offers the business traveller an extensive selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy and entertain in. Facilities include Canton restaurant, ON56 (a collection of eateries on level 56 featuring Kobachi Japanese restaurant; Cucina, an Italian restaurant serving brick-oven pizzas; The Grill, offering the freshest seafood and succulent prime-grade meats; Patio, a lounge at the base of the 33-storey atrium; and Wine Bar, offering the most extensive wine selection in town). Grand Hyatt Shanghai is also home to the Sky Lounge Cloud9, a favourite for night owls on the 87th floor; Piano Bar located on level 53 of the Jin Mao Tower, offering breathtaking views of the city; Grand Café, a 24-hour restaurant with buffets; Food Live, a food court with five Asian and Western counters and a casual Chinese restaurant; and Club Jin Mao located on the 86th floor. Club Jin Mao is Shanghai’s most prestigious Shanghainese restaurant and offers the finest facilities for entertaining and relaxation. It's exquisite and authentic cuisine and highly personalised services are available to the public. The hotel’s extensive event and conference facilities include the Grand Ballroom for 1,200 people, the Crystal Ballroom for 750 people and thirteen separate meeting rooms. State-of-the-art multimedia and video conferencing are also available.Located in the prosperous Pudong business district, Grand Hyatt Shanghai is just ten minutes from The Bund, the city’s famous waterfront showcasing turn-of-the-century architectural masterpieces and the Yu Yuan Garden. Shanghai Hong Qiao International Airport is a 30-minute drive and Grand Hyatt Shanghai is the closest five-star hotel from Pudong International Airport, approximately 45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Shanghai
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing