We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #40 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I'm surprised this hotel isn't number room. It is exquisitely breathtaking. You check in on the 87th floor and then the rooms are above and below. The pool has amazing views and is always seemingly empty. The location can't be beat. My only complaint is that the taxis have no interest for some reason in servicing guests here. Just use uber and you will be fine

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank 10sne12day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is very well located in Pudong and has a commanding view of Pearl Tower and the Bund. Rooms are well laid out and furnished. A new useful feature was the wardrobe accessible from two sides.The service lives upto the high standards of the Grand Hyatt brand. The Conference facilities were very satisfactory. The vegetarian spread, both for breakfast and lunch, could be improved upon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajeevP304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in Puxi the first 4 nights of our Shanghai business trip. I had no complaints at all about the hotel, but for the last night we booked this hotel. Maybe I'm just a small town MN boy but I'm not used to this level of opulence?? I've stayed in NY, Vegas, and any other city you can think of in the US and this place puts them to shame. First of all they have you taken a back by the size of the building. It reminded me of the Sears Tower or whatever they call it now, as people are paying to go up to get the view. You get that view from your room! Check in was seamless, they upgraded my room to a king suite. I didn't see the other rooms but I must say that mine was fantastic. The floor to ceiling windows made for a breath taking view of the city. The all marble bathroom was a very nice touch, fully stocked with anything you might need or forgot. I'm not a bath guy but I had to take one as the tub overlooked the city from 70 stories up so I had to experience it. We had breakfast in the hotel, one of the best I've had outside of some of the Mexico Resorts. Anything you might want and presented very well, fantastic latte's. I didn't have any complaints. Overall I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kickassbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My then-girlfriend, now-wife stayed at this gorgeous hotel for a Valentine's weekend. It was exceptional. We paid extra for the Bund-view room (highly recommended) and the view is one of the best in the world. I used to come here and just have coffee at the Atrium Cafe. The atrium itself is amazing, and it is really a hidden treasure of Shanghai. Our room was expensive, but I definitely recommend this, for the view and the romantic atmosphere. I picked the Grand Hyatt over the Park Hyatt at the SWFC because it has the more immediate view of the bund and the Oriental Pearl Tower.

Room Tip: Choose the Bund-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etwurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

One of the most interesting hotels I have stated in due to the view from the interior balcony. The view from our room over many of the surrounding buildings was picturesque. I hear the hotel is also home to the world's longest laundry chute. Excellent breakfast spread. Rooms were clean and an average size for price range.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A bit unusual to find hotel reception on the 54th floor of the hotel. Views are spectacular from reception as well as all restaurants and most bars. The room was quiet and well appointed. The service was top notch. In a great location in Jin Mao Tower.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveandCathyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Grand Hyatt is in the Jin Mao Tower and hotel's lobby is on the 50th floor via a high speed elevator. What fun! We were on the 65th floor with a spectacular view of the Bund.
Several restaurants and lounges - all nice. The pool and hot tub is beautiful - we were the only guests at the time. Public transportation subway is a 5 minute walk from the Grand Hyatt - the subway is clean and many stops throughout the city. Staff is very helpful, professional, and friendly - from the valet on the ground floor, front office, concierge, restaurant wait staff, and housekeepers. Visited during the World Expo in May 2010, and the Concierge Winston purchased our tickets, assisted with transportation, and all other concerns and questions.
Stayed 5 nights and excellent experience and stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaS364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,189 reviews
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#32 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,210 reviews
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Shanghai

Address: Jin Mao Tower, No.88 Century Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200121, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#11 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#176 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £129 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowning the prestigious 88-storey Jin Mao Tower, the hotel begins on the 53rd floor and rises to the 87th floor. The 555-room Grand Hyatt Shanghai is located in the centre of Lujiazui, Pudong’s business and financial area. As Hyatt International’s flagship property in China, Grand Hyatt Shanghai caters to the international business traveller by offering a style of service and range of facilities that are second to none.Jin Mao Tower was developed by China Jin Mao Group Co. Ltd, and designed by world-renowned architects, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill of Chicago, and soars to a height of 420.5 metres (1,380 feet). The most dramatic architectural feature of the tower is a 33-storey atrium inside Grand Hyatt Shanghai, starting on the 56th floor. The interior design of the hotel is by Bilkey Llinas Consulting of Palm Beach, Florida.Featuring contemporary art deco touches combined with traditional Chinese imagery, the guestrooms are spacious and all have stunning views of Shanghai. All guestrooms have complimentary broadband and wireless Internet access, CAT 5 high-speed modem computer dataports, two-line telephones and a voicemail message system. The oversized bathrooms are appointed with separate baths and showers, feature high-tech shower-towers with three shower heads and have heated mirrors in the shower cubicle (convenient for shaving while you shower), clear glass sinks and double-sided wardrobes. The hotel has seventeen Grand Suites, seventeen Grand Riverview Suites, eight Diplomat Suites, two Presidential Suites and one Chairman Suite. Exclusive Grand Club accommodation is provided at the top of the hotel, ideal for business travellers seeking an even higher level of personalised service. An all-day concierge is provided to guests that can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, evening cocktails served with deluxe hors d’oeurves and coffee and tea in the comfort of the private two-storey Bund View Grand Club Lounge. An executive boardroom is available for Grand Club guests.Located on lobby level 54, Grand Hyatt Shanghai’s Business Centre provides a full range of office equipment and confidential secretarial services, such as translation, printing and parcel wrapping. Business cards can also be printed and delivered. The Business Centre also offers private work areas for rental on an hourly or daily basis and a conference room seating up to ten people. To allow for differences in international time zones, the Business Centre is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week.To wind down after a day of hectic business dealings, the business traveller can appreciate Grand Hyatt’s fitness and recreational facilities that are located on level 57, namely Club Oasis. In addition to comprehensive health club facilities and spa treatments, guests can enjoy swimming in the sky pool while enjoying the breathtaking panorama of the Shanghai skyline.Grand Hyatt Shanghai offers the business traveller an extensive selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy and entertain in. Facilities include Canton restaurant, ON56 (a collection of eateries on level 56 featuring Kobachi Japanese restaurant; Cucina, an Italian restaurant serving brick-oven pizzas; The Grill, offering the freshest seafood and succulent prime-grade meats; Patio, a lounge at the base of the 33-storey atrium; and Wine Bar, offering the most extensive wine selection in town). Grand Hyatt Shanghai is also home to the Sky Lounge Cloud9, a favourite for night owls on the 87th floor; Piano Bar located on level 53 of the Jin Mao Tower, offering breathtaking views of the city; Grand Café, a 24-hour restaurant with buffets; Food Live, a food court with five Asian and Western counters and a casual Chinese restaurant; and Club Jin Mao located on the 86th floor. Club Jin Mao is Shanghai’s most prestigious Shanghainese restaurant and offers the finest facilities for entertaining and relaxation. It's exquisite and authentic cuisine and highly personalised services are available to the public. The hotel’s extensive event and conference facilities include the Grand Ballroom for 1,200 people, the Crystal Ballroom for 750 people and thirteen separate meeting rooms. State-of-the-art multimedia and video conferencing are also available.Located in the prosperous Pudong business district, Grand Hyatt Shanghai is just ten minutes from The Bund, the city’s famous waterfront showcasing turn-of-the-century architectural masterpieces and the Yu Yuan Garden. Shanghai Hong Qiao International Airport is a 30-minute drive and Grand Hyatt Shanghai is the closest five-star hotel from Pudong International Airport, approximately 45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Shanghai
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing