We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value 5 stars hotel in Pudong Shanghai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #22 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good value 5 stars hotel in Pudong Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

If you are tourist, I would suggest you to stay in the other side of the town as Pudong is purely a financial district. All interesting tourist things are in Puxi. However, if you are looking for new and high end hotels, Pudong is where you should stay.

Though it is not cheap, it is relatively cheaper than Ritz Carlton and Shangri-la which is just a block or two closer to the core office area around IFC and Citibank Tower. I stayed a few times when it first opened over a decade ago and it is still well maintained. The drawback is the buffet breakfast is just average but overcharged

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ermainator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Ermainator,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at the Grand Hyatt Shanghai.

I was delighted to read that you were still satisfied with the overall service and facilities at our hotel. On the other hand, pertaining to your feedbacks on the buffet breakfast which have been highlighted and will be reviewed by our Food and Beverage management.

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us as it is only through concerned individuals like yourself that we are able to closely fine tune our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Shanghai in the near future.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,338
    661
    153
    40
    20
See reviews for
184
270
104
855
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Ultimate Hotel.
Ultimate Location.
Ultimate View.
Stayed only one night but Ultimate Experience.
The views are stunning out of every window and the inside of the hotel is just as majestic.
The reception of the Grand Hyatt Pudong is on the 54th level of the Jin Mao Tower and the hotel goes up from there until the 85th level.
Room was very well interior.
You will never like to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: select corner room so you can see great panorama.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divyesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Divyesh B,

Warm Greetings from Grand Hyatt Shanghai and thank you for sharing your stay experiences on Trip Advisor.

The pleasure was all ours to be able to serve you and, indeed, your most favourable comments towards hotel’s location, newly styled guest room and fantastic view are most appreciated.

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us as it is only through concerned individuals like yourself that we are able to closely fine tune our service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Shanghai in the near future.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

I am a Hyatt passport member and I have been in this hotel now for 4 Times in two years and I truly love this place for the location and emotion of living above the clouds...BUT...I have never seen such a world class landmark so badly managed and full of service people completely useless and not informed about the most easy information.
We have plenty of examples this times and if I can, so far, save the check-in desk staff as they have been very friendly, the rest of the people (except one guy from France) is really embarrassing.
We are dining in one of the restaurant (the grill) that has a menu with considerably high prices (6 oysters for over 40US$) or steaks of different meat and origin. Some of them from Australia. A 6 oz filet costs the remarkable amount of 480 CNY which means approx 60€!!!!!
I ask the server about the differences among the various types of meat quality and the descriptions, and the answer is "I do not know. I ask the chef!".... The chef comes and I ask him the same question...his answer is even more scary " difficult question..." He says..." Surely a different kind of meat"!!!!!!! Gosh I hope so.....the view is spectacular...but I start to feel depressed.
A couple of hours later, after this experience I call from the room the front desk and ask about Sunday brunch at the caffe place where normally is breakfast. The lady answering the phone says "breakfast is not included in your room rate..." I said I knew but I was asking about brunch for Sunday.
She said..."I ask the manager..."!!!!! She calls me few minutes later and says "the manager says there is no brunch in any restaurant of the hotel" (to note that they serve usually buffet at caffe street during every day of the week at lunch time and dinner)....
e, really but if you need anything prepare to be more the patient."
If I would be the manager I would have high concerns.
I have no idea which are the criteria of the human resource manager but the quality of the service, and even more so, of the personnel is really poor.
It is really irritating and these are just two examples.
What a shame!

Vittorio Giacomelli

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank victor1961_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Victor1961_04,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Shanghai and thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your comments.

Please accept our sincere apologies for these service shortfall you experienced with our Grill and Front Office on your last visit in August. We obviously have some improvements to be made in this area and I assure you that this important matter has been addressed by management concerned and to ensure that corrective measures are taken immediately.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences with us as it is only through concerned individuals like yourself that we are able to closely fine tune our services. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Shanghai in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Grand Hyatt made us feel welcome for the one night we stayed. The views are stunning out of every window and the inside of the hotel is just as majestic. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the spa was amazing. The pool had fantastic views, and the other spa areas were beautiful too. The room had bluetooth speakers that played throughout the entire room including the bathroom which was fun. The bed, good lord the bed was the most comfortable thing I have ever slept on... I highly recommend it just on the bed alone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afronaut24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Afronaut24,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences following your recent stay with us at the Grand Hyatt Shanghai.

I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding the overall hotel service and facilities. The pleasure was all ours to be able to serve you and, indeed, your compliments will further motivate the Grand Hyatt Shanghai team in our dedication towards providing authentic hospitality driven by human care.

Thank you for making the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We look forward to continuously serving you whenever your travels bring you back to our way.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for meetings at the Shanghai World Finance Center (as the Park Hyatt was full). The rooms were spacious and well-equipped, with free wi-fi which worked fine. In-room breakfast was fine, though the soy latte was a bit weird (as I have experienced at other hotels in China). The rooms definitely have great views of Shanghai and the bed was very comfortable. The only complaint was the staff often spoke to you in Chinese even if you approached them with a question in English. Luckily, I understand Chinese, but you would expect staff at an international hotel (especially at the front desk and concierge) to be able to communicate in English.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Denise S,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Shanghai and thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding the great view from the room and in-room facilities. Pertaining to your feedbacks on the language efficiency of our associates which has been duly noted, we will reinforce the related departments’ internal measures as well as training to ensure that recurrences are followed through correctly.

I have also taken note of your remarks concerning the soy latte from Room Service. Please rest assured that this issue will be discussed with the department head concerned to ensure that we review your concerns.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as it is through comments such as this that we can monitor and fine tune our service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Shanghai in the not distant future.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed here a few years ago and it seems the clientele. has changed from business people to more tourists. The facilities are overall excellent, especially for a hotel that is 54 stories up. Assuming there is no fog, you can have a very interesting view from your room and from the Cloud 9 bar on the 89th floor.

Breakfast is good, and the service and response times are good too. The gym is adequate, but the pool and jacuzzi are even better. They have a deep swimming pool (1.6 meters) which has a least 3 lanes; it's great for early morning swimmers. There is also a sauna and steam room.

I would give this hotel 5 stars, but the bars (Cloud 9 and the Piano bar) could be much better than they are. I felt that we overpaid for mediocre drinks and just adequate service.

We watched a music performance in the Piano bar on Saturday night which was unintentionally amusing. I've never seen a more dysfunctional band. The male saxophone player was an egomaniac who disrupted the other two and the female pipa player played only about half the time and spend a lot of time at the beginning adjusting her instrument. Only the female piano player seemed to perform well consistently throughout the set, but the other two didn't cooperate.

When I stayed here years ago, there was an all-girl traditional Chinese instrument band that was superb. I can only guess that competition among nearby hotels has heated up and it is harder to get good bands and competent bar tenders who know what a cocktail onion is.

The Cloud 9 bar has a very good view of the neighborhood skyscrapers and river, which can be very pretty when lit up at night, assuming there is no fog from rain or from the river. There is only a small 8 table non-smoking area. Most of the facility is smoking. This should be reversed.

Ideally, I would like them to ban smoking in both bars. I won't go in the future if they don't do this. I don't want to get a cold and I hate having my clothes reek of cigarette smoke. They would probably sell more food, too. Smoking is commonly banned in bars in the US; I guess it hasn't caught on in China yet.

It's a good hotel, overall. Go elsewhere for evening entertainment and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakorsakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Nakorsakov,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences following your recent stay with us at the Grand Hyatt Shanghai.

I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with views of the Shanghai skyline from the guest room and the Cloud 9 bar as well as your positive comments regarding hotel’s overall service and facilities.

I have also taken note of your remarks concerning drinks quality, service level and smoking issues at the Could 9 and the band performance in the Piano bar. These have been highlighted and reviewed by our Food and Beverage management. Please rest assured that we will be taking immediate action to rectify and improve where needed. I am happy to share that we will have a new band in the Piano bar starting from September 01.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us as it is through comments such as this that we can monitor and fine tune our service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hyatt Shanghai in the not distant future.

With best regards,

Grace Tsou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The 2nd highest hotel in the world !
One of the most beautiful rooms I've ever encountered --- on the 74th floor with a view of the Pearl Tower and the Bund. Amazing.
Spotless hotel, wonderful restaurants, fantastic views, and a staff courteous and thoroughly professional. Plus, one of the best pastry shops ever -- located on the ground floor. A most spectacular hotel.
An easy walk along the elevated pedestrian walkways to the Metro, the beautiful IFC Mall, and to the neighboring towers.

(Note: there are several Hyatts in Shanghai --- ask to be taken to the Jin Mao tower in Pudong.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Shanghai, Director of Rooms at Grand Hyatt Shanghai, responded to this review, 13 April 2015
Dear Nikolaus H,

I was delighted to read your positive feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel and thank you for choosing us as your "home" during your visit to Shanghai.

Your compliments towards the hotel's location, your stay, dining experiences and our Pastry Boutique are much appreciated. It was our pleasure hosting you and many thanks for recommending Grand Hyatt Shanghai as your preferred business hotel in the city.

Thank you again for sharing with us your experiences on this forum and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Tina Yang
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Lujiazui
Park Hyatt Shanghai
Park Hyatt Shanghai
#15 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
#13 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Shanghai

Property: Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Address: Jin Mao Tower, No.88 Century Avenue, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200121, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#15 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#151 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowning the prestigious 88-storey Jin Mao Tower, the hotel begins on the 53rd floor and rises to the 87th floor. The 555-room Grand Hyatt Shanghai is located in the centre of Lujiazui, Pudong’s business and financial area. As Hyatt International’s flagship property in China, Grand Hyatt Shanghai caters to the international business traveller by offering a style of service and range of facilities that are second to none.Jin Mao Tower was developed by China Jin Mao Group Co. Ltd, and designed by world-renowned architects, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill of Chicago, and soars to a height of 420.5 metres (1,380 feet). The most dramatic architectural feature of the tower is a 33-storey atrium inside Grand Hyatt Shanghai, starting on the 56th floor. The interior design of the hotel is by Bilkey Llinas Consulting of Palm Beach, Florida.Featuring contemporary art deco touches combined with traditional Chinese imagery, the guestrooms are spacious and all have stunning views of Shanghai. All guestrooms have complimentary broadband and wireless Internet access, CAT 5 high-speed modem computer dataports, two-line telephones and a voicemail message system. The oversized bathrooms are appointed with separate baths and showers, feature high-tech shower-towers with three shower heads and have heated mirrors in the shower cubicle (convenient for shaving while you shower), clear glass sinks and double-sided wardrobes. The hotel has seventeen Grand Suites, seventeen Grand Riverview Suites, eight Diplomat Suites, two Presidential Suites and one Chairman Suite. Exclusive Grand Club accommodation is provided at the top of the hotel, ideal for business travellers seeking an even higher level of personalised service. An all-day concierge is provided to guests that can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, evening cocktails served with deluxe hors d’oeurves and coffee and tea in the comfort of the private two-storey Bund View Grand Club Lounge. An executive boardroom is available for Grand Club guests.Located on lobby level 54, Grand Hyatt Shanghai’s Business Centre provides a full range of office equipment and confidential secretarial services, such as translation, printing and parcel wrapping. Business cards can also be printed and delivered. The Business Centre also offers private work areas for rental on an hourly or daily basis and a conference room seating up to ten people. To allow for differences in international time zones, the Business Centre is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week.To wind down after a day of hectic business dealings, the business traveller can appreciate Grand Hyatt’s fitness and recreational facilities that are located on level 57, namely Club Oasis. In addition to comprehensive health club facilities and spa treatments, guests can enjoy swimming in the sky pool while enjoying the breathtaking panorama of the Shanghai skyline.Grand Hyatt Shanghai offers the business traveller an extensive selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy and entertain in. Facilities include Canton restaurant, ON56 (a collection of eateries on level 56 featuring Kobachi Japanese restaurant; Cucina, an Italian restaurant serving brick-oven pizzas; The Grill, offering the freshest seafood and succulent prime-grade meats; Patio, a lounge at the base of the 33-storey atrium; and Wine Bar, offering the most extensive wine selection in town). Grand Hyatt Shanghai is also home to the Sky Lounge Cloud9, a favourite for night owls on the 87th floor; Piano Bar located on level 53 of the Jin Mao Tower, offering breathtaking views of the city; Grand Café, a 24-hour restaurant with buffets; Food Live, a food court with five Asian and Western counters and a casual Chinese restaurant; and Club Jin Mao located on the 86th floor. Club Jin Mao is Shanghai’s most prestigious Shanghainese restaurant and offers the finest facilities for entertaining and relaxation. It's exquisite and authentic cuisine and highly personalised services are available to the public. The hotel’s extensive event and conference facilities include the Grand Ballroom for 1,200 people, the Crystal Ballroom for 750 people and thirteen separate meeting rooms. State-of-the-art multimedia and video conferencing are also available.Located in the prosperous Pudong business district, Grand Hyatt Shanghai is just ten minutes from The Bund, the city’s famous waterfront showcasing turn-of-the-century architectural masterpieces and the Yu Yuan Garden. Shanghai Hong Qiao International Airport is a 30-minute drive and Grand Hyatt Shanghai is the closest five-star hotel from Pudong International Airport, approximately 45 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Shanghai
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing