We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared to be blown away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is by far the most magnificient hotel I have ever stayed in. Not only is the decor very grand and impressive but also all the little details are fantastic. Service and rooms were great too. Price is high but still 5 stars from me...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazza72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,008)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Peace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,317 - 1,323 of 2,008 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

Recently stayed at the Fairmont Peace Hotel. Had a great experience here, mainly of the heritage architecture and professional service. Located on the quieter side of Nanjing Road, which I prefer. Fairmont has done a fantastic renovation of this historic hotel in Shanghai which is reflected in the charm of the building and the newness of the interior. Food was good. Beautiful swimming pool. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

There's tea room and a great bar at "peace". There is a cover to get into the club but it includes a free cocktail. No one ever tells you that though...you have to ask for it. You can also order drinks on the tea room and listen to the music, with no additional charge. Either way, this place is first class but it can also be a bit stuffy depending on the night.

The gift shop has some unusual and overpriced gifts and they won't let you take pictures in that part of the hotel, which we found odd.

We didn't stay here but our friends had stayed in 2011 and they said the rooms are more extravagant than they are comfortable but that the service was excellent. If you are into antiquities, this is your place.

Room Tip: Our friends said to be very specific about your desires when making reservations and be sure to get...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed four nights in Sept 2012. Though the hotel is historic, the rooms and amenities are thoroughly up to date and extremely well appointed. Our bathroom was the best, two vanities, huge tub, separate large glass shower stall. On the Bund, a great evening view from the rooftop terrace or the 9th floor restaurant. The breakfast buffet was very good with a mix of eastern and western dishes. Food was well presented and well prepared. One of the duty managers took time to mark up a map for us with things to see and do, and wrote up slips of paper with addresses in Chinese to give the cab driver (btw unlike Beijing, cabs in Shanghai are easy to get). A concierge got us great tickets to the Era acrobatic show.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack and Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here three nights in September 2012 for business. Staff struggled a little with our group check-in, but recovered pretty well over the next few days. Outstanding concierge desk, with helpful tips on where to eat, shop and sight-see. Don't miss the river cruise in the evening - best way to see the lights of Shanghai! Breakfast buffet is good, but not great. Cafe in the lobby has the best ham and cheese croissants I have ever had...Jazz band in the lobby bar is fun. the Peace Hotel has some of the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen - you could fit a bed in there...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10ACJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I am a Travel Agent from Dawrin in Australia and chose to stay at the Fairmont Peace as I liked its history and position, and was thrilled with our experience. We had a bit of a problem when we first checked in due to a misunderstanding with the booking Agent in Sydney, but this was quickly sorted out and we were shown to our suite, which is bigger than my home. The rooms (in the suites) are huge especially the bathroom which has it's own TV and waterproof remote control.


We dined in the Cathay Restaurant for dinner which has spectacular views of the Bung district and across the river. The food was excellent and the chef prepared my lamb exactly how I like it. We then adjourned to the Jazz Bar which was just a bit loud for me, so we chose to sit in the adjoining lounge, where we could still hear the Jazz and had coffee and cake.

The next morning we had a lovely buffet breakfast - on par with other top class hotels, and as we ate late, gave lunch a miss and had the High Tea instead which was the most food I have ever had at any High Tea anywhere eles in the world.
The service at this hotel was excellent, with all the staff speaking English and very friendly and obliging and. I would especially like to thank Mr Henry Wang - duty Manager - for his assistance

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carmel B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We spent three nights and enjoyed every minute. We were in one of the suites and Gold and found everything just perfect. Some of the best service anywhere, everyone helpful and kind. The rooms are spectacular and do not miss the restaurant The Cathay - honestly the best view and food of any place we went. Wish we hadn't wasted two dinners elsewhere at rooftop trendy places. Book this hotel- you will not be dissappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#7 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,193 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#193 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £216 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing