We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but a bit musty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Loved the character of this hotel. The decor and design of the rooms is beautiful. The TV in the bathroom in a nice touch. The hotel's staff were fantastic, especially the concierge who were so helpful. My mandarin is very limited so I'm grateful that they helped organise so many of our reservations for us. My main complaint is that the hotel's atmosphere was a bit musty like stale incense. I have bad hayfever so it bothered me more than most people.
Breakfast was expensive and a disappointment. The Phoenix room is charming but the offering is limited and ordinary quality. you are better off walking a short distance up the road for dim sum.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryu1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,423 - 1,429 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is decorated in a classic style, it keeps it's historic achetecture with modern quality furnitures, very much love it, highly recommend!!!! Plus the location is the most convenient, easy to go to everywhere

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel exudes opulence. It's recently (2010) been renovated and it was truly a surprise find. If you can, join the Fairmont Gold Club to enjoy the great breakfast, divine afternoon tea and delicious canapés after 5. (Jeez I sound like an ad !) Avoid going on public holidays ! We were there during their National day and the area (the Bund) was extremely busy- even for the locals. After walking amongst an endless crowd all day the Fairmont lobby was like an oasis. The narrow and long winding corridors became more interesting as time went by, as did the little elevator . Loved the gym ! We had a suite with adjoining deluxe king room and altogether it was huge. Our family of 5 loved it. You must go to the rooftop for the view over The Bund, which is amazing and especially breathtaking at night. Even if you're not eating at the restaurant on the 9th floor the waiters will let you go through to see the view. The location is central and perfect for getting around Shanghai. It's a 5 min walk to the train station. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeSpyropoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a Grand Tour of China with Cox and Kings. Although we stayed for 2 nights, our time in the hotel was limited due to our hectic schedule.
When we arrived there was no formal greeting and no place to rest whilst our rooms were sorted. So we stood around like lost souls in the lobby area whilst our rooms were allocated - which seemed to take an age, bearing in mind the hotel had known we were coming, we were not surprise guests. We were then given a map of the hotel, which was incomprehensible and the explanation given by reception staff did not help.
We had been allocated a Fairmont Gold Grand Executive Floor King room, which was very impressive. The bed, bathroom, furnishings were excellent. The view was nothing exceptional, but we were told only the suites had good views, but it was an external view - avoid internal views of the "courtyard".
Staff in the restaurants were very helpful and friendly, but prices were high - £5 for a bottle of beer; £60 for a decent bottle of wine and if you dine in the Cathay Room beware that the Chef undercooks the steaks - my wife ordered a medium fillet and it was rare, even after a return visit to the kitchen, although Eddy was excellent on trying to sort things out
Because we had to leave early on the last day we took breakfast in the normal restaurant. rather than the Fairmont lounge, it was better - the choice was similar and the food hotter.
Shanghai itself is great however as is the area around the hotel, the Bund - spectacular at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The beautifully restored Fairmont Peace Hotel in Shanghai's beautiful Sassoon House is a jewel on the Bund. Fairmont have a well-deserved reputation for restoring hotel greats - look at the fabulous Savoy in London. The Peace Hotel is no flimsy modern hotel, but a solidly built, gracious space executed with an eye for detail and a no-expense-spared feel.

That said it needs a bit of work on service in its bars, which can be slow. But that is a minor quibble which can be put right by training. In attitude the staff are friendly and attentive, and with experience will become as adept as their Savoy counterparts. Also, the Cathay Room restaurant is a bit over priced for the mediocre food it serves up, and a more judicious choice of live music in the Cin-Cin bar, which is lovely, (the music was execrable while we were there) would attract more punters.

All in all a fine hotel, in a very fine city.

Room Tip: High floors at the front of the building offer a fine view of the Bund and the skyline of Pudong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilwadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This is by far the most magnificient hotel I have ever stayed in. Not only is the decor very grand and impressive but also all the little details are fantastic. Service and rooms were great too. Price is high but still 5 stars from me...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazza72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Recently stayed at the Fairmont Peace Hotel. Had a great experience here, mainly of the heritage architecture and professional service. Located on the quieter side of Nanjing Road, which I prefer. Fairmont has done a fantastic renovation of this historic hotel in Shanghai which is reflected in the charm of the building and the newness of the interior. Food was good. Beautiful swimming pool. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#13 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,184 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#190 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £181 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing