We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Peace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is just wonderfully decorated. Stylish rooms (we stayed in a suite), pleasant but not overbearing staff and a great Bund location. I live in Shanghai but my wife, toddler son and I went for a break from it all.on new year's eve. It was an excellent stay. Only not-so-positive point was the breakfast selection although the quality was very good. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allover P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear allover P,

I would like to sincerely thank you for coming to stay with us at our iconic property and for also taking the time to share your feedback so that we can work on fine tuning our service. I will look forward to sharing your very nice feedback with the team here. We greatly value your insight on the services you experienced, and I can assure that we will take the time to follow up and take advantage of this opportunity.

I sincerely hope that your travels will bring you back to Shanghai in the near future and I we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to show you our warm hospitality once again.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,445
    282
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
315
559
116
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Where to begin? I consider the Fairmount Peace Hotel the major perk of my travels to China. When you wake up in the morning thinking you're at home...that's how comfortable it is. Well located. The jazz bar, the restaurant at breakfast , the staff, the beds...I'm there again on November!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25brucel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear 25brucel25,

I am absolutely delighted that you had such a memorable experience during your stay at our iconic property while in Shanghai. I want to thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow travelers and for also allowing me the opportunity to share your feedback with the entire team here at the Fairmont Peace Hotel.

We will look forward to welcoming you back this coming November and showing you are warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I was last in Shanghai in 2007 and wanted to have a look in the famed Peace Hotel, but unfortunately it was closed for renovations. At the time I said, should I return I would stay at the Peace Hotel. Fastfoward to 2013 and indeed I did return and yes I did stay at the Peace!

The hotel has been immaculately restored, nothing has been missed........it is superb. Fairmont has done a great job with the renovation and staff training. Our room was large and beautifully appointed; the bathroom was so luxurious I did not want to leave! All credit must be given to the interior designers who did an amazing job decorating this Art Deco palace. The guest rooms are large and luxurious and I loved the chandelier and Art Deco dressing table..........so glamorous old Shanghai.

We ate a very good breakfast each day in the stunning Dragon Phoenix Restaurant (which looked like something out of the Forbidden City). We also enjoyed a lovely high tea served from a chrome shadow box. Do make sure you visit the famed Jazz Bar (most entertaining and good to see these aged gents still playing there). We also did a tour of the hotel, which was a fascinating insight into this legendary hotel (and you get to see all the restaurants, bars and some suites, we saw the American Suite and a Riverview Suite and both were stunning). The pool and facilities were also first class.

This is one of the most famous hotels in the World and one the best also!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cityhotelsightseeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear cityhotelsightseeing,

It truly gives me great pride and pleasure to read your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us at our iconic property. Reading through all the details of the experiences you had at our property really shows that you took full advantage or your stay with us and I truly appreciate that. Being able to share your feedback to our team will help me to truly show them how much we appreciate all of their hard work and service provided to you and all our guests.

Your experience really speaks to what we strive to achieve for all of our guests and these comments will allow us to share the story and continue to inspire our team to always do more for our guests.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and showing you our warm hospitality once again.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I chose the Fairmont Peace Hotel to propose to my girlfriend in April this year and it was a great choice.

As we live in Shanghai we had already visited the Peace a few times to see the late night jazz band play. We were both immediately in love with the feeling of the place and its history. Fairmont has done a great job with the renovation, I still remember the place from my first time here in 2004.

When thinking about how to arrange the proposal to my loved one, the hotel immediately came to mind. The concierge Ben was great in setting everything up on short notice and his colleague Justin was equally helpful in executing on the actual day.

The team helped me chose the perfect room (Indian Suite) after seeing a few of them and gave me a good deal for the membership floor as well.

As I wanted to surprise my girlfriend, I had told her that a Sunday massage at the Peace Hotel was the gift for her birthday the day after. I had arranged to have her picked up for a "special tour" of the hotel by an employee and was waiting for her in the suite to surprise her. The girl (Diane) executed it perfectly and sent her in without giving it away.

We stayed the night and enjoyed the wonderful room with its nice decor with historical windows and a great blend of old and new, as well as the stunning view of course.
The next day we were able to have a great breakfast in the club room and enjoyed the pool, the room and a late checkout.

On both days, we were treated to smiles and good wishes from all the staff we were in contact with, it seemed that everyone working in the hotel knew about the reason for our stay!

Overall, we were more than happy to have chosen the Peace Hotel for this special day and the execution on behalf of the staff was simply perfect.

The hotel will have a special place in our hearts forever.

Room Tip: All suites that I saw were very nice, be it in modern style, or one of the historical nation suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenWtrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear BenWtrz,

What can we say other the “Congratulations” and “WOW” to such an amazing story that you have shared. We are so honored to have been able to be a part of this most important day in your lives together, and more so even help you to make it happen.

I can be honest with you that internally there was a lot of buzz in the hotel as our colleagues were very eager to celebrate your engagement and really felt so proud to be a part of it with you.

I hope it goes without saying that we can make ourselves at least a yearly visit to recognize this special day and we will truly look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have just left the Fairmont hotel and it was absolutely brilliant in that it is in the Perfect location and the staff are so friendly. Special mention has to go to the concierge Justin and BEn who went out of their way to ensure that we saw the best of shanghai in af few days. The 8th floor membership is also a must as one gets breakfast, tea in the afternoon and cocktails from 5pm to 630 pm. The rooms are awesome ( we struggled at the beginning) but found the right one for the two adults and one child. The Jazz bar and Victors are also a must do at the hotel.
My husband is returning back in a few days on business and so I am sure he will have just a great time as we did there on holiday! Thanks to everyone there who made our first stay in CHina memorable!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids let them know in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Miranda R,

I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation for your visit to our iconic property and further more to thank you for this wonderful feedback you have shared regarding your stay experience. We are extremely happy to know that our colleagues were able to take such good care of you and leave you with lasting memories of your time in China.

In particular I can assure you that I will take the time to recognize Justin and Ben from our Concierge team for delivering such impeccable service to you. They are certainly a couple of all stars and are invaluable assets to our team.

We sincerely hope that we can welcome you back in the near future to show you are warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel is one of the old colonial buildings and has plenty of history and has been fully renovated. It's location is also fantastic just right on the bind where one can take a stroll anytime night and day or just watch the world go by. The views from the room are also excellent if you have an upper floor and a view. Rooms are large and spacious with large bathrooms. Service is impeccable.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmourey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Imourey,

We are very happy to know you had a memorable experience and I want to thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow travelers. I will be looking forward to the opportunity to share your feedback with the entire team here.

We will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back upon your next visit to Shanghai.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

The ideal location, beautiful art deco lobby and rooms and great breakfast, make The Fairmont Peace Hotel one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. It even smells nice. We spent 4 nights and had absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borglum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Borglum,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent experience at our iconic hotel. I am very happy that your overall stay was a memorable one and I also want to thank you for keying in on a few details in your experiences that will allow us to follow up and improve.

I will look forward to sharing your feedback with our team and we certainly hope that you will find your way back to Shanghai so that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Property: Fairmont Peace Hotel
Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#174 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing