We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here over the weekend and it was like stepping back in time. The art deco feel of the hotel was spot on for our stay and when you add on a Jazz bar and also Cin Cin cocktail lounge it was nigh on perfect. What impressed us the most though was the service that was provided by all staff it was an absolute pleasure staying at this hotel and we certainly would stay again

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. We are a Fairmont Club member so this gave some little extras such as choc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBra63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear ChrisBra63,

On behalf of all the colleagues here at the Fairmont Peace Hotel I would like to extend our most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay with us.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share this wonderful feedback about your experiences. It is always of special significance to us when we here from our loyal Fairmont Presidents Club members. I am also especially delighted that it was our staff that really made the difference for you with their service and I will make sure to thank them for this.

We sincerely hope that you will be able to plan a return visit to Shanghai and our iconic property so that we can show you our warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,240 - 1,246 of 2,187 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We decided that this was the place to stay when we visited Shanghai in 2010 and we were not disappointed. From the time you enter the hotel you realise this is a wonderful place to stay, great reception and foyer and when you get further into the building the surprises continue. We decided to upgrade to exec lounge for the 12 days we stayed and this was a wise move, It saved us a load of money, the food was good and enough so you didnt have to go out for a meal every day. The room quality was good, plenty of space and an area to make hot drinks. Service was very good and discrete. The jazz band was well worth listening to, straight jazz standards and a good singer. Great massage - we had one each week we stayed, the pool was nice too.

Room Tip: Book the exec lounge for breakfast, afternoon snacks and evening canapes, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcWeinzweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear MarcWeinzweig,

I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation for you coming to stay with us as well as for taking the time to share these wonderful comments. We are always so delighted to be able to welcome back our return guests and I am very happy that our team took great care of you once again.

It is especially important for us as when we do have guests staying with us for extended periods as we always want to ensure that throughout the entire stay we are making every effort to make you feel special.

It is also great to see that you got to enjoy our world famous Old Jazz Band and also that you were able to enjoy a relaxing treatment in our Willow Stream Spa.

We are looking forward to your next visit and until we wish you all the best.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Fairmont Peace hotel is well located and provides good services. Our suite was fine equipped clean and well maintained. Staff was polite, friendly and always helpful. They could only smile a bit more. The only problem was English language, there should be definitely improvement done in order for staff to understand and communicate better.

Room Tip: suite on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evifka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Evifka77,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your time in Shanghai. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted that your overall stay was great however we will certainly look at your comments for opportunities to improve our service.

I certainly hope that you will be looking at a return to Shanghai in the future and we would love to be able to welcome you back.

Best wishes,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed recently at the Fairmont Peace Hotel for a four day break. The service we received from beginning to end was exceptional. We stayed on the Gold Executive Floor. The room was large, quiet and well appointed. We were also able to make use of the Gold Executive lounge which became a very happy respite at the end of a long day. We enjoyed our Happy Hours immensely! The best feature of our stay at the Fairmont however was the service provided by the Fairmont Gold staff and the Concierge staff. They were all very friendly and personable without being intrusive. They provided us with genuinely helpful information, including specific notes with suggested destinations and instructions in Chinese that we could hand to a taxi driver or store keeper. A special thanks to Julie and also to Grace (Fairmont Gold) and to Ben (Concierge). Ben, we found those USB fans thanks to your hand drawn picture and note. If we return to Shanghai, we will return the Fairmont Peace Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne_ChiChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Suzanne_ChiChi,

What an absolute pleasure it is to receive this wonderful feedback on your most recent stay with us. I would like to thank you for taking your time for sharing these great stories of our service.

I can assure that I will proudly share this with our entire team and in particular I will take the time to recognize our Fairmont Gold team including Julie and Grace along with of course Ben down at our main Concierge.

We will look forward to welcoming you back and I hope that I will be able to meet you personally on your return and offer any assistance that I can.

Kindest regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed three nights at the Peace Hotel. I'd wandered around it 15 years ago as a student and so was keen to return to stay.

The room was lovely, although overlooked the internal area. The location of the hotel is excellent, just off the Bund. Nothing seemed to be happening in the hotel though. We had tea in a virtually empty lounge area. Everything was so quiet, which I suppose coming off the madness of the Nanjing Road is no bad thing. The ground floor did have a museum feel to it though.

Breakfast was good - lots of local delicacies. Real French bread too!

Disappointed that as residents we had to agree to a minimum drinks order to enter the Jazz bar in the evening. Instead we enjoyed cocktails in the lounge and could hear the music anyway.

Surprised that the receptionist's English was so poor, but admit we shouldn't expect that.

Tip - you should try to get outside onto the balcony just by the breakfast room where you get a lovely view of the Bund.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serafin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Serafin2013,

We would like to extend our most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay at our iconic hotel during your time in Shanghai. I truly hope that our staff were able to create many long lasting memories for you.

I also appreciate your constructive feedback on two particular areas that I can assure you we will look at in order to improve moving forward.

Again thank you for coming to see us and we certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

You're living in nineteenth century European elegance in a good location, at an historic address known to every Shanghai resident.

On the downside, rooms are small relative to those in comparably priced (or less expensive) more modern hotels nearby, views are limited, WiFi is slow, the lobby is cavernous, and so on — only so much modernization has been possible. Extras are pricey.

As other commentators have said, the service is excellent. The concierge in particular could not spend enough time and care advising us and directing us to our various destinations; and (once we had paid for the transportation) the staff fetched a lost bag from the airport for one of our party.

The puer tea in the coffee shop was the best we tasted on our trip, and we traveled to tea-growing regions. The pool is a real plus -- lovely, well staffed, and empty early in the day . . . and with tea, coffee, and muffins available for those not on a breakfast plan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enfant_de_boheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear le_valet_de_pique,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our iconic property. We are so pleased to know that you had a memorable experience during your time with us and in particular thank you very much for your great feedback on our Concierge team so that we can thank them for their outstanding service to you..

I will certainly take the time to share this wonderful feedback with our team and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff at the Fairmont really bent over backward to accommodate me and my family, from ensuring we had two connecting rooms to providing extra umbrellas on a rainy afternoon. The rooms were really charming, sort of old world European, and the breakfast was awesome. The location right on the Bund was great, and the Nanjing Pedestrian Rd. was really close as well. Cabs were easy to catch and the valet was helpful in telling the drivers where we were going. I would stay there anytime I'm in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinfoolsmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear travelinfoolsmiami,

We are absolutely delighted that your recent stay at our iconic property was one that you will remember and we would like to thank you sincerely for choosing to stay with us.

I am particular proud of this team for the attention to detail in their service to you and ensuring that every step of the way we were doing what we could to anticipate your needs. Very nice to hear that our Valet was very pro active for you.

I can assure you I will take the time to thank the team for their service to you and we certainly hope that you will be planning a return to our property once again in the future.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#12 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#185 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £175 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing