We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$513
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The PuLi Hotel and Spa(Shanghai)
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,270)
Filter reviews
2,270 results
Traveller rating
1,836
344
58
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,836
344
58
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz barcathay roomgold loungethe dragonjasmine loungeart decophoenix restauranticonic hotelhigh teananjing roadwalk in closetacross the riverdressing roomfabulous hotelpudong skylinethe ground floorspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
1,294 - 1,299 of 2,270 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

What a characterful hotel. Elegant rooms, large, classy tiling in large shower with claw bath. View from floor 8 breakfast hotel is breathtaking. U know I are somewhere special in this place.
The ceilings at breakfast are a work of art, the ballroom is unbelievable. The downstairs traditional jazz bar has great character, not the usual modern set up.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank ozzieslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear ozzieslost,

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us during your time in Shanghai as well as for taking the time to share your experiences.

We are delighted that your stay was memorable and what you should expect from a luxury hotel experience. I also greatly appreciate this opportunity you have given me to thank our staff for their outstanding service to you.

We hope that you will be back to Shanghai in the near future and we look forward showing you our warm and engaging service once again.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here over the weekend and it was like stepping back in time. The art deco feel of the hotel was spot on for our stay and when you add on a Jazz bar and also Cin Cin cocktail lounge it was nigh on perfect. What impressed us the most though was the service that was provided by all staff it was an absolute pleasure staying at this hotel and we certainly would stay again

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. We are a Fairmont Club member so this gave some little extras such as chocolates and flowers and wifi
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBra63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear ChrisBra63,

On behalf of all the colleagues here at the Fairmont Peace Hotel I would like to extend our most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay with us.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share this wonderful feedback about your experiences. It is always of special significance to us when we here from our loyal Fairmont Presidents Club members. I am also especially delighted that it was our staff that really made the difference for you with their service and I will make sure to thank them for this.

We sincerely hope that you will be able to plan a return visit to Shanghai and our iconic property so that we can show you our warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We decided that this was the place to stay when we visited Shanghai in 2010 and we were not disappointed. From the time you enter the hotel you realise this is a wonderful place to stay, great reception and foyer and when you get further into the building the surprises continue. We decided to upgrade to exec lounge for the 12 days we stayed and this was a wise move, It saved us a load of money, the food was good and enough so you didnt have to go out for a meal every day. The room quality was good, plenty of space and an area to make hot drinks. Service was very good and discrete. The jazz band was well worth listening to, straight jazz standards and a good singer. Great massage - we had one each week we stayed, the pool was nice too.

Room Tip: Book the exec lounge for breakfast, afternoon snacks and evening canapes, well worth it
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcWeinzweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear MarcWeinzweig,

I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation for you coming to stay with us as well as for taking the time to share these wonderful comments. We are always so delighted to be able to welcome back our return guests and I am very happy that our team took great care of you once again.

It is especially important for us as when we do have guests staying with us for extended periods as we always want to ensure that throughout the entire stay we are making every effort to make you feel special.

It is also great to see that you got to enjoy our world famous Old Jazz Band and also that you were able to enjoy a relaxing treatment in our Willow Stream Spa.

We are looking forward to your next visit and until we wish you all the best.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Fairmont Peace hotel is well located and provides good services. Our suite was fine equipped clean and well maintained. Staff was polite, friendly and always helpful. They could only smile a bit more. The only problem was English language, there should be definitely improvement done in order for staff to understand and communicate better.

Room Tip: suite on upper floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evifka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Evifka77,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your time in Shanghai. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted that your overall stay was great however we will certainly look at your comments for opportunities to improve our service.

I certainly hope that you will be looking at a return to Shanghai in the future and we would love to be able to welcome you back.

Best wishes,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed recently at the Fairmont Peace Hotel for a four day break. The service we received from beginning to end was exceptional. We stayed on the Gold Executive Floor. The room was large, quiet and well appointed. We were also able to make use of the Gold Executive lounge which became a very happy respite at the end of a long day. We enjoyed our Happy Hours immensely! The best feature of our stay at the Fairmont however was the service provided by the Fairmont Gold staff and the Concierge staff. They were all very friendly and personable without being intrusive. They provided us with genuinely helpful information, including specific notes with suggested destinations and instructions in Chinese that we could hand to a taxi driver or store keeper. A special thanks to Julie and also to Grace (Fairmont Gold) and to Ben (Concierge). Ben, we found those USB fans thanks to your hand drawn picture and note. If we return to Shanghai, we will return the Fairmont Peace Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne_ChiChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Suzanne_ChiChi,

What an absolute pleasure it is to receive this wonderful feedback on your most recent stay with us. I would like to thank you for taking your time for sharing these great stories of our service.

I can assure that I will proudly share this with our entire team and in particular I will take the time to recognize our Fairmont Gold team including Julie and Grace along with of course Ben down at our main Concierge.

We will look forward to welcoming you back and I hope that I will be able to meet you personally on your return and offer any assistance that I can.

Kindest regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews