We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great WOW place to stay in SHanghai.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Fairmont Peace hotel after returning frpm our 8 nights cruise which is ended in Shanghai. We got our WOW feelings at the moment we entered the hotel / museum lobby and greeted by excellent and friendly staffs.
As a member of Fairmont President Club, we used our a room upgrade certificate and after he check in formality, we were guided by a front office staff to go to our room nr 500 located in the 5th floor / no view. It was another WOW feelings though as we reach the room decorated with lovely art deco, a big 2 queen size beds, big writing desk and sofa, a separate toom for dressing, coffee machine and tea in room, a separate super deluxe bathroom with two separate sink and a small TV mounted inside the wall in front of the bathtub!!The only missing things is that there are no enough drawers to place your belongings or clothes except to hang all your clothes. It was really a gorgeous and luxurious room to stay.

The location of this hotel is very central to all touristic areas and easy to walk around such as the Peoples park, a short walk down Nanjng Road east, and the Bund sightseeing tunnel to Pudong, is just across the road to the Bund promenade and not to forget SHOPPING and the Pedestrian Mall..Please be aware that the main street East Nanjing road is fully packed with local Chinese and foreign tourist especially during the weekends!!It was much nicer to walk during the working days.

The Victor's Deli (we visited twice) is very cozy nostalgic place to visit in the evening for a nice cup of coffee and excellent desserts.It was also fun to see so many peoples are walking in the Nanjing East Road but they will also staring at you when you are sitting at the window side while enjoying your coffee and desserts.
It was another WOW feeling when we visited the 11th floor called Nine Heaven and enjoyed the fantastic view of the Bund by night.

Overall it was an exceptional stay in a classic old beauty hotel located in the heart of Bund area and so far, the best ever Fairmont hotel we stayed. A recommended place to stay when you are visiting Shanghai for leisure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budi_KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Budi_KN,

On behalf of the entire team here I would like to extend our most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experiences.

We are absolutely thrilled that you could enjoy the art deco design and charm of this iconic property. I will look forward to sharing your story with my team here and recognizing them for taking great care of you during your stay.

We certainly hope that you will be returning to Shanghai and we would be delighted to be able to welcome you back to our iconic property.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Its more than a hotel, its a living story and i would highly recommend experiencing it for yourself. Everything related to the stay was excellent: welcome, room, dining. Terrace of the restaurant with views of Pudong is amazing spot for a drink.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis_kalninsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Janis_Kalninsh,

On behalf of the entire team here I would like to extend our most sincere appreciation for you choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experiences.

I am absolutely thrilled that our colleagues were able to treat you in such a personal and engaging manner and I will look forward to thanking them and continuing to build on our service culture.

We certainly hope that you will be returning to Shanghai and we would be delighted to be able to welcome you back to our iconic property.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I who live in China (but different city) got a chance to spend an evening at the Peace Hotel and it was exceptional. Unfortunately my wife was ill and we didn't have the best time, but it was entirely unconnected to the hotel. The style had a 1920's Shanghai feel but was done in the best possible way. The detail in the rooms was impeccable, with a great blend of solid materials (no cheap chairs or tables here), great style, and consistent design. I presume each room has differences and I noticed that there were suites that were specialized suites (like the Indian Suite). The breakfast setting was memorable, with the buffet being adequate, but the room being spectacular and service splendid. If you are looking for a hotel that is not like all the rest, but surely to please, this is absolutely it. I hope we can go there again when my wife is feeling well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear paul f,

We are so delighted that you were able to enjoy our special and unique property during your most recent stay in Shanghai. We are truly blessed to be taking care of such an iconic property that has been completely restored and updated, while holding to its art-deco design and even its world famous Old Jazz Band.

With reference to the Indian Suite, yes we do certainly have many very unique suites that are unlike anything Shanghai has to offer. In fact they are called the Nine Nations Suites and are made up of the Indian Suite, China Suite, American Suite, UK Suite, Spanish Suite, Italian Suite, French Suite, Japanese Suite and German Suite. Each suite is so uniquely and elegantly designed in the traditions of each country it represents. I would love to show some of the others we have on your next visit.

That being said we do certainly hope we will see you again. Please alert me when you have booked and I will look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring the team takes great care of you.
Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Though there was a slight problem/delay in our request to change our suite reservation into 2 club rooms on discovering it would be difficult to accommodate 3 adults in the Chinese suite, the rest of our four night stay was very enjoyable, The rooms were a good size, very clean and appointed well with ironing boards, hairdryers, bottled water and nice shower amenities. The staff in the club lounge were excellent (polite and professional) in their food service and their help with restaurant reservations. The food in the club lounge for breakfast was very good; there was a nice selection of Asian and Western food including made-to-order eggs. Happy hour's snacks including sushi, Chinese noodles and various Western dishes along with wines or liquors. The spa was lovely; we had massages and enjoyed them thoroughly. Upon returning to the spa days later to use the sauna after a cold day of sightseeing, the spa staff remembered our names and proceeded to take me to the dressing room and offered me towels and bottled water. We ate lunches and dinners outside the hotel but wished we had tried the Cathay Room which we discovered on the day of our departure; it had a cozy ambience and nice menu. All the staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location. We received an anniversary cake and bottle of wine with a card signed by the club lounge staff which was a thoughtful and appreciated touch. We would definitely return to the Fairmont Peace Hotel.

Room Tip: A club lounge room offers the benefit of a dedicated concierge and a quiet place for breakfast and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Varvara,

On behalf the entire team I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our property. I am absolutely delighted to see that our team took such special care of you during your stay and you were able to take advantage of many aspects in our hotel.

This feedback will surely go a long way here at the property to recognize and teach our people what our service culture is all about. Especially your comments on the staff of our Willow Stream Spa recognizing you by name.

I certainly hope that a visit back to Shanghai will be in the future for you and I hope that you can alert me to your stay so that I can greet you and ensure that everything is perfect for you once again. Until then I wish you all the best.

Best Wishes,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This is my first time to use tripadvisor comment system. I want share with you Peacehotel is very beautiful, have the warm service and thank you to Corina again, since she providing surprised and attentive service.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank kadez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear kadez,,

We would like to thank you very much for coming to see us and for also taking the time to share this great feedback. We are absolutely thrilled that your experience left such an impression on you and in particular I will be sure to thank Corina for her outstanding service to you.

We hope to see you again in the future so we can show you are warm and engaging hospitality once again.

Regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

WOW! From the moment we checked in the hotel ensured a wonderful experience. The first room we were offered was near some construction in the neighboring building and the hotel quickly assisted us in relocating to a quieter location. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the beauty of the bund and the tourist tunnel to downtown shanghai. The views from the front of the hotel are truly wonderful as was the service. We were at the hotel over new years and were steps away from the celebrations of the city of shanghai brining in the new year. The hotels location and service are unmatched. The rooms are recently updated and beautiful but have the character of the art deco hotel that it is. If you are looking for a more modern style room this may not be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitzyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear bitsyTX,

We would like to thank you very much for coming to see us and for also taking the time to share this great feedback. We are absolutely thrilled that your experience left such an impression on you from our iconic art deco property to our warm and sincere service.

We truly hope to see you again in the future so we can show you are warm and engaging hospitality once again, and until then we wish you all the best.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Luckily I have had the chance to spend time in Shanghai, China for each of the past 4 years. This year we decided to stay on the older side of the Bund across from Pudong which offers so many beautiful modern hotels. Staying at the Peace Hotel, an iconic Fairmont property was complete bliss. The rooms are amazing with a bathroom you want to live in, but it's the staff who really helped the property defy expectations. Hat's off to Alvin a wonderfully effective and attentive server in the Cathay Restaurant. His wonderful nature capped off two great dinners in a venue that offered amazing fish and an amazing view of the sparkling and captivating Pudong with it's modern towers. Can't wait to return to Peace with my kids as I know they will delight in the ambiance that comes with well refined history.

Room Tip: I had two different rooms, one with and internal courtyard type view and one with an external view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Fairmont Peace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear George S,

What an absolute pleasure it was to have you staying with us during your time in Shanghai. I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you taking the time to share your wonderful comments about our beautiful property and for recognizing Alvin in our Cathay Room and Terrace restaurant for his particularly personal and engaging service to you.

I will greatly look forward to sharing this wonderful feedback with the entire team and especially Alvin. This is a great example of the service culture we work so hard to achieve.

We are greatly looking forward to your return and we wish you all the best until then.

Kindest Regards,

George Wee
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#12 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#52 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Peace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Peace Hotel

Address: 20 Nanjing Road East, Shanghai 200002, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#185 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £215 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Peace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai's legendary landmark since 1929, the Fairmont Peace Hotel, overlooking Shanghai's Huangpu River and the world famous Bund, boasts a history that overshadows that of any other hotel in the Far East. With its origins dating back more than a century, this beloved landmark served as a glamorous playground for the elite of Shanghai, where every night was an extravagant gala event and veritable Parisian fashion show. After our three year meticulous restoration, the romantic history and social significance which made the Fairmont Peace Hotel a Shanghai legend has returned with its timeless grandeur - and a new and contemporary spirit. Each guestroom and suite has been luxuriously decorated with opulent furnishings and modern amenities - providing the guest with an experience that is both indulgent and exquisite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Peace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing